We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So good we went back the next night” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coriander Leaf

Coriander Leaf
Ranked #137 of 10,437 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$75
Cuisines: Fusion, Asian, Singaporean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Coriander Leaf - a well-loved Singaporean name - reopened its flagship restaurant at CHIJMES in June 2015. Expect a new Modern Asian experience with a menu that embodies the region's myriad of flavours paired with brilliant small batch wines from around the world. This latest evolution marks Coriander Leaf's 14th year in the business and celebrates food and wine at its finest.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“So good we went back the next night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Seriously good food. Everything was delicious. Highlights were the crab croquettes and the kingfish. Chocolate lava cake is not to be missed. The service was attentive helpful and friendly.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    78
    29
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“PanAsian Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Coriander Leaf was recommended by a friend living in Singapore. As it was our first visit to the country for, we decided to check it out...and sooooooo happy we did. Firstly, the decor is both fun, unusual, and romantic at the same time. Our wonderful waiter "James" truly added to the experience. He was knowledgable and helped us pick the perfect selections. His sense of humor made us feel welcome....and because my husband and I are both "foodies', he showed us their cooking school on site with private rooms. All spotless and well appointed. The menu selection for the class was mouth watering. We wished we had known about this as we definitely would have booked the experience!!... they also have a cookbook. The meal itself was a cornucopia of flavors.... different blends of herbs and spices made each dish unique and quite YUMMY! We ordered the watermelon, mint, pomegranate and cheese salad to start, the signature Frontier chicken ( divine) the sea bass and the delicious Ice cream sandwiches for dessert. Each dish was a discovery and all were wonderful. Service was impeccable and not only will we recommend to friends, but hope to go back one day on a return trip....

  • Visited February 2017
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank giorgiovino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We wanted to like this place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2017

My wife and I have been living in Singapore for five years, and she recently started working at a university near Coriander Leaf. We thus imagined this restaurant as being one of our new go-to, after-work places for dinner.

Alas, it wasn't meant to be. After two dinner-time visits, one sitting at the bar in front of the kitchen, we won't be back. Service was spotty, as described in other reviews, and the food was uneven: some great dishes, but others not so much. We rather wished that hadn't sat within sight of the open kitchen; we observed a few bad habits that, while not overtly unsanitary, would have gotten me chewed out big-time back when I worked in a restaurant kitchen.

All in all, this was an acceptable place to dine, and we can see from nearby reviews on this page that others have enjoyed their experience more than we did. Fair enough. At this price point, though, it seems to us that there are several superior and more welcoming restaurant options in Singapore.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
2 Thank RowanAndStacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not what they said”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2017

My husband and I stumbled upon Coriander Leaf about a year ago and have been fans ever since.

Usually a reservation is not required however on Saturday evening to our surprise we could not get a table as they were full. We then resorted to texting Monica for a table for 6 people and WE GOT IN!! Though an earlier dinner then we hoped for.

As our friends and I could not agree on which dishes to order we left it to Monica to organise the meal for us. BEST DECISION EVER!! Each dish which was brought out kept us wanting more. We had our favourites (miso cod, fried eggplant, frontier chicken) and new favourites (honey pineapple, steamed seabass, coriander rice). Do save space for desserts, no regrets. Wine was great too.

Food did slow down later in the evening as the restaurant was full. Literally all seats were taken as they had another private dinner in the cooking studios.

Staff did attend to us as best as they could, we didn't need much attention as we were there for a casual get together. We thought everything was perfect. One table seemed like they wanted all the attention on them which you could see started to stress the staff out as they could not attend to every table.

We definitely will be back!!

  • Visited February 2017
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank copperjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful surprise...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

Friends chose this venue and I was very pleasantly surprised!

A lovely setting on an upper level in Chijmes.
Great decor and fabulously attentive service. Meals are designed to be shared and although varied in what we each chose - each one was a literally a taste sensation!

This is one of those places you will definitely come back to. Possibly more formal that some of the other dining establishments a great place to go as a group or on a date.

Not a cheap experience but taste is definitely reflected in the price. Highly recommend

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coriander Leaf also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Coriander Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing