We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy though”
Review of Marina De Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marina De Bay
Reviewed 4 June 2010

I visited Puerto Princesa with my family, 2 adults and 2 kids. It was all our 1st time to go for an out-of-town trip by plane. So the expectation was quite high, though I was personally prepared for the possibilities, thanks to Tripadvisor.

When we arrived at the airport we were greeted by a staff of Marina and were endorsed to a driver who brought us to our accommodation. Along the way he gave us briefing about the place and the city's policies. We then took the opportunity to ask questions which greatly guided us on the: who, what, when, where, why and hows.

At Marina we were warmly welcomed by the staff and by the environment that was so peaceful and cozy, literally showing the breath-taking view of the bay and mountain ranges. We then were escorted to our room after we have settled our balance and clarified some points regarding our stay and tour.

The whole place and the executive suite we occupied were very nice and always clean, you can check their website for details. However, I find the air-cooling process in the villa quite slow, room not well lit, pressure in the shower was not strong and WIFI access was very poor. But nothing beats when you are serviced by staffs that are very nice, courteous and accommodating, not too mention that my kids are very importunate. Suggestion though, staff needs to be more assertive and informative especially in what other things Puerto Princesa can offer other than those that can be found in the tour package.

The Underground River and Honda Bay Tours are a must-see places, just prepare yourself with all anti-dizzy and anti-emetic staff like sweet/sour finger-foods, White Flower or Bonamine pills and motion sickness bag, for the lengthy, curvy, bumpy and shaky trips. The inclusive meals were perfectly fine for the needed energy sometimes even more. For the City Tour, well you can go away without it, I barely enjoyed it. I thought that our tour then, to think that it was ONLY the 4 of us, was so unorganized. As much as I introduced myself and each of my family members, our tour guide did not bother; she did not even give briefing prior to the tour. We neither hardly had information about the place we have passed-by nor visited. I also thought that the time allotted to it was not enough. And for the rest of the trip please do check Google for the things-to-do and things-to-bring, it will help you as it helped me a lot.

Our four-night dinners are at our own cost, but these were our opportunity to dine at the must-visit restaurants of Puerto Princesa like Ka Lui and Kinabuch. Unfortunately, due to distance and exhaustion we most of the time end up eating at the in-house dining area and missed the tamilok. Sad to say that the value and quality of food and the satisfaction you get from the nightly dinner in the city restaurants are far more at par than that of Marina’s.

In my opinion, if you have motion sickness and budget conscious like I do better stay within the city proper cause everything is within your reach. Nevertheless, if you care less and would like to enjoy the beauty and serenity of nature go Marina.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crpatenio2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2010

The location is far from the city around 30 minutes. Food is not that great. The room is spacious and clean.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

We have 2 kids in their tweens. We chose this resort because of the reviews in this site. I was not disappointed. Place is about 20-30 mins from downtown and is one of few resorts in Puerto Princesa situated by a bay - which made it the perfect place to relax in. Service was excellent - from the driver, Merlyn (our city tour guide), Vivian / Joan (front desk), Brian, Cecile, etc (service crew) - all of our requests were accommodated (van service to restos, church on Sunday, meals at the Thouse, printing of intl boarding pass, etc.). Wifi connection is reliable. Place is clean and cozy. We had a massage and foot spa - absolutely relaxing. Food was great too (mostly Filipino food). Room is spacious and bed is comfy. Water closet can be bigger but not an issue. My husband and son will probably go back especially since there's a nearby motocross track :-)

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YangYang_Ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

"Home away from home" is the best way I can describe our stay at this resort. Our group of 20 mostly family and a couple friends were treated like house guests instead of mere customers. Joanne, Marlyn, and Vivian and all of the resort's staff were very accommodating and we felt the "Filipino hospitality" we so missed living in a foreign country. The food we requested were deliciously prepared that we decided to just eat in the resort's restaurant rather than go out for dinners. We will surely keep this place in mind, next time we're at Puerto Princesa. " Thanks, everyone, for a memorable time in Puerto Princesa. (The Yasis Family)

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bparay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

just stayed there a few weeks ago at marina de bay palawan. and i could very well say that its worth every penny, eventhough its not expensive to stay there. Very nice villas, spacious and could accomodate a few people, the villas are clean and are situated very near the water so in the morning its very calming to just hear the waves crashing.although they need to make a few renovations. the people here are great they made our stay very comfortable and hassle free. coordinated my itinerary with joanne weeks before so we were able to go to the must see places even if we just stayed there for just 2 1/2 days, and they are very accomodating to our requests. if your looking for a quiet place to relax and de-stress this is the place. but if you miss the hustle and bustle of the city they provide service at night from 6-9pm. so we were able to dine at the most reccommended restaurants at puerto princesa, ka lui and kinabuchs. and well it exceeded our expectations, im not that fond of seafood, but the food in those restaurants, were well, awesome! puerto princesa is a great place to visit, clean, nice people, a great tourist destination.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jollybie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
2.4 km away
Hotel Centro
Hotel Centro
#17 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
529 reviews
5.1 km away
Floral Villarosa
Floral Villarosa
#4 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
256 reviews
6.4 km away
Princesa Garden Island Resort & Spa
Princesa Garden Island Resort & ...
#10 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Fanta Lodge
Fanta Lodge
#13 of 95 in Puerto Princesa
22 reviews
5.5 km away
Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa
Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princ...
#6 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
757 reviews
35.5 km away
Astoria Palawan
Astoria Palawan
#11 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina De Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina De Bay

Address: Purok Sandiwa Barangay Tiniguiban, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 95 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Princesa
Price Range: $28 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina De Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina de Bay is a private getaway resort situated just twenty minutes away from the airport. On that way from the airport, you will already see a breath-taking view of the Puerto Princesa bay and the mountain ranges. It is also at Marina de Bay where the private yachts and boats can be viewed docked at front. During the night, the ambiance becomes even more spectacular with the vast view of the stars in the sky and with the dainty lights of the city screaming in from across the waters. Marina de Bay is not like any usual hotel building simply built in the city, it encapsulates the natural wonders of Puerto Princesa - a hidden paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Marina De Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina De Bay Hotel Puerto Princesa
Marina De Bay Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing