We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Footprints Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Zenobia(Singapore)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Moon 23 Hotel(Singapore)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel 81 Dickson(Singapore)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Wanderlust(Singapore)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Perak Hotel(Singapore)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Haising Hotel(Singapore)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
The Daulat(Singapore)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mayo Inn(Singapore)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel 81 Rochor(Singapore)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveller rating
56
133
88
16
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
133
88
16
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslittle indiamrt stationmixed roomchoice of cerealsfree breakfastshared bathroomclean bathroombunk bedscomfort roomfamily roomcheap foodbugis marketsim lim squaremustafa centremin walkper daybackpackers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 307 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Just don't stay here. It is horrible. The rooms are awful, the whole place stinks of damp, when you walk past the (disgusting and dirty) shared bathrooms reek of urine, there is a massive patch of exposed plastering on the walls, the downstairs bar blares out music until 1am. It was such a disappointment, after having been to Singapore before and stayed in a great hostel in a great city I really expected more. I feel the staff/owners should really take a bit more care/pride in the place. I have stayed in budget places all over the world and this was just a shocker.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ezziebahnezzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Pros:
- Super nice staffs that were very helpful (I had to print some documents, they helped me to do that and refused to charge me).

- Great food around the block (if you like Indian food)

- A few blocks away from SimLim Square - the largest electronic mall in Singapore, a must see for computer, electronic, photography enthusiasts.

- Free wifi. Although the signal is a bit weak on the 3rd floor.


Con:
- The hostel is conveniently located within walking distance to a few MRT stations. However, to get to the closest station - Little India Station, we had to walk pass a few hectic streets. Also, there is no direct MRT line to the CBD, although Little India Station is only one stop away from the Line 5(red), it's annoying that we had to exchange at Dhoby Ghaut to get onto Line 5 all the time.

- The shared bathrooms at the hostel lacks maintenance and need some reno. If you don't mind rusts on the wall and a mild moldy smell, it's probably not a big problem

- Hostel breakfast is very lacking - Bread+jams

- Lots of stairs without elevator (not a problem is you are traveling light). If you have a lot of luggage, make sure to ask for a room on the 2nd floor to save yourselves from breaking you back.

- The Little India area is not really reflective of the rest of Singapore in terms of standard of living. It doesn't showcase the cleanness that Singapore is known for . However if you want to get a little taste of what it's like to visit India, you've come to the right place.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cipherxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Probably the worst hostel I've stayed at, and I've been all over the world. Don't know why this gets such good reviews.

Front desk is understaffed, the bathrooms are absolutely atrocious with a horrible stench. I actually put off taking a shower for way too long because I didn't want to have to breath in the fumes in the bathroom. Lockers were extremely insecure; in fact two lockers in my room were obviously broken (into). Cannot use your own locks. Staff let in a bunch of people that shouldn't have been there - loud and with little children, running naked through the halls. Oh, and the internet is absolutely horrible - their DNS server was down 50% of the time I was there (was able to bypass using OpenDNS, but most people aren't so lucky).

To top it off, my next-to-last day I walked into a sizeable lizard crawling on the wall of my room. I immediately checked out and found a nearby hotel.

Learned a valuable lesson: When in Southeast Asia, *invest in a hotel* (it's cheap anyways).

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rubiety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

I went to Singapore last August with my family (with young and senior) and stayed at Footprints Hostel for 4 days. It is situated at Little India with about 5-10 minute walk to the MRT station, 5-10 minute walk to Mustafa centre, Bugis street and about 5-minute walk to Sim Lim Square. We took the family room which is good for 5 people and was very satisfied with its coziness considering its price. The room has AC and is clean, comfortable and wide. Even the shared comfort room is OK. Hot and cold showers are there, hair blowers (for ladies) and fans. Complimentary breakfast such as bread with different jams, cereals, milk, coffee and tea are also served from 7AM-10AM. They even have 4 desktop PCs with internet in the lobby that are free to use by its guests. Wide screen TV with sofa are there too and a bulletin with tips about getting around Singapore. Moreover, they also provide tour arrangements/transfers such as going to Singapore zoo, Malaysia, Night Safari and even airport transfer to their guests. Just ask for an arrangement a day or two before your planned trip and it will be all set. The best thing about it, the address is familiar to cab drivers. Since we have a senior with us, we often take the cab and just say 'Dickson Road' and drivers know it already. We really enjoyed our stay. Staffs are great, very helpful and honest. If you are on a budget but still want to feel the convenience of traveling, consider this hostel!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfernand3z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

In a great location in Little India, this hostel was nice and clean and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are a little small but definitely adequate and while the a/c was good, the in-room wifi went in and out. The shared bathrooms were ok and clean. The shower stalls were decent sized and the water pressure was good. The atmosphere was very nice with a good couch/tv area downstairs, a large eating area, and nicely painted walls with fun décor. The breakfast was very basic with just toast, peanut butter, jam, and cereal. The staff were extremely accommodating and helped us with every question and problem we had. Overall, it seemed a bit pricey and had a backpacker atmosphere but compared to other places in Singapore, you probably won’t find a much better hostel or a much better deal.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillerThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews