We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing and fun cooking experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coriander Leaf Cooking Classes

Coriander Leaf Cooking Classes
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: With a long standing track record in Asian cuisine, through our culinary education team, Coriander Leaf is aiming to act in a thought leadership capacity and be at the forefront of innovative culinary experiences and learning. Whether it is conventional cooking classes, developing new and innovative courses, expanding to the online cooking community, or delivering a distinct variety of unique and memorable cooking experiences, Coriander Leaf has always pushed the boundaries and created a reputation for culinary excellence. At our core is Asian cuisine, yet this is the tip of the iceberg in terms of the depth and breadth of culinary courses we aim to provide. We design menus that provide our guests with a strong grounding. In this way, our guests learn specific dishes as well as the insights and techniques necessary to become an insider in the cuisines of Asia! We emphasize home cooking and stick mainly to dishes that one can replicate at home. Our cooking studios are equipped with home cooking appliances reinforcing our commitment to teaching our guests something they will incorporate into their standard repertoire. Each class presents an integrated menu that can be prepared at home rather than a random selection of dishes.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An amazing and fun cooking experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2015

I signed up for the Singaporean Classics demo class with Vivien, and it was really so much fun! It was really informative, interesting and interactive, from the start to the finish! No pressure if you find prepping a crab intimidating (i did!) and just prefer to help out with mixing! Everyone was really engaged and the staff were so helpful and attentive! A must whether you like cooking or eating or both!!

Visited November 2015
Helpful?
Thank TamsynBrownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well spent 4 hours!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2015

Enjoyed this demo class. We covered 8 Thai dishes so the kitchen was full of action. Chef Samia, together with Chef Vivian and Chef Iskander, made it an engaging and very informative activity. The Chef explained the important points clearly, shared helpful tips with the ingredients and prepping (esp important with Thai dishes), and gamely answered our questions. You do have to pay close attention as 2-3 dishes would be going on simultaneously. Entire staff was accommodating!

Also fortunate to have this class at their new venue, CHIJMES. Very nice kitchen, clean, and spacious. Parking was also easy (at 10am).

Tip: If you're attending this class, bring small takeaway containers in case you don't get to finish your portion. A lot of food to taste with 8 dishes . . .

Highly recommended

Visited June 2015
Helpful?
6 Thank Mrdccd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coriander_Leaf_Group, General Manager at Coriander Leaf Cooking Classes, responded to this review, 14 July 2015
Thanks so much for your great feedback ! Glad you had an enjoyable time, and we look forward to seeing you again !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent & informative.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We attended the Thai 3 class. There were 8 in the class.

Great cooking class-recipes and pencils so I could note all the little tips Samia gave us.

We've come home and cooked 3 of the recipes - we'd have never got the red beef curry right if we hadn't been shown all the stages of cooking the paste properly first!

Thanks Samia. Good luck with the new venture. We'll be back when we've worked our way through your book!

Helpful?
3 Thank kevrah140908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Informative Class....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Highly recommend. Streets of Singapore class excellent introduction to local cuisine. Samia's knowledge of food and respect for 'pure' ingredients a bonus. Demonstration Class enjoyable as all levels of cooks can absorb without distractions or feeling intimidated. This type of class allows you to learn more especially working in the Industry. The presentation and quality of produce fabulous. Thank you.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lou313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I had signed up for the Singapore Classics class soon after I had booked my flight. With all the classes offered it was hard to decided which one to select! Samia is an excellent teacher and was very informative in regards to cuisine but also explained the reasons behind some different cooking techniques. In addition to the eight dishes that were referenced on the course catalogue, there were "bonus" recipes for Chili Paste in Oil and Thai Chili Sauce. I can hardly wait to try out some of the recipes at home.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coriander Leaf Cooking Classes also viewed

 

Been to Coriander Leaf Cooking Classes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing