We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
S$83
Fully refundable before Tue, 23 Apr
Expedia.com
S$102
Get rewarded with One Key
Vio.com
S$73
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (633)
Filter reviews
633 results
Traveller rating
142
275
150
39
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
142
275
150
39
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city square mall budget hotel little india mrt station family room rooms are small walking distance shopping location luggage eateries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 633 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2022

I don't know what to say. On one hand, this place could be said to be one of the worst hotels on the island:

- the hotel looks old and run down
- the aircon in my room leaked throughout the night (despite me informing them)
- there were cockroaches coming out to play at night
- the counter-staff don't pretend to enjoy your presence
- there are all kinds of noises in the room (eg, creaky beds, machines whirling, traffic from outside, etc.)

On the other hand, I travelled solo and I'm relatively "un-fussy" about these things. Plus, in Singapore if you want to get a room for yourself (and you don't want to pay an arm and a leg) hotels like this will be something you'll need to get used to.

I gotta say I slept well and this place is a near many eateries, MRT station, a mall, etc.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwyn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 April 2022

Am currently staying here. The rooms are basic, but well worth the SGD 80 per night I am paying for the one-week stay. Great location cattycorner from the City Square Mall including MRT entrance. Near Mustapha 24-hour shopping. Eateries abound nearby. Why my praise? The aircon in my room failed to turn on. No fan, so it would be hot. Immediate service by the hotel staff. Later that evening, it happened again. The lady on the desk came up and tried. She worked with the remote re-set as well. She said I could sleep in another room (a Saturday night, hotel full too!) and someone would fix it on Sunday. I managed to find a safety pin and reset the remote which then turned on the air con, so problem solved. How many budget hotels have a staff person at 10 pm on a Saturday night? She did her best with a smile. I value that. I recommend the hotel. Quiet, facilities do work and there is service when needed.

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rich F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 January 2021

I stayed at a single room in Tai Hoe Hotel for 2 days. The room was clean and comfortable, which is value for money for me. The hotel staffs have been friendly and kind, helping with luggages during rain and on a few other intances on voluntary basis, which I appreciate a lot.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgtraveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 August 2020 via mobile

I get the impression they pride themselves on being a low value low service hotel, which might work for some people but don’t expect any kind of good service or help if anything is wrong. No point going into specifics here, perhaps read the responses to some of their older bad reviews, you’ll see they really don’t care about customer service. I think it’s probably possible to have an ok stay here, just do not have *any* expectations. Staff, room and cleanliness were all disappointing but if you just need a place to sleep it should be fine but honestly the nicer hotels next door are not that much more expensive (by Singapore standards!).

Date of stay: November 2019
3  Thank FarAway822188
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LARRY GAY, Owner at Tai Hoe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2020

Dear guest,
Truly sorry that you had a less than satisfactory experience with us. However, without going into specifics, it is rather hard for us to improve on areas, that in your opinion, we are lacking

All my staff are trained to provide good customer. service is the one aspect of their job that cannot be compromised.
As we do not have other frills or amenities that other hotels provide, We might not have those frills and amenities some other hotels can provide and this makes us work even harder to ensure our guests have a pleasant and positive memorable stay.

It is true that we have had our fair share of less than encouraging feedbacks, i do take pride in my staff's attitude and service levels, (there are many more positive and encouraging reviews from guests who gave their honest feedback and opinions on where we can better improve ourselves).

Please stay safe during this Covid-19 pandemic period .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2020

We liked the hotel because of the location and outside view from our room. Tai Hoe is the perfect hotel for budget traveler and shopper. Rooms are pretty small, but it is clean and tidy. Bathrooms are also okay and clean. If you want to go shopping in Mustafa Center then this hotel is the right one. The 24 hour Mustafa shopping center selling everything is just behind the hotel while the international City Square Mall is just in front. The area is (Little India) always vibrating. No food available in this hotel but who cares when plenty of food centers are available in this area.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mahin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hiah J, Front Office Manager at Tai Hoe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2020

in view of the difficult situation today we apologise for not being able to provide our best inhouse service. your words deeply humbled us and that truly inspired us to do more looking after those that are still staying with us. thank you for your words of encouragement and i am sure your kind words here will raise the morale of our team. once again thank you.
jasmine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews