We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lot of choices”

Old Airport Rd Food Centre
Ranked #11 of 10,524 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Fast food, Asian, Singaporean, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A lot of choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I thought before that food in Singapore was lack of flavor, and i was mistaken because usually i ate at food court inside a mall. So, on my last trip there i went to different hawker centre everyday. I go to this place taking a bus from orchard road, no need to change bus. The bus can take me directly to the bus stop just next to this place.
I take bus #16 from midpoint orchard opposite of orchardgateway mall.
It was saturday around 6.30 pm but few stalls i already have in mind was not open.
So i have to circling the place to find other stalls. I bought the chicken claypot rice, the stall is quite popular as they even have queuing device which can beep beep when our order is finish. But the food was tasteless which make me have to add more soy sauce and chili to add more flavor but it not helpful at all, and the rice at the bottom of the pot was already dry and hard from the long cooking. I also try laksa noodle which has better taste and it serves hot so i'm satisfied with that.
I also try Lao Ban soya beancurd for dessert, taste okay. And Wang Wang curry puff which I say don't have the kicking curry flavor.

  • Visited April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vonny I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    151
    41
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Locals delight... ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It offers a lot of food varieties in this massive hawker centre. Good selection of good local food.

Many stores having long queue. I do not recommend this place for social outing. Queue for food, queue for drinks, queue for dessert, no service. Hate the birds around too!

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

SO much choice. Love the Wang Wang Crispy Curry Puff here, as well as the oyster omelette, char kway teow and Lao Ban Tau Fa. Too much choice here, oh and the otah is pretty yummy too! Both at lunch and dinner ties, as well as breakfast, this place is absolutely buzzing!!!! Don't miss it - if you do, you're missing out!!!

  • Visited April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hungrymaomao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good traditional singapore food with local people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Although this food court is far away from the downtown, you can tried the good food when you see there is long queue, the satay and curry puff are good, the fried noodle is sweet and the seafood inside is fresh and delicious

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank 109alanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
622 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Saturday Night Dinner.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Used to stay Old Airport Road during my childhood with my family and aunts.

Last Saturday night (8 Apr 2017) took my aunts back to this hawker centre for dinner. A place that brought back lots of memories.

It was 8.05pm on a Saturday night. The hawker centre was packed with people. Mang patrons waited for seats. Queue at most stalls. Place was congested and warm. Got ouf table about 15 minutes wait.

Had these few dishes for dinner. 20 sticks of satay ($12), Rojak ($6), 5 bbq chicken wings ($6.50), 3 popiah ($4.20), cuttlefish kankong ($4).

All food were tasty except cuttlefish kankong. After dinner (about 9pm), the crowd subsided.

Enjoyed this dinner with great company. Will bring them someday again on weekday which will be less congested.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank 692linz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Airport Rd Food Centre also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Old Airport Rd Food Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing