We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local Singaporean Food Court - Try Tong Fong Fatt Chicken Rice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maxwell Road Hawker Centre

Maxwell Road Hawker Centre
Ranked #53 of 10,419 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, Fast food, Asian, Indonesian, Taiwanese, Singaporean, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Local Singaporean Food Court - Try Tong Fong Fatt Chicken Rice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

This is a very local singaporean food centre, also know as food courts or hawker centres. There are lots of local dishes like chicken rice, fried kway teow, fried carrot cake, won ton noodles... etc. Almost every stall is good, so just for anything that your stomach is calling out to. Food prices generally range around SGD$3-$5.

For those wanting to try chicken rice (a very local dish and a must have for visitors to Singapore), i recommend you to try the Tong Fong Fatt stall. I find their chicken more tender and the rice more fragrant and moist than the famous Tian Tian stall (which you can identify by the very long queue of people).

Try to avoid the peak period during 12-2pm as the lunch crowd would be flocking in from the nearby offices. If not, be prepared to wait for about 5-15 minutes to find a seat. And you would find packets of tissue papers "littered" over the tables and chairs, that usually means the table/seat is taken and they have gone to buy their food.

So be adventurous and try the different variety of food there!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kennethjayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    850
    1,084
    271
    41
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Maxwell Hainanese Chicken Rice - a notch better than Tian Tian !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Much was written on-line about the glorious Tian Tian Chicken rice stall at Maxwell Road Hawker Food Centre, notably the comment that "if you see long queque of locals, the food must be very good".

Though Tian Tian has been selling its chicken rice for many years (some say 20 yrs plus), I find subtle yet gradual changes in its offerings of one of Singapore's famous dishes. Firstly, the chicken rice has become rather tasteless and are from the long-grained variety (cooked rather dry). Secondly, the steamed chicken, though tender and delicious, are served bathed in a rather slimy sesame-oil flavoured sauce, a taste which locals like, but I find it disguises the taste of the chicken slices. I find the strong and heavy taste of sesame oil does not enhance the delicate taste of the tender chicken slices.

On the same level/path where Tian Tian is located, but on the opposite, and a few stalls further, is one stall called "Maxwell Hainanese Chicken Rice" - though it is about 4 years old - which serves its steamed chicken sslices without swimming in the slimy sesame oil, hence one really taste the smooth texture of the tender chicken pieces. The sauce here is a very light soya-based sauce. From this stall I ordered a dish of chicken drum-stick boneless meat, a dish of chicken liver, and a dish of towgay/bean sprouts. The chicken rice was served in a separate dish, plus a bowl of hot soup. I could taste the tender chicken slices which is more yummy when dipped in the light ginger, thick black soya, or chilly sauces. My order was outside the suggested menu and the cook was happy to oblige. i paid a total of SG 9.50 which is a far more worthy meal for two than if I ate elsewhere. I have no regrets not going back to Tian Tian where one has to stand in a line first to pay, get a receipt, then stand in another line to collect one's food order. To be fair, Maxwell Hainanese Chicken Rice has also its own line of fans.

Tips:
1) This Hawker Food Centre is very popular and extremely busy with office lunch time crowds - both for its yummy foods and its price-quality - hence not all stalls are open in the evenings. Suggest for tourists to go first for an afternoon tour of nearby Chinatown and then go around 6 p.m. for an early dinner. Do take note that after 8 p.m. the place will look nearly deserted and un-attractive. But if you plan to lunch there, be there by 12 noon, grab a table/seat, have a drink and you still have time to look at what the stalls are cooking before the office crowd turns the centre into a noisy, maddening, rush-hour "train station".

2) Be bold, instead of ordering what is suggested on the board posted with pictures of recommended menu and the set prices, ask the stall-keeper/cook what the price will be if you order certain favourites, like a dish of chicken liver only, or a dish of fried vegetables as side dishes to go with the chicken rice. Or ask for the rice to be served separate from the chicken breast slices you have specially ordered. But you can only do this outside the office rush hour.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Silverlucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Local Singaporean Food Court”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Just cross the other side of China Town, easy access. Chicken rice, stire-fried noodles, fish ball noodle soup, congee, dessert, juicy, herbal tea, deep-fired banana.....except satay. It is closed around 9:00pm.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank InAuto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lots of good food in one place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

I could lunch here everyday. Fish soup (Cantonese style & teochew style), Hainanese curry rice, Thai food, $2 mee sua, bean curd pudding, chicken rice, sweet potato balls, sambal fried rice, katong laksa, soy bean milk with horlicks... and the list goes on. Good and cheap, and I'd visit Maxwell market anytime over Lau Pa Sat.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank mouschi1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A great hawker centre in Chinatown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Our tour stopped near by and we popped in for a quick meal. Had the best curry puffs ever. Buzzy ,clean and more food than you can eat in a lifetime. We hope to go back and explore more thoroughly. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Likegoodservive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maxwell Road Hawker Centre also viewed

 

Been to Maxwell Road Hawker Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing