We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible place”
Review of Footprints Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Footprints Hostel
Reviewed 27 November 2013

location wise too far away from mrt and bus stations. the sheets and facilities are not clean. the sofa smells like cat pee. the bed is too narrow and not comfortable. the breakfast is free...cereals, bread, pb&j. the place is too small and there are a lot of people. luggages are scattered around.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CjT6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 145 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

This hostel price is very affordable for our "low budget trip" to Singapore. The bedroom is quite comfortable and what impressed us are the very friendly and fast responses staff named Francis. He is also very helpfull and give me nice advise for our itinerary because this is my first time go to Singapore. The location also nearby MRT station, Bus Stop and the most important is very near with the 24 hours Mustafa Shopping Center. If I have chance to go to Singapore again i def. will stay in Footprints hostel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finisya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Affordable hotel with good customer service, perfect room and clean bathroom.accesible to nearest LRT Station.Ideal for family,friends business and solo trips.Good people surrounding around.A wide variety of multi choice food around the corner and a relaxing bar.Thumbs up

1  Thank Dev K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Hostel staff was so very accommodating and friendly specially sir francis, he assist us to get a van in early morning of Saturday transfer from hostel to Universal Studios and on sunday hostel to changi airport ..super thank you kuya..located between little india and bugis you can enjoy two mrt lines. good value restaurants around the hostel.Their breakfast is good, bread, coffee, flakes..Will come back again for budget staying

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maritess14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is my first time staying in backpacker hostel due to the high cost of lodging in Singapore. We are a family of six and Footprints provided us a good option compared to the sky-high prices for rooms available in 3-star hotels.

As I've always said about staying in a budget hotel or in this case, a backpacker hostel -- it's all about managing your expectations. Of course you can't expect the Marina Bay Sands when you are paying just SGD20/pax/night.

I booked our stay through the hotel's website and was just asked to pay a 10% downpayment. The rest will be paid in cash when we arrive in Singapore. Communication with the staff during booking and prior to the trip was effortless. They are efficient and prompt in answering queries. Reception is 24 hours (I guess) since we arrived at 2AM and there was still someone to check us in.

The positives:
1. Friendly staff - Francis is very efficient and answers all inquiries without hesitation. Another girl who handles the morning shift is equally friendly.

2. Near Bugis - just a ten minute walk to Bugis Market where we usually stay to pass time and eat.

3. In a nice neighborhood in the fringes of Little India.

4. A good breakfast spread which lasted from 7AM to 10AM - have your fill of toasts, bread and cereals , plus coffee, tea and an assortment of spreads free of charge. Their only request is for you to clean up after yourself so that other people can still use the plates and spoons provided to guests.

5. 24-hour check in.

6. Rest room is relatively clean - strong water, with hot and cold option, a strong flush for the toilets. I say relatively clean because it's the users usually who have a problem. They leave wet marks everywhere and do not dispose their garbage properly.


The not-so-positives
1. Sleep quality is a bit sketchy. We had the misfortune of staying through an equally raucous drinking session and it was hell. The fact that the pillows are very hard made the ordeal a bit more difficult. Just as you were nodding off to sleep, you will be interrupted by out-of-tune singing courtesy of the noisy hotel guest. Not really a fault of the place really, since they even have reminders telling guests to keep quiet by 11PM but -- this is a reminder that obviously fell into deaf ears.

2. The place is not that clean - electric fan in the room is dusty as well as the nook and crannies where you usually don't check. Bed sheets are clean though and no bed bugs!

3. There is a certain smell that lingers in the stairways.

If you are not that particular when it comes to where you stay, Footprints is still nice option. I will still recommend this hotel but I think it is more appropriate for friends traveling together instead of families.

Room Tip: Choose rooms from higher floors since I think they are quieter. We stayed at the second floor and wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luna_Shin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
New Society Backpackers' Hotel
#146 of 235 in Singapore
58 reviews
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#38 of 235 in Singapore
407 reviews
Little India
Bunc Hostel
Bunc Hostel
#48 of 235 in Singapore
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travellers Loft @ Jalan Besar
#166 of 235 in Singapore
108 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#26 of 235 in Singapore
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Footprints Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Footprints Hostel

Address: 25A Perak Road Perak Court, Singapore 208136, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 235 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $15 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Footprints Backpacker Hostel - a HOME away from home! Looking for comfortable, clean and affordable accommodation in a friendly, cozy and relaxed environment? You have come to the right place. Footprints Backpacker Hostel is conveniently located right smack in the middle of the culturally rich Little India, the centre for Singapore's Indian community. This ethnic quarter is packed with interesting treasures awaiting to be discovered. Retaining much of its authentic charm and distinct identity, this district is not what you would expect of the generally rather ‘sanitized’ Singapore. It is one of the most colourful and exotic places to visit on the island. The streets are dotted with small shops and eateries and if you are a bargain-hunter, cheap-gets are aplenty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Footprints Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Footprints Hotel Singapore
Footprints Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing