We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for traveling on a tight budget.”
Review of Footprints Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Footprints Hostel
Reviewed 21 March 2011

This is a very good place to stay in Singapore when you're traveling on a tight budget. My friends and I had a good time staying on this hostel. The bathrooms were clean, the rooms are not that spacious but very comfortable to sleep in. So far, we had a great time staying here and would probably be coming back soon. The staff are helpful as well.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xtina09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 209 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2011

+:
Great location in the middle of Little India, close to the MRT station and the hawker centre for excellent food.
Friendly reception staff
Free Breakfast (toast, jam, peanut butter, fruit, tea/coffee)
basic kitchen facilities
lounge with dvd player

-:
Dorms are very cramped
No space whatsover to put your bags
half of the lockers provided are broken (plus you need to bring your own padlock)
BATHROOMS.... are disgusting! funnily enough, the toilets were cleaner than the showers, but this does not surprise me:

This is how the cleaner lady works: (we stayed here for 6 nights so I bumped into her more than just once). Between 8 and 9am, when everyone is trying to have a shower and get ready, she 'cleans' the bathrooms. I got kicked out of the bathroom while I was wanting to brush my teeth so she can 'clean'. She turns the water on and hoses the floor down. THAT"s IT. There's no detergent, no scrubbing. And she only ever cleans the floor outside the shower cubicles because of course in the morning all the showers are taken, so they never get cleaned. On 3 out of 6 mornings I had to wade through ankle deep water in the shower cubicles because the cleaner never cleaned the drainage. And (sorry to say that) with mainly Asian guests there was alywas a tennis ball size lump of hair blocking the drainage.... Gross.

On 5 out of 6 days there, the WIFI didn't work. The staff knew, as everyone told them multiple times a day but nothing ever happened. Very annoying.

We only stayed there because everything else was full and if I went to Singapore again I'd probably stay at Checker's.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kornspitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

As expected, the room was set up in a "dormitory" style, which has double bunk and cushioned beds. Linens were supplied but not everyday so guests should not spoil them readily. But the room was clean. The toilet was common, not ensuite but surprisingly, always clean and supplied with ample tissues and hand soap. Bath soap, shampoo and towel were not supplied so you have to bring your own although you could rent the towel for SGD2. There was free wi-fi internet and 4 desktops with wi-fi at the lobby which were free of charge. Breakfast was also free consisting of bread, cereals, jams, peanut butter and fruits.
This hostel is ideal for backpackers and family on a tight budget, but not for family with small kids since the toilet was not ensuite.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yeye63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

The hostel sits in the heart of Little India. Have no illusions this is no 5 star hotel but for the price is fantastic. The staff are always helpful and the rooms (double with my son) are fine with aircon. The dormitories are quite tight and lockers are not huge. This is a busy place and venue so don't expect quiet noise free nights. The bathroom is regularly cleaned and the water pressure is verging on painful. Breakfast is minimal and of course you are responsible for washing up. Toast jam peanut butter, weak coffee and fruit are what I usually eat so I was happy. If you want waiter service or fine food you will hate the place. If you like mucking in and young people it's really great. Internet access is fine and free. Students and back packers come here from the 4 corners of the world. The temperature outside is high and yes it would be fair to say that there is the occasional damp smell. What makes this place great is the rooms are secure the atmosphere is friendly and you are central to the colour and life of Little India. Take the time to walk the streets and after an initial apprehension amid the bustle you will relax and enjoy its laid back chaotic ways. Cheap food abounds nearby and I have had no gastric problems afterwards. If your budget is tiny you will survive easily. If your budget is huge.... go somewhere else! I loved being 20 again for a few days. I would come back.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soph_n_jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Mixed review for this hostel. Although the location is good, i'm not sure i'd go back.

Firstly, the general cleanliness and especially that of the shower/toilet facilities is not up to scratch.

Also, perhaps I was unlucky, but during my stay there were a few issues issues;
1) Fire alarm went off repeatedly (4-5 times) during the night, and the evacuation was very haphazard and nobody took control. Also, no meantion/apology was made the following day.
2) No water for showers one morning
3) Internet via wifi is free, but frequently unavailable.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank britingermany789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
New Society Backpackers' Hotel
#147 of 237 in Singapore
58 reviews
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#38 of 237 in Singapore
407 reviews
Little India
Bunc Hostel
Bunc Hostel
#48 of 237 in Singapore
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travellers Loft @ Jalan Besar
#166 of 237 in Singapore
108 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#27 of 237 in Singapore
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Footprints Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Footprints Hostel

Address: 25A Perak Road Perak Court, Singapore 208136, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 237 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $15 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Footprints Backpacker Hostel - a HOME away from home! Looking for comfortable, clean and affordable accommodation in a friendly, cozy and relaxed environment? You have come to the right place. Footprints Backpacker Hostel is conveniently located right smack in the middle of the culturally rich Little India, the centre for Singapore's Indian community. This ethnic quarter is packed with interesting treasures awaiting to be discovered. Retaining much of its authentic charm and distinct identity, this district is not what you would expect of the generally rather ‘sanitized’ Singapore. It is one of the most colourful and exotic places to visit on the island. The streets are dotted with small shops and eateries and if you are a bargain-hunter, cheap-gets are aplenty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Footprints Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Footprints Hotel Singapore
Footprints Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing