We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hostel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2011

The hostel was clean and the staff were fantastic, they couldn't do enough to help me. Would def recommend this hostel. Felt very safe, great location!! Would certainly stay again!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bRiAnA847780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 261 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2011

Arrival:
We have no trouble searching for this place. Follow the instruction from their official website. We took MRT from airport and change line twice.

Check in:
We were welcomed with 2 glasses of cold water, just what we needed! Our room wasn't ready so we left our luggage and the staff showed us around and explained what needed to be explained but she spoke so slow that we could hardly hear, but it wasn't rocket science so we could guess what she was trying to explain. Staffs were friendly.

Facilities:
Very comfy common room with 2 computer and free internet (and wifi). They have Wii, PS and DVD to watch. Everything is clean. But one of the shower has problem with water pressure. Breakfast provided: bread, butter and jam. Washing machine and dryer provided too.

Room:
We booked twin private room. It was comfortable but I didn't like the smell of the room. Probabyly came from the candle they put in our room. I could hear every sound coming from outside which bothered me.

Location:
Most of everything within walking distance. We also took bus and MRT to some places. Many restaurants at clark quay. Location wise I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elyysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We had a stop-over of 4 nights and we stayed here. The hostel was very very clean, the staff was cleaning all the time! You had to put your shoes off when you wanted to enter, so that also made it more clean. Toilets and showers were really clean and the staff is very nice. The beds are comfy, no bed bugs and it's very quiet at night, even if you're in the dorm. Clarke Quay is on walking distance, where you can have a drink at night and walk around.MRT Clarke Quay is also nearby, so you can discover Singapore easily by MRT. Chinatown is around the corner, were you can walk around, do some shopping and eat lovely meals. I would definitively stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marrigje19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Nice place to stay for not so big money. Place is very clean (no shoes inside), wifi is in hole hostel. For breakfast you can get some toasts, jam, milk, cafe etc. Rooms are conditioned not for hole day i think and during night some windows are open (I could hear some really not disturbing street noice).

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank art-sad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

we stayed for free nights in the rucksack inn, the location is central and the facilities at the hostel are really top notch and the staff are friendly and try to get eveyone involved in drinking games and to socialise which is nice - there is also free tea, coffee and filtered water and toast with spreads available all day - which is excellent for us backpackers!
The only problem we had was we booked a private 4 bed dorm which was decorated nicely and had a scented candle in the room which set the oriental theme - BUT when the candle ran out the smell of damp was immense and it was not helped by the fact the room did not have any windows. We informed the staff and they said they would get somebody to service the air conditioner the next day which was fine with us. By the next morning the room was damp and so where our clothes and bedding! so we decided to head out for the day. When we returned they said the air conditioner had been serviced but the problem still remained - they offered to wash and dry all of our clothes for free (there where 4 of us so this was quite a lot of stuff) so we agreed and everything was fine until the morning we left!
The staff said they would book a taxi for us for 7am but it didn't happen and the night receptionist told us to go out onto the streets and look for one! We where pushed for time to make an early flight, luckily the Singapore metro is that reliable we where able to get the train and make it on time.

Room Tip: My advise book the dorm room - there are a lot of beds but it has windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daviddwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#42 of 247 in Singapore
413 reviews
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#35 of 247 in Singapore
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Footprints Hostel
Footprints Hostel
#63 of 247 in Singapore
307 reviews
Joo Chiat
Betel Box Hostel
Betel Box Hostel
#24 of 247 in Singapore
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown

Address: 52 Temple Street, Singapore 058597, Singapore (Formerly Beds and Dreams Hostel Temple Street)
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 247 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: S$24 - S$206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rucksack Hotel Singapore
Beds And Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing