We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful resort to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A peaceful resort to relax”
Reviewed 19 December 2016

I have a 3D2N there with SPA package. The SPA is not operated by the hotel as per my knowledge.

Have a seaview deluxe room at the top floor with 1 day paid breakfast and 1 day complimentary. the breakfast is buffet international style. The spread of choice is quite good. Unless you want to travel out of Sentosa to get some local food if not I think is worth to try.

The room is nice with a balcony to have a nice view over the sea. I thought it will have an 'old' interior but it turns out it is quite new and tidy. the staff over there are very friendly and helpful. This is a big plus for this hotel.

For the SPA, comparing to another SPA in Sentosa the facility is way too simple. Too bad the SPA and hotel did not work together to make use of the surrounding to it advantage.

The resort is at 1 part of Sentosa so if you want to go USS or Casino you will need to take a free shuttle bus (3-5 minutes interval) which will take about 10 minutes to reach Resort World Sentosa. I come in to relax and rest so this is not of a problem for me.

There is a construction site from a walking distance of 10 mins away from the hotel but it does not cause a problem to me in term of dust or noise.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more if you have the budget to get the villa. Look quite nice from the outside though i di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skwsmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amara_Mgmt, Amara Sanctuary Team at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa, responded to this review, 21 December 2016
Dear skwsmc,

Thank you for your positive review!

It is always delightful to receive positive feedback on our service and we are pleased to learn that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you once again for your review. Every review is an opportunity to improve ourselves and we are grateful for the opportunity to do so. We appreciate your thoughtfulness and are grateful for your support.

Please come back soon; we'd love to see you again!


Yours sincerely,
Amara Sanctuary Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    88
    41
    11
    18
See reviews for
85
105
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Very disappointed with Amara Sanctuary Resorts Sentosa during my recent stay.
Worth complimenting points:
1) Early check in and Late check out request was fulfilled
2) Complimentary cake for the birthday girl was provided
Areas to be improved on:
1) We checked in at around 2pm only to find out that we could not connect to the WIFI at all despite the fact that we were eligible for free WIFI during our stay. Calls were made to the reception more than twice but problem went unsolved. Technicians came down TWICE and told us that they would come back to assist us on the issue but there wasn’t any follow up on their part.
2) Many calls to the reception and in room dining service went unanswered or were only answered after a long wait. We had to walk out from our 1 bed room villa, to get someone to assist us on our in room dining service. Apparently the staffs that we approached at the reception were unhappy about the double job that they had to do due to the incompetency of their colleagues too. At one point I had to call the Duty Manager, only to find out that the one who picked up the call wasn’t the Duty Manager and despite the fact that I just called in to the reception before calling the Duty Manager, he had the audacity to tell me that they were not alerted of our call.
3) Lighting at the villa was horrible. Once it turns dark, visibility was low and one of us even slipped and fell into the pool as there wasn’t any light at all.
4) One of us tried to request for a ride in to our villa but was asked to walk instead despite the fact that she was alone and it was late at night. It was only after repeated requests that someone actually assisted her with getting back to the villa.
Coming from the hospitality industry, this level of service is definitely way below average, especially coming from one of the top few resorts in Singapore.
#amarasanctuary #sentosa #disappointment #paidsomuchyetsubstandardservice

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jovanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

We are a family of 3, with a 5yrs old child in tag. We booked 2 types of rooms here, 1st nite at Courtyard Suite and 2 nites in 1-bedroom villa.

Both rooms have its own distinctive qualities but of course the villa wins my vote.

Courtyard Suite room was very spacious and the courtyard was way too big to place a small size jacuzzi, though the jacuzzi pool was a reasonable size for the 3 of us.

My 1-bedroom villa (Villa 1) was tug away at a corner hence more privacy for us however the window near the open concept bathtub has some issues with it. Next door guests could see us bathing in it. I do hope the Management do something about this and because of this issue, I did not use the bathtub.

The private pool in the villa was just right for some dipping and plunging. The pool depth is 1.4m hence my son had to put on a life jacket which we bought @7-11 at RWS.

Both rooms provide generous amounts of Twinnings teabags (5 types) and Nescafe with its own expresso machine. The villa mininar is complimentary which include 2 bottles of orange juice, 2 cans of Coke and 2 cans of beer (we didn't take the beer though).

We had a pleasant stay and the mattresses and pillows were comfortable. The room in the villa is rather small but we are fine with this. The living area was a reasonable size and

Shortcomings:-
1) no comb
2) no sewing kit
3) issue with the window near the bathtub
4) villa should have more floor towel or mat since it is equipped with a indoor private pool, it makes the floor slippery at times
5) short of staffs. Called the front desk, concierge and housekeeping few times but no answer. You need to call them to come with the buggy upon check out.
6) dream pool and kids pool outside were not well maintained. The decks on the bridge were broken and not fixed. This is dangerous should someone trip on it.

Good things to add:-
1) Friendly staffs: Ros (who accomodate my son request for top-up cookie in the villa), Jin Sheng Tan (on the check in and check out, he remembered my name) & Mariana from the Spa who showed us the way out to Merlion. In fact all staffs were friendly.
2) beautiful lush tropical scenery. People who are afraid of ants and other insects invading their room need not come here. Its nature. We overcome this thankfully.
3) Nice and friendly peacocks roaming around in the resort. Something which you couldn't find anywhere in Singapore hotels.
4) RWS, Imbiah Station, and Merlion are just 5-7 mins walk.

Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rohaya19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2016

As we wanted to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city we chose to stay in Sentosa. My partner opted for this hotel as we have not tried it yet and chose the Courtyard Suite. One of the many things I look forward to in staying in a hotel is the room's ambiance which should depict comfort and utmost cleanliness. Needless to say this hotel's room is very much below standard when it comes to those two factors. Our problems were conveyed to the Duty Manager and Executive Housekeeper. They were shown three out of probably more than ten issues that we had in our room and the Executive Housekeeper immediately cuts off the conversation saying that she's certain that we can show her as many as we can (felt like she did not have the patience to deal with us or our complain) and immediately told us that she can prepare another room of the same category or might be even upgrading us. So does this mean that she has had a lot of issues like this prior to our arrival? I don't know about potential guests wanting to stay in this hotel but I sure would not give it another try. For now, we just want to get out of the hotel and get a refund because it's just plain terrible.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexandre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Got a lovely staycation treat from the family man. Decided to stay off the main island and it was a great decision. Lush greenery, quiet surroundings.

The hotel gives a great service level with many areas on self service. That includes a kachang puteh stall complete with a water stand for guests who needs a quick bite and for tourists to soak into small local treat.

The pool was a tad small though the infinity pool concept with it overlooking out to the straits was soothing.

I just wished the pool was cleaned up better. When we were there, there were leftover snacks and bits left behind from the previous users. Guess, the concept of self servicing is, whilst appreciated is also taken advantaged off by some guests.

Overall, the service level from the staff was wonderful. We were greeted by the duty manager before we left to garner feedback.

If there are good room packages, I will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Get up early in the morning and be greeted by the free roaming peacocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EstherYeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amara_Mgmt, Amara Sanctuary Team at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa, responded to this review, 21 December 2016
Dear EstherYeo,

Thank you for your lovely note!

It is always delightful to receive positive feedback on our service and we are pleased to learn that you had enjoyed your stay. We hear you on the cleanliness at the pool area and have reminded the relevant department to ensure these public areas are regularly checked during their rounds.

We appreciate your thoughtfulness and are grateful for your support. Please come back soon; we'd love to see you again!


Yours sincerely,
Amara Sanctuary Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sentosa Island hotels
0.9 km away
Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa
1.5 km away
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
2.3 km away
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
#4 of 13 in Sentosa Island
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Resorts World Sentosa - Equarius Hotel
0.7 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
#10 of 13 in Sentosa Island
2,037 reviews
0.6 km away
Resorts World Sentosa - Festive Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa

Property: Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa
Address: 1 Larkhill Road, Sentosa Island 099394, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sentosa Island
#6 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price range (per night): $255 - $834
Hotel Class:5 star — Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa is a 140-room boutique resort in Singapore nested within 3.8 hectares of secluded tropical gardens on the hillside of Sentosa’s popular Palawan Beach.A ten minute drive from the Central Business District on mainland Singapore, it is easily accessible for both business and leisure travellers.Winner of Singapore Tatler The Best of Singapore Awards 2010 to 2013 - Best Resort.Winner of Singapore Service Class Award 2012.Winner of AsiaOne People's Choice Awards 2009 - Best Resort.Winner of URA Architectural Heritage Awards 2007 - Category A. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotelopia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa Hotel Sentosa Island
Amara Sanctuary Sentosa Island
Amara Sanctuary Hotel Sentosa Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing