We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bog-standard, overpriced, not authentic, unhygienic”

Newton Hawker Centre
Ranked #547 of 13,777 Restaurants in Singapore
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Newton Circus
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Any shopping mall food court offers better value than this dump! Despite being heavily promoted by the STB, this crummy food centre is not truly representative of SG food. Even Lau Pa Sat is better than this.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank jeremyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

242 - 246 of 810 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2016

Many, many years ago, the hawker centre was at the Orchard Road in front of Cold Storage supermarkets. It still has a similar vibe. Chinese, Malay, seafood.... Clean and true food. A definite must visit!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Janssen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

We recently revisited this hawker centre on a trip to Singapore. Granted it was a Friday night but boy were we shocked with the crowds. We could not find a seat anywhere and spent twenty minutes looking for two seats. Once you find your seat, you can proceed to order your food. We had satay and I had to have the spicy stingray. My husband had nasi goring and it was all fine. I have to say the place was super busy and we waited longer than usual for our food. It was definitely an experience and was good to eat at this long standing Singaporean institution. I would recommend not going on a Friday night unless you are in early as it was crazy! It's also very cheap and I would also suggest pinning the seafood stalls down to a price before ordering. Some of them don't have menus with prices on them and I think this is a bit risky customers.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank lizs15
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

You may find this place cheap and value for money while gathering with friends. I usually have beers with friends after work here. However, for seafood lover, remember to ensure the prices before you ordering. Some seafood stalls will charge foreigner higher prices. They open till late night so it's a great place after late work.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank mysteryviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

This was not the cheapest hawker centre we encountered but it was a winner. All the dishes we tried were great. We will be back!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Newton Hawker Centre also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Newton Hawker Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.