We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“toys smagosboard”

Mint Museum of Toys
Book In Advance
More Info
US$120.20*
and up
5-Day Singapore City Pass: Night Tour, Marina Bay Tour and Universal Studios...
Ranked #117 of 822 things to do in Singapore
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Young or old, if you’re a fan of toys then you are in for a treat at the Mint Museum. It boasts a world-class toy collection consolidated from more than 25 countries. It’s the perfect place for an avid toys fan collector.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
898 reviews
537 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 590 helpful votes
“toys smagosboard”
Reviewed 7 March 2017

if you're into toys and collectibles, this is the spot to be. Filled with collectibles from all sort of toys, comic genres, every adult will find its inner kids. The large selection in the small store is pretty interesting. lots of photo opps.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank JuiTeoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    72
    52
    13
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Mint Museum of Toys”
Reviewed 2 March 2017

This was on my bucket list last year when I visited. I have been unable to post pictures of my last few reviews. This was the work of one man, and has surely the best collection of Tin Plate, plus loads more cool stuff including the suoerhero of the 50's DAN DARE.

Next door to RAFFLES.... please visit this, you will not be disappointed

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernest C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aishisham, Marketing Executive at Mint Museum of Toys, responded to this review, 8 March 2017
Dear Ernest C,

We're chuffed to hear that MINT Museum of Toys was on your bucket list and that you managed to cross that off your list (yay!).

Thank you for the wonderful view and the recommendation. We're glad to hear you had a wonderful time appreciating the collection on display.

The current exhibits make up only 10% of the collection and we're hoping to share more with visitors. Do look out for our quarterly exhibition as well as monthly featured exhibits to view and learn more about the vintage toys within our collection. Follow our facebook page @mintmuseumoftoys or subscribe to our mailing list to receive updates!

Thank you again and we hope to see you again very soon. Until then, have a great week ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Place not to be missed if you love collectables, vintage old school Toys”
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Great place for collectors of Toys, not much interactive for kids, but its a great eye opener regards to the type of toys that kids played with those days, lots of history to learn from these toys, you will be surprised. Its a must see if you are in town and have at least an hour to spare.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank RonChristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aishisham, Marketing Executive at Mint Museum of Toys, responded to this review, 8 March 2017
Dear RonChristian,

Thank you for visiting the museum and for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad you found your visit fruitful.

With over 8000 toys on display ranging from 1840's to 1970's, there is certainly a lot to take home, from the type of toys played with in the past to the history behind them. We hope you managed to find some of our rare and one-of-a-kind toys like the Mickey Mouse Hurdy Gurdy and the Alice Doll.

Of course, we also hope you left with a tin toy souvenir of your own from MINT Shop to add to your collection.

You're always most welcome to visit again. We hope to see you soon and until then, here's wishing you a great week ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“History through Toys”
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Having the opportunity to visit The MINT Museum of Toys was actually surprisingly fun and eye-opening. It is fun exploring history through toys. Even after spending 2 hours there, I'm confident we didn't get to see everything but we certainly had a great time nonetheless. It could be slightly improved if there was an enthusiastic guide to bring us around or some kind of audio tour to fully appreciate some of the toys. A word for parents: You might think "toys" means "children" but I don't think young children would enjoy the place as everything is valuable locked up in display cases or  comes with "a restraining order". It is still a museum afterall.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank undersgsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aishisham, Marketing Executive at Mint Museum of Toys, responded to this review, 8 March 2017
Dear undersgsun,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad to hear you had a fantastic time at the museum!

There certainly is a lot to see here, with over 8,000 toys on display, one visit is simply not enough. We do have to agree though that the experience can be made more enjoyable, if not more educational, with a guide. We do offer complimentary tours every Wednesday at 3:30pm and on other days, visitors can opt to include a guided tour with their visit.

Do come down for one of our late-night exhibitions, Guerrilla, which takes place on every last Saturday of the month for a chance to view more exhibits and take part in some activities. We do hope to see you again and until then, have a lovely week ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not for 'modern' children”
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

We visited with our 7 year old son and found the whole place rather underwhelming. By Singapore standards the entrance fee is not expensive (S$15 for adults, S$7.50 for children), but even at that price we didn't feel we received value for money.

There are exhibits spread across a number of floors, however not very much of interest to our son. In fact, I would suggest that the museum may be of more interest to serious toy collectors, and also seniors revisiting toys from their younger days (I'm not so young (!), but there was little there from my childhood in the 1970s). Personally, the selection of memorabilia relating to The Beatles was interesting, as were some 1960s James Bond cars etc., but overall we left disappointed.

Main advice would be to think twice if planning a trip for young children, as many of the exhibits would not mean anything to them, and certainly would not measure up to the toys they have today.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aishisham, Marketing Executive at Mint Museum of Toys, responded to this review, 7 February 2017
Dear Marc S,

Thank you so much for visiting the museum and for taking the time to leave us a review.

We're sorry to hear that your experience at the museum was disappointing. MINT Museum of Toys does house a collection of vintage toys and collectables from the 1840s to 1970s, which is a stark comparison to many modern toys today.

We do believe, however, that these vintage toys have much to say and that there's a huge potential to connect with younger generations, who will be next in line to carry forward the history and stories of these toys from the past. As part of our efforts to reach out to younger audiences, we have introduced our workshop and tour series, MAKE+PLAY, which focuses on introducing the collection to children in a fun and interactive way, at the same time, giving them the opportunity to learn a new skill and to express their creativity.

We hope your little will be able to join us for one of the MAKE+PLAY programmes, which you can find out more about on our website. In any case, I hope he had fun at MINT shop and managed to find a toy he enjoys playing with.

We do hope to see you and your family again. Until then, thank you again for your review and we wish you a lovely week ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mint Museum of Toys also viewed

 

Been to Mint Museum of Toys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing