We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent Feed!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maxwell Road Hawker Centre

Maxwell Road Hawker Centre
Ranked #49 of 10,296 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, Fast food, Asian, Indonesian, Taiwanese, Singaporean, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Feed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

This place is a foodie heaven - everything you'd ever want in Singapore cuisine is here. We loved wandering around the various stalls and trying a little bit of this and that. The stalls are all top class, clean and great tasting food. Check out my blog review - http://theadventuresofmisspiggy.blogspot.com.au/2012/02/hawker-centers-singapore.html

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MissPiggyEats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    819
    1,053
    262
    39
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Magic Foodie Moments!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Here is the place to get up close to the locals. We were already on a high before we set foot inside. Trying to read our map as we walked here we had two different people come up and offer assistance and then their tips of what food to try .How nice is that? At Maxwell Centre there were very few tourists and we were rather conspicuous but that was fine because an elderly woman pointed out where to buy beer, a couple of office workers watching us watch the production of doughnuts brought over their supply and insisted we try them. They were delicious but even better was the way the customer turned them in the oil as they waited. Becoming bolder we ventured up to order and the guy in front gave us a rundown on the types and then ordered for us from "Aunty". He even turned over the chopsticks to my husband to have a turn manning the giant wok of bubbling oil. A young woman behind me then started advising on the other foods we shouldn't miss. If you love food then Singapore will embrace you. The food was fantastic but this brief connection with the people was even better.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OzgirlNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davao city
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Singapore's Best at Reasonable Prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Ever wanting to taste authentic food of Singapore without draining your travel budget? Then go to Maxwell Hawker Center!! They have it all in there. Authentic cuisine at Reasonable Prices. I could not ask for more!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank glendadavao73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

What is there to not like about cheap meals that are freshly made and delicious? You will find hundreds of vendors and can easily have all three meals in a day here for under $10 total. Before deciding what to eat, walk through the centre and check out everything available. You can usually spot the most popular ones by the size of the long lines. People WILL wait long time if the food is good.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NYC_UpperWestsiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Plenty of Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Quite a few different stalls to choose from here. Good quality food at slightly lower prices than elsewhere. Lots of locals eating here at all times of day or night. Great experience. Great location very close to Buddha Tooth Relic Temple.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Avanti_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maxwell Road Hawker Centre also viewed

 

Been to Maxwell Road Hawker Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing