We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Empire Suites Hotel(Puerto Princesa)
US$48
US$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Suites(Puerto Princesa)
US$64
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
US$115
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aziza Paradise Hotel(Puerto Princesa)
US$108
US$51
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Palawan Village Hotel(Puerto Princesa)(Great Value!)
US$11
US$8
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Astoria Palawan(Puerto Princesa)
US$95
US$67
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Floral Villarosa(Puerto Princesa)
US$50
US$33
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
16
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
3
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2016

Tarabanan is the perfect spot to relax and disconnect from the chaos of life! Our stay there began with a private pick up from the Puerto Princesa airport and Mina (the owner) greeting us with beautiful shell necklaces. Upon our arrival, we were treated to fresh coconut water (straight from coconuts picked from the trees on the resort!) and given time to take in our surroundings. The resort hosts a handful of small cottages and 2 big cottages. The small cottage easily accommodated my husband, me, and our 2 year old son. Each cottage has its own bathroom, but it does not have hot water (however, in February it was not needed). During our stay there, we greatly enjoyed Mina's cooking and produce from the trees on the resort itself and from local farmers - especially the freshly roasted coffee sourced from local coffee farmers! For the majority of our stay, other travelers came for brief stays on their way to or from El Nido, but overall it was very quiet and peaceful. Furthermore, we appreciated the time Mina took to talk with us about local culture and share with us her passion for pouring back into the local community and preserving the beauty on Palawan. Hailing from Palawan herself, she holds a unique perspective and strives to continually make a difference in the lives of people in her local community, Palawan, and the Philippines. Tarabanan is one of those places that I could see myself returning to many times!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarabanan, Owner at Tarabanan Resort and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2016

Thank you Sarah and family! We're glad you enjoyed Tarabanan. You have a home here in Palawan.

Mina and crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2015

I will start by saying that I am sorry Mina, for the extremely long delay for writing this review.
We stayed at Tarabanan in January 2014 for a quick 3 day getaway from the reality of the reason of our trip to the Philippines. My mother in laws last request was that her ashes be brought back from Canada to her hometown on Luzon. We were fulfilling her last request. Our group of 9 arrived at Tarabanan after a very beautiful and peaceful drive through the mountains from the airport by Mina and her driver.
Tensions amongst our group were high considering the reality of why we were all there. One of our group boiled over after we arrived at the resort and Mina did a wonderful job of maintaining order and peace, and providing a solution to keep the peace. She handled it with grace, and poise. I cannot say thank you enough.
After the rough start because of said members boil over (whom Mina guided to another local hotel), we settled in for some wonderful home made food.
Next morning we woke up to the ocean waves, that wonderful smell of the ocean, and sunshine. Then, breakfast. Homemade, pure natural cooking.
Mina's homemade mango and pineapple jam are simply to die for. Sounds silly for just jam, but after you taste it, you'll know. Then, a first for our entire group, wild board (bacon?)! Again, simply to die for!
Mina arranged for a day of island hopping, just a wonderful experience. Some amazing snorkelling on the islands and the sand bar we stopped at is just a sight to behold.
After 1 day, it felt like we'd known Mina for a long time. She's a wonderful lady and a perfect host.
I'll sum it up with this, if you want to stay in a natural setting, very little distractions to allow you to clear your minds and souls, you cannot go wrong picking Tarabanan.
If you are looking for 5 star millionaire for a week hotel, look elsewhere because you won't be doing Mina any help.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarabanan, Owner at Tarabanan Resort and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2016

Thank you Anton for this heart-warming note. It was our pleasure to host your family and provide you with a relaxing place to stay. Please always remember that you have a family in Tarabanan! --- Mina and crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2015

This resort is very secluded which makes it a better experience as you're not close to other tourists. From Puerto Princesa we took a mini bus which dropped us off at the Batak Information Centre on the side of the main highway. From here we asked directions from the locals and we were directed down a wide pathway with bamboo huts on either side.

Upon reaching our destination we were warmly greeted by the owner, Mina. She showed us where we were staying and then made us refreshing welcome juices. She introduced us to her grandchildren who help her clean and maintain the resort.

As there are often no other guests, we had the resort to ourselves. The cottage was very basic but met all our needs. Upstairs there are two beds with mosquito nets installed. At night the breeze passes through the window, and we had an electric fan to keep us cool. Downstairs there is another bed, a lounge area and the bathroom. The cottages are facing the beach which is was rather rocky, but still nice to swim in.

There is no set menu at the resort. Mina may ask for preferences, however the ultimate decision lies with her. She prepares delicious and authentic Filipino food at a very decent price (food is not included in accommodation costs). Meal times were what we looked forward to most as she surprised us with scrumptious meals. We always welcomed her company as we ate, and we would exchange our stories, experiences and backgrounds.

From here we had to get to El Nido, however Mina took it upon herself to help us get a cheap air conditioned bus at a convenient time. She also arranged a guide to take us through to the mountainside across rivers, to visit the local Batak Tribe, which was yet another authentic experience. Overall we had a fantastic time, and would highly recommend this to travelles who are seeking a truly authentic Filipino experience.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bushid0kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarabanan, Owner at Tarabanan Resort and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2016

Thank you BushKid for this review. Thanks for helping us describe what an experience in Tarabanan is like. We hope to have you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed at Tarabanan in January for a few nights en route to El Nido. As soon as we arrived we were warmly greeted by the owner Mina who is absolutely wonderful. After a complimentary coconut drink we were shown to our bamboo made hut. Basic but lots of fun and waking up to the sounds of the waves was lovely. Each morning Mina cooked us eggs, toast, fresh fruit salad and the most amazing home made pineapple and mango jam I have ever tasted! Dinners were delightful (lots of fish freshly caught by the local fishermen). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend Tarabanan to anyone who is looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday living. Thank you Mina for a lovely stay, Paul & Cassi.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cass_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarabanan, Owner at Tarabanan Resort and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2016

Thank you Paul and Cassi. We are glad that you find the experience at Tarabanan most authentic.

Mina and crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

If you don't mind about occidental comfort (I mean : glass windows (well, just windows...), hot shower, no ants, etc.), this is a fabulous place to spend a week. Located in a remote area, Tarabanan offers peacefull atmosphere, nice beach with decent swimming, very friendly neighbourhood and, more of all, the warmfull of the owner, Mina, an incredibly dynamic women. Thanks a lot Mina, we spent a wonderfull week ! (The family of "Milo like mango").

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruno M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarabanan, Owner at Tarabanan Resort and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2016

Thanks Bruno for your wonderful note on Tarabanan. Next time you come back we will have more mangoes for Milo. Last year we had 100 kilos of mangoes picked from our own trees in the backyard!

--Mina and crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews