We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Decent place to stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Footprints Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Footprints Hostel
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Decent place to stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

We stayed at this hostel for 1 night on 18th October, 2010.
We found the place to be clean, quite and comfy for a nights stay.
We got clean bedsheets and blankets. The shared bathrooms - separate for
men and women - were basic but clean.

Location is also close to an MRT (Little India). However, the directions that I got from my hostelworld booking were inadequate and we had a tough time finding the place the first time.

We reached around 10am , while check in time is 2pm. they let us keep our bags in the reception area and use the ground floor bathroom to freshen up. The staff was helpful.
Breakfast was cereals with cold/hot milk, toast, jam, butter and fruits. you had to wash your own dishes after you were done. Free 20 mins of internet on PC daily, free 24 hrs wi-fi, big screen TV.
Reception area is a lil smallish and can get full of bags, but it lends a cozy feel. Breakfast can be had inside or even outside the hotel in the porch area. which on a nice sunny day seemed like a great idea!

Lot of Indian food options closeby, heaven for us vegetarian Indians :-)
A pub or two, in one of the other hostels, is also nearby. Though we hardly had time to explore the area fully.

The interiors are brightly painted, making the hostel look cheerful.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kingofinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    122
    82
    14
    12
See reviews for
30
36
67
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Worthing
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

Just don't stay here. It is horrible. The rooms are awful, the whole place stinks of damp, when you walk past the (disgusting and dirty) shared bathrooms reek of urine, there is a massive patch of exposed plastering on the walls, the downstairs bar blares out music until 1am. It was such a disappointment, after having been to Singapore before and stayed in a great hostel in a great city I really expected more. I feel the staff/owners should really take a bit more care/pride in the place. I have stayed in budget places all over the world and this was just a shocker.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezziebahnezzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

Pros:
- Super nice staffs that were very helpful (I had to print some documents, they helped me to do that and refused to charge me).

- Great food around the block (if you like Indian food)

- A few blocks away from SimLim Square - the largest electronic mall in Singapore, a must see for computer, electronic, photography enthusiasts.

- Free wifi. Although the signal is a bit weak on the 3rd floor.


Con:
- The hostel is conveniently located within walking distance to a few MRT stations. However, to get to the closest station - Little India Station, we had to walk pass a few hectic streets. Also, there is no direct MRT line to the CBD, although Little India Station is only one stop away from the Line 5(red), it's annoying that we had to exchange at Dhoby Ghaut to get onto Line 5 all the time.

- The shared bathrooms at the hostel lacks maintenance and need some reno. If you don't mind rusts on the wall and a mild moldy smell, it's probably not a big problem

- Hostel breakfast is very lacking - Bread+jams

- Lots of stairs without elevator (not a problem is you are traveling light). If you have a lot of luggage, make sure to ask for a room on the 2nd floor to save yourselves from breaking you back.

- The Little India area is not really reflective of the rest of Singapore in terms of standard of living. It doesn't showcase the cleanness that Singapore is known for . However if you want to get a little taste of what it's like to visit India, you've come to the right place.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cipherxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

Probably the worst hostel I've stayed at, and I've been all over the world. Don't know why this gets such good reviews.

Front desk is understaffed, the bathrooms are absolutely atrocious with a horrible stench. I actually put off taking a shower for way too long because I didn't want to have to breath in the fumes in the bathroom. Lockers were extremely insecure; in fact two lockers in my room were obviously broken (into). Cannot use your own locks. Staff let in a bunch of people that shouldn't have been there - loud and with little children, running naked through the halls. Oh, and the internet is absolutely horrible - their DNS server was down 50% of the time I was there (was able to bypass using OpenDNS, but most people aren't so lucky).

To top it off, my next-to-last day I walked into a sizeable lizard crawling on the wall of my room. I immediately checked out and found a nearby hotel.

Learned a valuable lesson: When in Southeast Asia, *invest in a hotel* (it's cheap anyways).

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubiety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

I went to Singapore last August with my family (with young and senior) and stayed at Footprints Hostel for 4 days. It is situated at Little India with about 5-10 minute walk to the MRT station, 5-10 minute walk to Mustafa centre, Bugis street and about 5-minute walk to Sim Lim Square. We took the family room which is good for 5 people and was very satisfied with its coziness considering its price. The room has AC and is clean, comfortable and wide. Even the shared comfort room is OK. Hot and cold showers are there, hair blowers (for ladies) and fans. Complimentary breakfast such as bread with different jams, cereals, milk, coffee and tea are also served from 7AM-10AM. They even have 4 desktop PCs with internet in the lobby that are free to use by its guests. Wide screen TV with sofa are there too and a bulletin with tips about getting around Singapore. Moreover, they also provide tour arrangements/transfers such as going to Singapore zoo, Malaysia, Night Safari and even airport transfer to their guests. Just ask for an arrangement a day or two before your planned trip and it will be all set. The best thing about it, the address is familiar to cab drivers. Since we have a senior with us, we often take the cab and just say 'Dickson Road' and drivers know it already. We really enjoyed our stay. Staffs are great, very helpful and honest. If you are on a budget but still want to feel the convenience of traveling, consider this hostel!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfernand3z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
The InnCrowd Hostel
The InnCrowd Hostel
#63 of 220 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Little India
Bunc Hostel
Bunc Hostel
#39 of 220 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
New Society Backpackers' Hotel
#165 of 220 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#36 of 220 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#10 of 220 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Rucksack Inn @ Lavender
#31 of 220 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Footprints Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Footprints Hostel

Property: Footprints Hostel
Address: 25A Perak Road Perak Court, Singapore 208136, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 220 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price range (per night): $20 - $129
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Footprints Backpacker Hostel - a HOME away from home! Looking for comfortable, clean and affordable accommodation in a friendly, cozy and relaxed environment? You have come to the right place. Footprints Backpacker Hostel is conveniently located right smack in the middle of the culturally rich Little India, the centre for Singapore's Indian community. This ethnic quarter is packed with interesting treasures awaiting to be discovered. Retaining much of its authentic charm and distinct identity, this district is not what you would expect of the generally rather ‘sanitized’ Singapore. It is one of the most colourful and exotic places to visit on the island. The streets are dotted with small shops and eateries and if you are a bargain-hunter, cheap-gets are aplenty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Footprints Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Footprints Hotel Singapore
Footprints Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing