We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for 'modern' children”

Mint Museum of Toys
Book In Advance
More Info
US$120.20*
and up
5-Day Singapore City Pass: Night Tour, Marina Bay Tour and Universal Studios...
Ranked #117 of 822 things to do in Singapore
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Young or old, if you’re a fan of toys then you are in for a treat at the Mint Museum. It boasts a world-class toy collection consolidated from more than 25 countries. It’s the perfect place for an avid toys fan collector.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not for 'modern' children”
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

We visited with our 7 year old son and found the whole place rather underwhelming. By Singapore standards the entrance fee is not expensive (S$15 for adults, S$7.50 for children), but even at that price we didn't feel we received value for money.

There are exhibits spread across a number of floors, however not very much of interest to our son. In fact, I would suggest that the museum may be of more interest to serious toy collectors, and also seniors revisiting toys from their younger days (I'm not so young (!), but there was little there from my childhood in the 1970s). Personally, the selection of memorabilia relating to The Beatles was interesting, as were some 1960s James Bond cars etc., but overall we left disappointed.

Main advice would be to think twice if planning a trip for young children, as many of the exhibits would not mean anything to them, and certainly would not measure up to the toys they have today.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aishisham, Marketing Executive at Mint Museum of Toys, responded to this review, 7 February 2017
Dear Marc S,

Thank you so much for visiting the museum and for taking the time to leave us a review.

We're sorry to hear that your experience at the museum was disappointing. MINT Museum of Toys does house a collection of vintage toys and collectables from the 1840s to 1970s, which is a stark comparison to many modern toys today.

We do believe, however, that these vintage toys have much to say and that there's a huge potential to connect with younger generations, who will be next in line to carry forward the history and stories of these toys from the past. As part of our efforts to reach out to younger audiences, we have introduced our workshop and tour series, MAKE+PLAY, which focuses on introducing the collection to children in a fun and interactive way, at the same time, giving them the opportunity to learn a new skill and to express their creativity.

We hope your little will be able to join us for one of the MAKE+PLAY programmes, which you can find out more about on our website. In any case, I hope he had fun at MINT shop and managed to find a toy he enjoys playing with.

We do hope to see you and your family again. Until then, thank you again for your review and we wish you a lovely week ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    72
    52
    13
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Outstanding toy museum”
Reviewed 3 February 2017

No visit to Singapore is complete without a visit this toy museum.What a gem,lots of tin plate,featuring famous cartoon characters,all recognisable and most memorable.There is something here for all people with fond memories of toys and iconic characters.Make a beeline for this venue and you will not be disappointed,surely a highlight for any visit to Singapore.

Visited February 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank 16MAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aishisham, Marketing Executive at Mint Museum of Toys, responded to this review, 6 February 2017
Dear 16MAC,

Thank you very much for taking the time to visit the museum and for the stellar review.

MINT Museum of Toys carries a wide range of toys and collectables, including tin boxes, which, as you are right to mention, feature many famous and classic cartoon characters. We hope you had the chance to visit the Enamel Sign Gallery for the museum's collection of original enamel advertising signs too, as well as the MINT Shop to bring home your very own tin toy.

In any case, there's always next time and we'd be more than happy to welcome you back to Singapore and the museum for another visit, and more toys!

Should you like to receive updates and news from MINT Museum of Toys, please do not hesitate to subscribe to our mailing list, which can be accessed on our website.

Until then, thank you again and we wish you a great week ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So many toys.”
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Opposite raffles hotel can be found the Mint toy museum which covers 5 floors and has the most amazing selection of old toys in excellent condition. Toilets are very good and there is also a cafe on site. Start at the top floor and work your way down.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Duncan60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aishisham, Marketing Executive at Mint Museum of Toys, responded to this review, 6 February 2017
Dear Duncan60,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, and we're glad to hear that you enjoyed the collection of toys.

Most of our toys are indeed in mint condition, hence the title of the museum, MINT Museum of Toys. Although MINT, primarily functions as an acronym for Moment of Imagination and Nostalgia with toys, to highlight our mission as museum which encourages visitors to experience their very own moment of imagination and nostalgia with our collection of vintage toys.

We do hope you'll visit us again sometime soon.

Until then, we wish you a lovely week ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great for toy nerds!”
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Really something different. 5 floors of a well curated private collection of some truly collectible items. Some reviews will whinge about the low lighting but light damage would destroy such a collection - flash photography more than compensates. A great step back in time and the quality of some of the toys was a reminder of a time when craftspeople did this, not machines and die cast molds. Highlight - the incredibly creepy Mickey Mouse toys and a crude chewbacca (in box) doll without a modicum of sophistication.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Shane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It keeps me coming back and back again.”
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

This the 3rd time for me to visit this place again. I like it so much because the collection is very well organised, maintained and rare to find anywhere. Only old toys were displayed in there. The place has 5 floors and also has different sections on each level. They displays are also changed every several months, so you will see different collections every time. The ticket is 15 Singapore dollar for adults and 7,5 dollar for children.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Jodie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mint Museum of Toys also viewed

 

Been to Mint Museum of Toys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing