We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit unwelcoming”
Review of Footprints Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Footprints Hostel
Reviewed 4 October 2017

They clean the breakfast area 10 mins after it finishes and you get asked to leave.
Very unwarm little to no customer service.
Not enough space in common room.
No wifi in rooms - said it was fixed last month, still doesn't work.
The whole place is just generally unclean.
You have to make and return the sheets when you leave, seems like that would be included in the steep price.
Cleaners will make you feel in the way and uncomfortable
£20 dollar deposit with seems steep and inconvenient.
Unable to check in, pay and then leave for the day to just collect keys and bedding later which is irritating.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kim_Luxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Yes, it's a backpackers hostel, but you are made to feel in the way and not welcome. When eating breakfast, directly at the end of breakfast you are told to move so they can clean and they take your chair before you have even got up!
The staff are not very helpful and you are not made to feel welcome.
You make your bed yourself and are using a clean sheet, but the sheet you sleep under is re-used per guest.
There aren't enough lockers per room, nor are they a good size and some are broken.
Air con is timed and cannot be changed, so it will only be on from 7pm to 8:30am.
WiFi is abysmal and only works in the common area, even though it is advertised to be in the rooms and recently improved.
The common area is just reception which you are made to feel in the way again.
On the plus side, the showers and toilets are clean and well maintained.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Curtis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

The staffs are friendly and the check in was a breeze.
There are lights and power outlet at each bed so you can use it for yourself.
Bring along padlocks as they provides the cabinet but with no lock.
They offers toast and cereal as breakfast and there is a 24h mamak restaurant just across the road from the hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IbrahimRabani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel is very accessible to most of the attraction. It is near the Rochor MRT, about 3-5 minute walk only. The room is tidy and very quite. No issues with our roommates and everything went smoothly.

We arrived at the hotel early morning, requested if we could early check in so we can proceed with our itinerary and they allowed us which save us time on waiting for the check in.

For budget traveller, we highly recommend this property!

Thank you for making our best SG experience worth it!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Hilario P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

We stayed there for 3 days and our stay was okay. We booked a single room for 5 6 people with bunk beds. The rooms are very small and narrow in pictures you might think they are bigger. The room have an attached bathroom but we find out that the drainage was not working and on the second day we woke up and found that the bathroom is filled with drainage water. We made a complaint and the owner lady came to check only at night. We were forced to use the bathroom on another floor which was public. The owner never apologized and no refund or anything was provided. They provide free breakfast which includes bread and butter but please woke up early and get it because after 8.30 there wont be anything left,

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FootprintsHostel, General Manager at Footprints Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel.

Our apologies for the less than satisfactory experience you had with us. Unfortunately, we are unable to find a record of your stay with us from July 2017 to August 2017 based your Tripadvisor name. There is also no record of a drainage problem in any of the ensuite family rooms during this period of time on our incident and maintenance reports. Could you kindly give us your full name via private email so we can investigate further?

Our breakfast timing is from 7am to 10.30am and includes bread, peanut butter & jams and cereal with milk. Please be assured that we have always ensured that all these are topped up promptly during breakfast hours and there will always be food for all guests up till 10.30am. Our staff is always present to monitor the supplies and provide assistance as well.

We look forward to hearing from you and discussing further about your experience with us.

Best regards,
Christina Phang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
New Society Backpackers' Hotel
#144 of 241 in Singapore
59 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Travellers Loft @ Jalan Besar
#168 of 241 in Singapore
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#44 of 241 in Singapore
409 reviews
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#26 of 241 in Singapore
503 reviews
Little India
Bunc Hostel
Bunc Hostel
#48 of 241 in Singapore
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Footprints Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Footprints Hostel

Address: 25A Perak Road Perak Court, Singapore 208136, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 241 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $16 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Footprints Backpacker Hostel - a HOME away from home! Looking for comfortable, clean and affordable accommodation in a friendly, cozy and relaxed environment? You have come to the right place. Footprints Backpacker Hostel is conveniently located right smack in the middle of the culturally rich Little India, the centre for Singapore's Indian community. This ethnic quarter is packed with interesting treasures awaiting to be discovered. Retaining much of its authentic charm and distinct identity, this district is not what you would expect of the generally rather ‘sanitized’ Singapore. It is one of the most colourful and exotic places to visit on the island. The streets are dotted with small shops and eateries and if you are a bargain-hunter, cheap-gets are aplenty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Footprints Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Footprints Hotel Singapore
Footprints Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing