We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to unwind”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good place to unwind”
Reviewed 24 February 2017

My wife and I spent two nights here on the return stop-over at the end of our Distant Journeys Highlights of New Zealand and Australia tour. We just wanted to relax totally at the end of a thoroughly enjoyable but full-on tour.

We arrived close to midnight, and check in was very slow. Our room was large with a large double bed, a sofa, chairs, a large TV and plenty of wardrobe (with plenty of hangars) and drawer space. There was a safe, iron and ironing board and a coffee machine. The bathroom was large with both a bath and a shower, and with plenty of good quality towels and toiletries.

We had to queue for breakfast both mornings. The food was good, but staff were slow (under pressure?) to replenish many items, e.g. when a waiter appeared with a dozen yoghurts he could not even put them in the cool area as people took them out of the box!. There were three fruit juices, four cereals, and different breads and pastries; there was a large choice of hot food for Western and Asian tastes.

There are two pools, one at ground level although it was in need of cleaning (lot of leaves in the water), and an infinity pool on the roof. There are also a gym and a spa.

People on a late check-out can shower and change in the sky-pool area, but the changing room is like a wet room!

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Conclusion – definitely a four star hotel, but we were lucky enough to have the room and breakfast on a special deal; I would not pay the full price. Would we stay here again – only of on a deal!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    88
    41
    11
    18
See reviews for
85
105
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Urbana, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2017

The property is lovely and well-maintained: we really appreciated the great adaptation and reuse of historical buildings, the nice rooms, good linens, and great bathtubs. After that, it's just odd. The food is ok, no more. (The food at the Sentosa Sofitel is heads and shoulders better.)

We spent months (literally) trying to get a confirmed reservation that isn't particularly complicated as these things go: two nights were to be paid for by the host organization, and we were paying for an additional two nights and the cost of upgrading the room for all four days. Despite constant promises of "it's coming," nothing. We never did get a confirmation of our reservation (necessary to get onto Sentosa Island, among other things) until I'd called the hotel from the US and asked to speak to the General Manager three days before our arrival. Even with that, we were promised confirmation by "end of business" and had to email again the next day inquiring. In fairness, we were met at reception by several people and offered an additional room upgrade due to the difficulties. The upgrade was to a very nice room in the Larkhill Terrace and we enjoyed it a great deal. It was quiet and private. Does anyone in management know that the balcony on the second floor has a view of the entire bathtub of the room next door below? If anyone had been bathing, we could have watched them. (ick)

Checking in brought an experience we've never before had: we had to sign a document two full pages long of resort regulations. These include promising not to: move the furniture, hold a karaoke party, eat in bed, leave the windows open while the air con is running, or host unregistered guests in the room after 7 pm. Having signed the document, we didn't even get a copy--and it was full of language saying we could be evicted without refund if we broke any of the many rules.

Checking out was equally strange: it was unbelievably slow, disorganized, and confused. At least we were properly charged, though not without double checking.

The pool by the Larkhill Terrace block of rooms is long and beautiful--and there is no shade to be had by it AT ALL. All of it and all of the deck are always in full sun. No umbrella, no trees, nothing. We were advised to hold a rain umbrella while sitting on the loungers when we inquired.

The water pressure is inconsistent (very). The individual staff we interacted with were quite pleasant, though not always really on the ball. We couldn't quite figure out who their target audience is: there were corporate groups doing retreats or training there throughout our stay, and the other clients present all seemed to come in by the busload.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CGUrbanaIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amara_Mgmt, Amara Sanctuary Team at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa, responded to this review, 3 March 2017
Dear CGUrbanaIllinois

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We apologise unreservedly for the disappointment expressed in your review, particularly during the booking process. It is certainly not indicative of the standards one would expect of Amara Sanctuary Resort.

The management has acknowledged the concern on the visibility of the couple suites from the overlooking rooms and we are pleased to share that ongoing preventive measures are ongoing to address this.

We hear you on the acknowledgement of our resort regulations and policies and would like to share that it has been put in place to provide clarity with our guests to avoid any misunderstanding. We do apologize should this have caused any unhappiness towards you, and please be assured it is never our intent to do so.

We take onboard your comments of your check-out experience and have shared your feedback with the team. Our front office team constantly reviews our processes to ensure a timely check-in and check-out process for all our guests.
In addition to your feedback on the water pressure, please be assured that our engineering team will look into the matter.

Separately, we are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback, every feedback is an opportunity to improve ourselves.

We can certainly do better and hope we will have a chance to welcome you to Amara Sanctuary again. Please write to us at frontoffice@amarasanctuary.com for your future stay. We would be pleased to accord a special rate and a room upgrade to you.


Yours sincerely,
Amara Sanctuary Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2017

I had a birthday party at the upper tier function room. Really love the place as it does not feel like a meeting or ballroom with the windows and outdoor area. i think it was perfect for a birthday party. The food was great and staff was very helpful. The rooms was really good and clean as well. It had everything i needed.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manda_181918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amara_Mgmt, Amara Sanctuary Team at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa, responded to this review, 23 February 2017
Dear manda_181918,

Thank you for your positive review and choosing Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa to host your event. We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable time with us.

It is always delightful to receive compliments praising our service, particularly for our colleagues. We will ensure they are recognized for their efforts.

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Do come back soon; we’d love to see you again!


Yours sincerely,
Amara Sanctuary Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Really had a good experience during our 1night stay..Very pleasant Staff and helpful in any of my inquiries.Especially when i had my breakfast buffet, the Filipino staffs are very helpful and got the initiative to offered their help.Im in the line of service as well as customers ,I really appreciated the service with an extra miles..
Keep it up and thanks for a good experience.

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rhomz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amara_Mgmt, Amara Sanctuary Team at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa, responded to this review, 19 February 2017
Dear Rhomz B,

Thank you for your positive review!

We are pleased to learn that you had enjoyed your stay. It is always delightful to receive positive feedback praising our service. We will most certainly share your kind words with our associates and ensure they are recognized for their efforts.

We appreciate your time to share this review of us and are grateful for your support. Please come back soon; we'd love to see you again!


Yours sincerely,
Amara Sanctuary Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2017

The accommodation was great clean and private. A little bit pricey but well worth it. The weather was warm and the staff delightful and very accomodating. The outer offices and resort are could do with a bit of a renovation. The island is quiet or maybe it was the time of year we went. not many people or much happening unfortunately. But if youre looking for peace and privacy, this is one place to stay at. the welcome wine and fruit basket were much appreciated.

Stayed March 2016
Helpful?
Thank KulHKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amara_Mgmt, Amara Sanctuary Team at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa, responded to this review, 19 February 2017
Dear KulHKJ,

Thank you for your positive review!

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is always delightful to receive compliments praising our service, especially for our colleagues.

Do come back soon; we’d love to see you again!


Yours sincerely,
Amara Sanctuary Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sentosa Island hotels
0.9 km away
Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa
1.5 km away
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
2.3 km away
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
#4 of 13 in Sentosa Island
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Resorts World Sentosa - Equarius Hotel
0.7 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
#10 of 13 in Sentosa Island
2,037 reviews
0.6 km away
Resorts World Sentosa - Festive Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa

Property: Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa
Address: 1 Larkhill Road, Sentosa Island 099394, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sentosa Island
#6 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price range (per night): $255 - $834
Hotel Class:5 star — Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa is a 140-room boutique resort in Singapore nested within 3.8 hectares of secluded tropical gardens on the hillside of Sentosa’s popular Palawan Beach.A ten minute drive from the Central Business District on mainland Singapore, it is easily accessible for both business and leisure travellers.Winner of Singapore Tatler The Best of Singapore Awards 2010 to 2013 - Best Resort.Winner of Singapore Service Class Award 2012.Winner of AsiaOne People's Choice Awards 2009 - Best Resort.Winner of URA Architectural Heritage Awards 2007 - Category A. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa Hotel Sentosa Island
Amara Sanctuary Sentosa Island
Amara Sanctuary Hotel Sentosa Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing