We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wangz Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Wangz Hotel
Ranked #11 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We travelled to Singapore to celebrate a significant birthday and had a wonderful time. We generally enjoyed our stay at the Wangz. The best feature of the hotel is certainly the staff. They are efficient, very pleasant and helpful at all times, The hotel is really quite small and feels more personal than many others and the staff all help to make you feel welcome and valued.

My opinion of the hotel as follows:

We booked a deluxe room, which seemed smaller than expected but was comfortable though not in any way luxurious. We never figured out how to turn the lights on when entering at night...there are no switches near the door, so you stumble about in the dark. The room wasn't entirely clean, some grime and grubbiness on the curtains etc, but it was generally satisfactory and the bathroom was smart and clean. Noise from the restaurant at midnight (directly above our room), tables and chairs being dragged etc, was loud and not so good. also traffic noise was an issue, even on the 6th floor.

Breakfast was ok, sometimes a bit of a bun fight as its a small room and only one coffee machine. We were never sure if we were meant to use it, as the waitresses would come along and check you were operating the machine correctly - but they didn't offer coffee when you arrived, so what do you do? The food was fine and the selection limited but adequate for us.
Dining in the evening was a little odd and disappointing. We were alone, the only couple and the food was tapas style eats, which sounded good. Everything was a little odd, the scallops tasted frozen and other dishes tasted a little ordinary. for us, it was overpriced with no atmosphere and the menu seemed a little strange and left you feeling a bit underwhelmed.

The location was a downer, not the hotels fault, but it would stop us staying there again. The walk to the metro is only 10 mins but compared to the location of many similar hotels , it felt a way out. We were walking up to 20km a day, so we slightly resented the extra walk in the evening!

All in all though we enjoyed our 6 night stay, next time though we will probably look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Watch restaurant noise when on the 6th floor, as its located directly above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljacks67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    352
    77
    12
    5
See reviews for
148
607
93
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for five nights just before the Chinese New Year event. The location is amazing for its food. Try the Cantonese dim sum store next door -- tasty and good value. A few dollars buys mouthfuls of joy. The dessert place a few doors up is amazing. Ice desserts with refinement and taste. At night the stores are packed with outside dinners. A pity I was only by myself. Take a walk across the road and see the heritage areas of Tiong Bahru -- food, food and character all over the place. As for the hotel. It was a beautiful top floor that had plenty of room and was designed and appointed with lots of thought. Breakfast is wonderfully done in the roof top restaurant. Lunch and dinner is looked after by a chef who knows the craft. They tell me he came from the three-starred kitchens of Sentosa Island. All I know is the food is tasty, looks like artwork and three courses comes at prices I think would get you one dish at Sentosa. Amazing to get this quality one floor above your room. I'll be back for more with some friends.

Stayed January 2017, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnP99n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChangJie, Business Development Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear JohnP99n,

It is wonderful to see that you made full use of your stay with us to explore the surrounding area, that is something we strongly recommend all our guests to take advantage of. There is certainly a lot to appreciate about Tiong Bahru, including the architecture that retains memories of old Singapore. Tiong Bahru Pau, which you mentioned is right next to our hotel, is indeed well-known for their affordable dim sum delights.

We appreciate your comments about our room and general dining inside the hotel. Our rooftop restaurant, Upper Place, is looking to change up the menu soon, so do make sure to check in again with some friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked in for the night before joining a cruise in the morning . Lovely room which is clean and well appointed. Very friendly staff at desk and bags taken to room. Complimentary bar and free wi fi. Tea and kettle.
Very close to local restaurants and recommend Long Ji for price and quantity,

Room Tip: Good lift service
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChangJie, Business Development Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Peter1941,

Thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback.

We hope you will be able to have a longer stay with us in future and take your time to explore more of the surrounding Chinatown and Tiong Bahru area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice hotel in a good location. Breakfast was excellent and we also had dinner one night from the tapas menu which was also excellent. The room was very spacious, well equipped with complimentary soft drinks in the mini bar. the staff in the hotel were very courteous friendly and always helpful, while Del, Bryan, Wei Chie and Isaac are the ones we dealt with most all the staff were great. I would reccommend staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have the best view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tabamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChangJie, Business Development Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Tabamba,

Thank you for endorsing WANGZ Hotel as a personally recommended hotel to stay at! It means alot to us when our guests are able to enjoy their stay enough to want to vouch for us and share your experience with others.

Our rooftop restaurant Upper Place is always looking to change up the menu on a regular basis, so do come back to stay with us soon so our team can say hello and interact with you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
208 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Kelvin Seah and his front desk team helped me via email before I arrived and great service continued throughout my stay. Room attendant Zhang Cui and Housekeeping Manager Pauline Lim presented a spotless room for my comfortable stay. A note that the local food court will be closed until end of May but there are great food choices around the hotel. A good bowl of Laksa soup can be found next to the Hotel.
Self serve laundry across from hotel.
Breakfast buffet staff need to arrive earlier to have food hot and coffee machine working. Bacon was cold and dumplings hard and cold. Eggs were not well prepared despite cooked to order.

Stayed February 2017, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank sharon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChangJie, Business Development Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Sharon R,

Thank you for your compliments for our team members, and you taking the time to identify specific individuals will certainly serve as encouragement for them to continue giving their best.

Yes, it is unfortunate Tiong Bahru Market will be closed till middle of this May due to renovation works, but there are still plenty of places to eat good food, both within and outside the hotel!

Your feedback about breakfast is duly noted and appreciated. We will take care to better ensure that its quality is always maintained regardless of timing, and hope this oversight did not take too much away from your overall satisfaction with us.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#10 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#15 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,728 reviews
Joo Chiat
Hotel Indigo Singapore Katong
Hotel Indigo Singapore Katong
#13 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wangz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wangz Hotel

Property: Wangz Hotel
Address: 231 Outram Road, Singapore 169040, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Tiong Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#15 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#17 Business Hotel in Singapore
#27 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): $199 - $280
Hotel Class:4 star — Wangz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter the chic lobby of this luxurious boutique hotel and proceed to your elegant room, which feels more like your own private retreat. WANGZ Hotel, with its ultra-modern interior, is located minutes away from Singapore's main shopping area, major cultural attractions, as well as the banking and financial district. Every room features modern comforts like rain shower, Sealy Posturepedic bed, 37-inch LCD TV, complimentary internet access, iPod docking station, piped-in mood music, complimentary selected beverages from mini-bar, as well as luxurious bath amenities. Guests may also enjoy complimentary shuttle service to the nearest subway station, the financial district and Orchard Road shopping belt daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Wangz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wangz Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing