We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Footprints Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Zenobia(Singapore)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Moon 23 Hotel(Singapore)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel 81 Dickson(Singapore)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Wanderlust(Singapore)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Perak Hotel(Singapore)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Haising Hotel(Singapore)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
The Daulat(Singapore)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mayo Inn(Singapore)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel 81 Rochor(Singapore)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveller rating
56
133
88
16
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
133
88
16
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslittle indiamrt stationmixed roomchoice of cerealsfree breakfastshared bathroomclean bathroombunk bedscomfort roomfamily roomcheap foodbugis marketsim lim squaremustafa centremin walkper daybackpackers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 307 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2011

+:
Great location in the middle of Little India, close to the MRT station and the hawker centre for excellent food.
Friendly reception staff
Free Breakfast (toast, jam, peanut butter, fruit, tea/coffee)
basic kitchen facilities
lounge with dvd player

-:
Dorms are very cramped
No space whatsover to put your bags
half of the lockers provided are broken (plus you need to bring your own padlock)
BATHROOMS.... are disgusting! funnily enough, the toilets were cleaner than the showers, but this does not surprise me:

This is how the cleaner lady works: (we stayed here for 6 nights so I bumped into her more than just once). Between 8 and 9am, when everyone is trying to have a shower and get ready, she 'cleans' the bathrooms. I got kicked out of the bathroom while I was wanting to brush my teeth so she can 'clean'. She turns the water on and hoses the floor down. THAT"s IT. There's no detergent, no scrubbing. And she only ever cleans the floor outside the shower cubicles because of course in the morning all the showers are taken, so they never get cleaned. On 3 out of 6 mornings I had to wade through ankle deep water in the shower cubicles because the cleaner never cleaned the drainage. And (sorry to say that) with mainly Asian guests there was alywas a tennis ball size lump of hair blocking the drainage.... Gross.

On 5 out of 6 days there, the WIFI didn't work. The staff knew, as everyone told them multiple times a day but nothing ever happened. Very annoying.

We only stayed there because everything else was full and if I went to Singapore again I'd probably stay at Checker's.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kornspitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

As expected, the room was set up in a "dormitory" style, which has double bunk and cushioned beds. Linens were supplied but not everyday so guests should not spoil them readily. But the room was clean. The toilet was common, not ensuite but surprisingly, always clean and supplied with ample tissues and hand soap. Bath soap, shampoo and towel were not supplied so you have to bring your own although you could rent the towel for SGD2. There was free wi-fi internet and 4 desktops with wi-fi at the lobby which were free of charge. Breakfast was also free consisting of bread, cereals, jams, peanut butter and fruits.
This hostel is ideal for backpackers and family on a tight budget, but not for family with small kids since the toilet was not ensuite.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yeye63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

The hostel sits in the heart of Little India. Have no illusions this is no 5 star hotel but for the price is fantastic. The staff are always helpful and the rooms (double with my son) are fine with aircon. The dormitories are quite tight and lockers are not huge. This is a busy place and venue so don't expect quiet noise free nights. The bathroom is regularly cleaned and the water pressure is verging on painful. Breakfast is minimal and of course you are responsible for washing up. Toast jam peanut butter, weak coffee and fruit are what I usually eat so I was happy. If you want waiter service or fine food you will hate the place. If you like mucking in and young people it's really great. Internet access is fine and free. Students and back packers come here from the 4 corners of the world. The temperature outside is high and yes it would be fair to say that there is the occasional damp smell. What makes this place great is the rooms are secure the atmosphere is friendly and you are central to the colour and life of Little India. Take the time to walk the streets and after an initial apprehension amid the bustle you will relax and enjoy its laid back chaotic ways. Cheap food abounds nearby and I have had no gastric problems afterwards. If your budget is tiny you will survive easily. If your budget is huge.... go somewhere else! I loved being 20 again for a few days. I would come back.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soph_n_jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Mixed review for this hostel. Although the location is good, i'm not sure i'd go back.

Firstly, the general cleanliness and especially that of the shower/toilet facilities is not up to scratch.

Also, perhaps I was unlucky, but during my stay there were a few issues issues;
1) Fire alarm went off repeatedly (4-5 times) during the night, and the evacuation was very haphazard and nobody took control. Also, no meantion/apology was made the following day.
2) No water for showers one morning
3) Internet via wifi is free, but frequently unavailable.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank britingermany789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

I stayed here, at the double room with twin beds (3rd floor), for 3 nights. First night, I could barely sleep because of the noise at the corridor (a man yelling on the phone all night), and the music (from pub next door?). 2nd and 3rd night, I had better sleep, but still, awaken once/twice because of the noise of other guesses that I could hear clearly, and the noise of machine/car engine outside the building. Bathroom was acceptable, but no toilet shower (kinda matter for me). Free breakfast included bread, jams, butter, cereal, milk, and fruits.

The location was quite near the bus stop, but not that close with MRT stations (kinda matter after a full day of wandering around till you couldn't feel your leg). Food are easy to find around the location, Indian foods, hawkers centers, etc. Mini market (7/11, Cheers) are within short walking distance. Bugis Street & Bugis Junction were around 10 minutes walk.

For me, nothing was really special with this place, that I will try another hostel for my next trip to Singapore.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonEdna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews