We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Capella Singapore(Sentosa Island)
US$604
US$407
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael(Sentosa Island)(Great Value!)
US$180
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa(Sentosa Island)
US$272
US$226
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
W Singapore Sentosa Cove(Sentosa Island)
US$278
US$251
WHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$676
US$544
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$245
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Le Meridien Singapore, Sentosa(Sentosa Island)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Resorts World Sentosa - Equarius Hotel(Sentosa Island)(Great Value!)
US$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
77
80
46
17
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
80
46
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtyard suitesky poolshutters restaurantlarkhill terraceglass paviliondining vouchersales managerclose to naturedirect access to poolpeacocks roaminglight sleeperpalawan beachbeautiful resortthe check in processbig bathroomrelaxing stayoutdoor area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2017

The property is lovely and well-maintained: we really appreciated the great adaptation and reuse of historical buildings, the nice rooms, good linens, and great bathtubs. After that, it's just odd. The food is ok, no more. (The food at the Sentosa Sofitel is heads and shoulders better.)

We spent months (literally) trying to get a confirmed reservation that isn't particularly complicated as these things go: two nights were to be paid for by the host organization, and we were paying for an additional two nights and the cost of upgrading the room for all four days. Despite constant promises of "it's coming," nothing. We never did get a confirmation of our reservation (necessary to get onto Sentosa Island, among other things) until I'd called the hotel from the US and asked to speak to the General Manager three days before our arrival. Even with that, we were promised confirmation by "end of business" and had to email again the next day inquiring. In fairness, we were met at reception by several people and offered an additional room upgrade due to the difficulties. The upgrade was to a very nice room in the Larkhill Terrace and we enjoyed it a great deal. It was quiet and private. Does anyone in management know that the balcony on the second floor has a view of the entire bathtub of the room next door below? If anyone had been bathing, we could have watched them. (ick)

Checking in brought an experience we've never before had: we had to sign a document two full pages long of resort regulations. These include promising not to: move the furniture, hold a karaoke party, eat in bed, leave the windows open while the air con is running, or host unregistered guests in the room after 7 pm. Having signed the document, we didn't even get a copy--and it was full of language saying we could be evicted without refund if we broke any of the many rules.

Checking out was equally strange: it was unbelievably slow, disorganized, and confused. At least we were properly charged, though not without double checking.

The pool by the Larkhill Terrace block of rooms is long and beautiful--and there is no shade to be had by it AT ALL. All of it and all of the deck are always in full sun. No umbrella, no trees, nothing. We were advised to hold a rain umbrella while sitting on the loungers when we inquired.

The water pressure is inconsistent (very). The individual staff we interacted with were quite pleasant, though not always really on the ball. We couldn't quite figure out who their target audience is: there were corporate groups doing retreats or training there throughout our stay, and the other clients present all seemed to come in by the busload.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CGUrbanaIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amara_Mgmt, Amara Sanctuary Team at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Dear CGUrbanaIllinois

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We apologise unreservedly for the disappointment expressed in your review, particularly during the booking process. It is certainly not indicative of the standards one would expect of Amara Sanctuary Resort.

The management has acknowledged the concern on the visibility of the couple suites from the overlooking rooms and we are pleased to share that ongoing preventive measures are ongoing to address this.

We hear you on the acknowledgement of our resort regulations and policies and would like to share that it has been put in place to provide clarity with our guests to avoid any misunderstanding. We do apologize should this have caused any unhappiness towards you, and please be assured it is never our intent to do so.

We take onboard your comments of your check-out experience and have shared your feedback with the team. Our front office team constantly reviews our processes to ensure a timely check-in and check-out process for all our guests.
In addition to your feedback on the water pressure, please be assured that our engineering team will look into the matter.

Separately, we are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback, every feedback is an opportunity to improve ourselves.

We can certainly do better and hope we will have a chance to welcome you to Amara Sanctuary again. Please write to us at frontoffice@amarasanctuary.com for your future stay. We would be pleased to accord a special rate and a room upgrade to you.


Yours sincerely,
Amara Sanctuary Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

I had a birthday party at the upper tier function room. Really love the place as it does not feel like a meeting or ballroom with the windows and outdoor area. i think it was perfect for a birthday party. The food was great and staff was very helpful. The rooms was really good and clean as well. It had everything i needed.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manda_181918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amara_Mgmt, Amara Sanctuary Team at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Dear manda_181918,

Thank you for your positive review and choosing Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa to host your event. We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable time with us.

It is always delightful to receive compliments praising our service, particularly for our colleagues. We will ensure they are recognized for their efforts.

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Do come back soon; we’d love to see you again!


Yours sincerely,
Amara Sanctuary Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Really had a good experience during our 1night stay..Very pleasant Staff and helpful in any of my inquiries.Especially when i had my breakfast buffet, the Filipino staffs are very helpful and got the initiative to offered their help.Im in the line of service as well as customers ,I really appreciated the service with an extra miles..
Keep it up and thanks for a good experience.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rhomz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amara_Mgmt, Amara Sanctuary Team at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2017

Dear Rhomz B,

Thank you for your positive review!

We are pleased to learn that you had enjoyed your stay. It is always delightful to receive positive feedback praising our service. We will most certainly share your kind words with our associates and ensure they are recognized for their efforts.

We appreciate your time to share this review of us and are grateful for your support. Please come back soon; we'd love to see you again!


Yours sincerely,
Amara Sanctuary Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

The accommodation was great clean and private. A little bit pricey but well worth it. The weather was warm and the staff delightful and very accomodating. The outer offices and resort are could do with a bit of a renovation. The island is quiet or maybe it was the time of year we went. not many people or much happening unfortunately. But if youre looking for peace and privacy, this is one place to stay at. the welcome wine and fruit basket were much appreciated.

Stayed: March 2016
Thank KulHKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amara_Mgmt, Amara Sanctuary Team at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2017

Dear KulHKJ,

Thank you for your positive review!

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is always delightful to receive compliments praising our service, especially for our colleagues.

Do come back soon; we’d love to see you again!


Yours sincerely,
Amara Sanctuary Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Had a very calm and relaxing stay at the hotel. Spacious and clean rooms, attentive and friendly staff. Dinner in Shutters with good food, but lighting is too bright to create any cosy atmosphere. Also tried the spa for a 2hr Groupon deal incl Swedish massage. The massage was average, but still very relaxing and added positively to the getaway experience

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jonaseurenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amara_Mgmt, Amara Sanctuary Team at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2017

Dear jonaseurenius,

Thank you for your positive review!

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

It is always delightful to receive compliments praising our service, particularly for our colleagues. We will ensure they are recognized for their efforts.

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Every feedback is an opportunity to improve ourselves and we are grateful for the opportunity to do so.

Do come back soon; we’d love to see you again!


Yours sincerely,
Amara Sanctuary Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews