We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$202
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$240
US$228
Conrad
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore(Singapore)
US$294
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$228/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Changi Airport(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$190
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mandarin Orchard Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$227
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$268
US$220
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Marina Mandarin Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$195
US$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$619
US$431
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
205
135
29
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
135
29
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstemple streetmrt stationbed dormclarke quayair confree breakfaststayed here for nightshostelchinatownroommatestoilet2minsplugindonesiahawker
Filter
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 380 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Arrival:
We have no trouble searching for this place. Follow the instruction from their official website. We took MRT from airport and change line twice.

Check in:
We were welcomed with 2 glasses of cold water, just what we needed! Our room wasn't ready so we left our luggage and the staff showed us around and explained what needed to be explained but she spoke so slow that we could hardly hear, but it wasn't rocket science so we could guess what she was trying to explain. Staffs were friendly.

Facilities:
Very comfy common room with 2 computer and free internet (and wifi). They have Wii, PS and DVD to watch. Everything is clean. But one of the shower has problem with water pressure. Breakfast provided: bread, butter and jam. Washing machine and dryer provided too.

Room:
We booked twin private room. It was comfortable but I didn't like the smell of the room. Probabyly came from the candle they put in our room. I could hear every sound coming from outside which bothered me.

Location:
Most of everything within walking distance. We also took bus and MRT to some places. Many restaurants at clark quay. Location wise I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elyysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We had a stop-over of 4 nights and we stayed here. The hostel was very very clean, the staff was cleaning all the time! You had to put your shoes off when you wanted to enter, so that also made it more clean. Toilets and showers were really clean and the staff is very nice. The beds are comfy, no bed bugs and it's very quiet at night, even if you're in the dorm. Clarke Quay is on walking distance, where you can have a drink at night and walk around.MRT Clarke Quay is also nearby, so you can discover Singapore easily by MRT. Chinatown is around the corner, were you can walk around, do some shopping and eat lovely meals. I would definitively stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marrigje19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Nice place to stay for not so big money. Place is very clean (no shoes inside), wifi is in hole hostel. For breakfast you can get some toasts, jam, milk, cafe etc. Rooms are conditioned not for hole day i think and during night some windows are open (I could hear some really not disturbing street noice).

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank art-sad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

we stayed for free nights in the rucksack inn, the location is central and the facilities at the hostel are really top notch and the staff are friendly and try to get eveyone involved in drinking games and to socialise which is nice - there is also free tea, coffee and filtered water and toast with spreads available all day - which is excellent for us backpackers!
The only problem we had was we booked a private 4 bed dorm which was decorated nicely and had a scented candle in the room which set the oriental theme - BUT when the candle ran out the smell of damp was immense and it was not helped by the fact the room did not have any windows. We informed the staff and they said they would get somebody to service the air conditioner the next day which was fine with us. By the next morning the room was damp and so where our clothes and bedding! so we decided to head out for the day. When we returned they said the air conditioner had been serviced but the problem still remained - they offered to wash and dry all of our clothes for free (there where 4 of us so this was quite a lot of stuff) so we agreed and everything was fine until the morning we left!
The staff said they would book a taxi for us for 7am but it didn't happen and the night receptionist told us to go out onto the streets and look for one! We where pushed for time to make an early flight, luckily the Singapore metro is that reliable we where able to get the train and make it on time.

Room Tip: My advise book the dorm room - there are a lot of beds but it has windows
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daviddwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Stayed at rucksack inn 2. Can't really fault anything. Rooms are so clean, doors close without a sound, bunks that don't creak as you get into/out of them. Air con is guest operated so no complaints there. Staff are so professional and helpful, toilets and showers work like a charm and so clean. Plus the obligatory - as this day and age practically requires! - free Internet and wifi. Fantastic couple of days would reccommend to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Starletangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews