We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$206
Conrad
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$238/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$251
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore(Singapore)
US$279
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$225/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Changi Airport(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$208
US$175
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mandarin Orchard Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$223
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$467
US$220
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$257/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Marina Mandarin Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$194
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$117
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$638
US$454
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
205
135
29
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
135
29
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstemple streetmrt stationbed dormclarke quayair confree breakfaststayed here for nightshostelchinatownroommatestoilet2minsplugindonesiahawker
Filter
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 380 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2011

The dorm rooms are clean and everyone is very respectul. The common area had a great backpackers atmosphere with modern comfy furniture and several computers with Internet that you can use for free. The staff is helpful and there is also free toast,tea and coffee all day. The location was also close to transit, shopping, restaurants, the waterfront and Chinatown.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moderatetraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The location was great. The room was very clean. And they kept the AC running at night so it was cool and dry in the room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. And, yeah, a Singapore Sling at the Long Bar would set you back more than a night's stay at the Rucksack Inn.

The only only inconvenience was that I had a morning flight out of Singapore and had to wake up around 7am. The room is kept pretty dark so it was difficult trying to pack while not waking the others around me. But hey, this comes with the territory of staying in a backpacker's inn.

This is not a place for those who need the privacy that comes with having your own room, but it doesn't try to cater to that crowd. I would definitely recommend this place to my friends backpacker friends!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Botayone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Great location, very near to MRT (Clarke Quay), near to Central (a mall, mostly for eat and dine), near to bus stop with a lot of buses to explore the city and surroundings; to Orchard, Bugis, Funan, City Hall,... you name it! :)
I was staying in Rucksack Inn 2. Very happy staying there although I must have walked quite a lot of stairs to the room :P however, the place was very neat, tidy and full of facilities. TV cable, wifi, towel,... and mostly the toilets. They were clean and looked grand.
I also liked the security system, mostly because I stayed here alone. There would be no strangers could come to the room without the front office noticing. The front door would be closed and could not be opened by the card they gave me after 10pm. You must ring the bell to let them open the door for you.
The guys and the ladies in front office were very helpful and very friendly. Want to enjoy Singapore more practically? Just stay here. You won't regret! :)

Room Tip: If you travel in a group, just choose the dorms. They were great too!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gabywhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Great location, MRT line a few minutes away. Very clean, friendly staff. We stayed in the 28 bed dorm which I was slightly concerned about but had a great nights sleep with an enforced lights out/quiet policy at 10.30pm aiding this. Dorm is also split in half with lockers lining the centre of the room so the dorm doesn't feel as big. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Got the airport shuttle to the hostel and it drops you off right outside the door.
There are 2 rucksack inns on the same street, make sure you tell the driver which one.
2 flights of stairs and no lift
No shoes can be worn inside the hostel
Stayed in the double room (Orchid room) proves to be noisy
First time we have stayed in a hostel and shared the bathroom and toilets. Couldn't fault it everywhere was always clean.
2 showers and 2 toilets for the whole hostel, but only had to wait a couple of times, if you time your run right you are ok
Shared kitchen facilities, use of microwave, toaster, fridge and water machine.
Lived off toast and jam whilst we were there
Free use of wi-fi throughout the hostel
3 computers in the communal area that are free to use.
Luggage room is free to use if you have to check out of your room.
Air con in the rooms which is an absolute must in Singapore! Do not book a hostel without it!
Good Location to Clarke Quay - lots of restaurants to choose from
Walking distance to Marina Bay, which is good in the day and the night
Overall we had a great stay in this hostel and would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LKPAA25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews