We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks good but really a let down ”
Review of Syun

Syun
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 10/08
20:00
OR
Reserve a table
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Sentosa Island
Description: The pinnacle of Japanese fusion fine dining, skilfully presented as a culinary work of art. Indulge in exquisitely plated fresh sushi, sashimi and exceptional cuts of meat flown in fresh from Japan and expertly paired to bring out the distinct natural flavours of each quality ingredient. Sample gourmet fusion delights and culinary artistry that is the work of Hal Yamashita, the master and creator of nouvelle Japanese cuisine.
Reviewed 22 October 2019 via mobile

Presentation looks great but lack of flavour or over powering like their signature Unni wrapped in beef.

Not super fresh as well as you can see from the photo that the salad , they just couldn’t care and have the whole lump in there. Some have dotted aging signs and I actually ate at least 1/2 bowl then I realised.

Service is so-so as my tea wasn’t top up at all, leaving it there for a good 15mins, you can view the cctv if you wasn’t convinced.

For $100+ per pax spending , I am very sure you can get it better elsewhere.

Date of visit: October 2019
2  Thank Bubbsy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 98 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2019 via mobile

Had a wonderful meal at Syun with my family, celebrated a birthday there and the staff were friendly and very attentive. Made our day. Sashimi was fresh and sweet to taste. Not mentioning the grilled cod fish which was exquisite

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank ShereenTMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 September 2019

We always love visiting Syun. The restaurant provides a great ambience to enjoy the food served with its freshness and the best of flavor.

Thanks to Philip for providing great service all the time. He is very attentive and efficient in rendering his services. The fantastic dining experience is completed with a sweet melon recommended by Philip.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Zoey066
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RWS_Syun, Syun Team at Syun, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2019

Dear Zoey066,

Thank you for the nice review!
As always, we also love to have you in Syun, to provide you with great service particularly from Philip.
We enjoy having a good relationship with our guests so we can maintain our high service standard without being stiff but to create a more family environment in Syun.

See you again soon!
Thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2019

My first love was the sea urchin rolled in wagyu beef the taste gave me a burst of umami flavour that was so satisfying in 2016. Standards have since been not too consistent but in 2019 things have changed for the better!

TOP notch service by Chee Wai and Phillip, a truly 5 star experience

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Jameslim92
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RWS_Syun, Syun Team at Syun, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2019

Dear Jameslim92,

Thank you for your great review!
We apologize for the let down that you have experienced about the consistency previously.
Our team will keep on improving on all the standards in the restaurant, as to maintain stability of our service.
We are also happy for appreciating the kind service of Chee Wai and Philip that provided you.

Again, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2019 via mobile

A small and very charming place. We ordered the tasting menu and truly enjoyed every single course. The salmon tartare “sandwich” and the perfectly cooked dinner Wagyu beef were fantastic. The wait staff were extremely pleasant, efficient and accommodating. I ordered a Japanese Chardonnay which was great. Highly recommended.

I’ll be back !

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank 719amjadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RWS_Syun, Syun Team at Syun, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2019

Dear 719amjadh,

We are glad that you enjoyed your dining experience with us.
We shall continue our service efficient to bring more happiness on the table.

Looking forward to see you again in Syun.
Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Syun also viewed

 
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Sentosa Island, Singapore
 

Been to Syun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.