We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best shopping place in Singapore for book lovers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Takashimaya Singapore

Takashimaya Singapore
Ranked #59 of 796 things to do in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Takashimaya is another Japanese retail giant which has an upmarket department store catering to the more affluent consumer. It has restaurants, a spa, slimming services, boutiques, a gym, drycleaners, and even an art gallery.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best shopping place in Singapore for book lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

It is because they have the biggest Kinokuniya store here. It's 3-4x bigger than the biggest one we have in Jakarta. There's a vast collection of books here, from magazine, music notes, travel guides, and many more.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank Aditya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    237
    71
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shopping in Singapore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I love shopping for shirts in Singapore for two reasons.
1. It has different selection more suited for that region
2. Sizes do fit me. As in Dubai and Europe we get European cuts which are very long in sleeves and very big in shoulders.
While same size M or L in some case would fit me perfectly in Singapore shops.
Takashimaya was interesting store as it has consolidated area for men and you would find every thing in that little space about half floor.
Everything in a wardrobe that men would need, almost.
It was bit pricey but good by and large.
I recommend.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Shivlani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
214 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Cos Kinokuniya Is Here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This became one of our must visit favourite place for decades now because we like to shop at Kinokuniya, the Japanese book store.

We are always spoilt for choice here across all the genre of books that we like in various languages. There's a huge comic and manga section too with sale of merchandises and collectible toys.

The departmental store is good as well but not much choice of restaurant here unless you get out of the main building.

Queuing for cab here has always been a nightmare for there's lots of people in queue at any given time.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Jaycee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of the best department stores in Orchard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Living in Orchard road makes you go around the different shopping malls often. Out all the available Ines Takashimaya is definitely the best.

It has all the top brand in case you want to buy anything luxury, great variety of restaurants, good parking, an amazing book store and top food stores and supermarket at the basement.

I buy my electronics there, my last tv and laptop. And the prices are competitive.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Carlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Misawa, Japan
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lots of options”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So much shopping here, you can spend all day and not see everything. If you like to walk around, window shop and actual shop this is for you. I spend hours here and can't wait to go back. I love how there are so many options of the same brand and every one carries something different!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Shante' A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Takashimaya Singapore also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Takashimaya Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing