We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
18
52
43
21
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
18
52
43
21
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews orchard road chinese group chinese guests a bit tired the hotel staff little india changi airport mrt taxis shopping kettle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed four nights on business; the location was convenient due to proximity of MRT and bus stop. The plus point is that it is near United Square (7 min walk) & Novena Square (a longer walk due to Thomson Rd crossing). You can find all the food & shopping you want though they are not like the malls on Orchard. The room was spacious and had nice work desk, two arm chairs and coffee table (classic oriental rose-wood style). The bed had a good mattress and nice beddings. The TV was good and has many channels. The wifi isn't free and there wasn't any drawers for clothes. The bathroom could be a bit bigger and needs a bit of maintenance service. We didn't go to any restaurants and didn't have time to use any facilities; there is a self-service launderette on level 4. We had a good deal for 4 nights on last minute promo price. On noise/sleep, we had to re-select a room to face Newton Rd; the first one we had (Room 1206) was facing direction Newton circus, which should be avoided as there was construction noise in the day time.

Room tip: Any room facing Newton Rd (front)
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmanuel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed this hotel many times Close to all facilities, transport shopping Friendly helpful staff especially consierge Abdul recommend to any mid-range budget traveller Only drawback seems to have an influx of ladies of dubious character after midnight Not really recommended for prudish travleller

Date of stay: December 2011
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank pharolind
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 August 2012

If you are looking for 4 or 5 star hotel this is not the place for you. but if you are looking for a comfortable place to stay that is an easy taxi ride to everywhere this is a good place to stay. there is a bus stop right out front of the hotel and an easy walk to to two shopping centres and the train station. If you are looking for fast food outlets or some nice little bars and restiraunts there are plenty close at hand within easy walking distance. In the shopping centre with McDonalds at it there is a resturaunt called Jacks Place well with going too great food and friendly staff and resonably priced. The rooms are quite large and comfortable but they are dated. The bar fridge prices are very reasonable the bed is large and compfortable and I found the staff helpful and friendly.All in all as long as you are not expecting anything flash a good reasonable priced hotel to stay in. I recomend it to people who are not to fussy and are looking for a bed to sleep on and and easy access to all the Singapore have to offer, But again if you are looking for a up market hotel this is not the place for you. My wife and I would have no problem staying there again.

Room tip: ask for delux room and late check out if you need it
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stevewainwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My daughter stayed here recently as part of a sports tour group. Prior to the trip we'd been alarmed at TA reports of a brothel on the second floor and a hostess bar in the basement frequented by "decrepit Chinese gentlemen tourists" entertaining young girls, but we were assured by the organisers that the "VIP lounge" (euphemisms abound) had been closed and the hotel was safe and respectable. Absolutely not so. Plenty of lone, inappropriately dressed young women were to be spotted making a beeline for the second floor, and the basement lounge was thriving.

Consistent with the general tenor of the hotel, the rooms were also filthy - the worst my daughter has ever stayed in, and she's experienced plenty, from the cheap and cheerful to the very luxurious. Having checked in and been shown an ancient video in broken English on fire safety, they went to their dark and damp-smelling room, with its repulsively filthy curtains. The bathrooms had no ventilation and flooded easily, though the water was hot. The bedlinen was stained and badly in need of replacing, as were the towels and the carpeting. My daughter and her room-mates wore their own flip-flops in the bathroom, used their own towels, and my daughter fortunately had a sleeping bag liner with her so she slept in that.

The breakfast consisted of deep fried prawns, dumplings, rice, soggy hash browns, rotis, stale fruit loops and bowls of tinned fruit in iced water, all a bit risky so the toast was the safest option.

The pool wasn't too bad, fairly clean, and the leaves in it on the first day had been cleaned out by the second.

All in all an awful place, little wonder one honeymooning reviewer wept when she saw her room. My daughter asked if I could give it no stars. I said no, I had to give it one. What, not even half a star, she replied. Definitely the lowlight of an otherwise great trip. You have been warned.

Room tip: The only way you'd get a good room is by booking ELSEWHERE.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MancMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Excellent value with a Singapore stopover deal. Nice hotel. All the amenities, of the more expensive hotels. Reception excellent, with knowledge for bus(at door) or train(5 mins), to get you around to attractions. A way out, but with transport, not a problem. Beds were comfortable, rooms were spacious. Had all the shampoos, etc. In a quiet area of Singapore

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlene403
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews