We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm conviced they are still undesputed #1”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Dont let looks decieve you. Not even the strairs. Once you enter inside Rucksack Inn 1, you will feel welcome in an instant. It's like an extensiion of your own home.
I feel bad I learbed about this place just now. I wasnt aware that there are better places than the ones I (we) used to spend overnight transits in singapore.
My sleep was amazing. Staff were helpful and attentive.

Room Tip: Book online to get the online rates and book in advance as the beds get filled up especially on publ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mervinmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 247 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2011

The dorm rooms are clean and everyone is very respectul. The common area had a great backpackers atmosphere with modern comfy furniture and several computers with Internet that you can use for free. The staff is helpful and there is also free toast,tea and coffee all day. The location was also close to transit, shopping, restaurants, the waterfront and Chinatown.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moderatetraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The location was great. The room was very clean. And they kept the AC running at night so it was cool and dry in the room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. And, yeah, a Singapore Sling at the Long Bar would set you back more than a night's stay at the Rucksack Inn.

The only only inconvenience was that I had a morning flight out of Singapore and had to wake up around 7am. The room is kept pretty dark so it was difficult trying to pack while not waking the others around me. But hey, this comes with the territory of staying in a backpacker's inn.

This is not a place for those who need the privacy that comes with having your own room, but it doesn't try to cater to that crowd. I would definitely recommend this place to my friends backpacker friends!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Botayone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Great location, very near to MRT (Clarke Quay), near to Central (a mall, mostly for eat and dine), near to bus stop with a lot of buses to explore the city and surroundings; to Orchard, Bugis, Funan, City Hall,... you name it! :)
I was staying in Rucksack Inn 2. Very happy staying there although I must have walked quite a lot of stairs to the room :P however, the place was very neat, tidy and full of facilities. TV cable, wifi, towel,... and mostly the toilets. They were clean and looked grand.
I also liked the security system, mostly because I stayed here alone. There would be no strangers could come to the room without the front office noticing. The front door would be closed and could not be opened by the card they gave me after 10pm. You must ring the bell to let them open the door for you.
The guys and the ladies in front office were very helpful and very friendly. Want to enjoy Singapore more practically? Just stay here. You won't regret! :)

Room Tip: If you travel in a group, just choose the dorms. They were great too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gabywhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Great location, MRT line a few minutes away. Very clean, friendly staff. We stayed in the 28 bed dorm which I was slightly concerned about but had a great nights sleep with an enforced lights out/quiet policy at 10.30pm aiding this. Dorm is also split in half with lockers lining the centre of the room so the dorm doesn't feel as big. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#42 of 247 in Singapore
413 reviews
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#35 of 247 in Singapore
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Footprints Hostel
Footprints Hostel
#63 of 247 in Singapore
307 reviews
Joo Chiat
Betel Box Hostel
Betel Box Hostel
#24 of 247 in Singapore
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown

Address: 52 Temple Street, Singapore 058597, Singapore (Formerly Beds and Dreams Hostel Temple Street)
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 247 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $24 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rucksack Hotel Singapore
Beds And Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing