We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the Pool”
Review of Marina Bay Sands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marina Bay Sands
Ranked #40 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2011

The rooms are nice, but spartan like most casino / resorts around the world. The casino is packed morning, noon, and night. The real reason to get a room here is to get access to the infinity pool on the top deck. It truly is one of the best pools I've ever encountered. Stunning view over the city. Great place to chill out - but beware of Ku De Ta pricing on drinks. Bill can be just as stunning.

Room Tip: Personally wouldn't bother with an expensive room - the difference isn't that great and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rmk029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George_Roe, Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that our infinity pool is one of the best that you have experienced. The view of Singapore’s cityscape is indeed spectacular and a highlight for many of our guests.

The rooms with sea view overlook the Gardens by the Bay site, which is currently under construction. According to the National Parks Board (NParks) of Singapore, Gardens Phase 1 of the Gardens is scheduled to be open for public preview in November 2011, and we are confident that our guests will enjoy the upcoming view. It's been reported that Gardens by the Bay will be fully completed by the middle of 2012.

In addition, the Flower Dome as part of Phase 1 will be opened for a sneak preview during the World Orchid Conference to be held at Marina Bay Sands in November 2011.

We have taken note of your feedback regarding the drink prices at KU DE TA and we will be sure to share it with the management team for their review. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to Marina Bay Sands in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23,182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13,605 - 13,609 of 23,182 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2011

The key to enjoying this hotel is managing your expections. Prior ratings of this hotel range from "World Class" to "Worst in Class" - and depending on your expectations, anywhere along this spectrum could be correct.

It's intended to be an architectural and entertainment wonder - something to marvel at - and it accomplishes that goal. It's a stunning and unique hotel, inside and out. The views from the SkyPark on the 57th floor are among the best in Singapore and the area has been designed with "wow factor" in mind. The services and venues inside and around the hotel have been similarly designed - they may not be as functional or efficient as they could be, but they are beautiful and offer a unique experience. I would liken this hotel, as some others have in prior reviews, to a Las Vegas-style resort.

All that being said, I would agree with past reviewers that service does not meet 4 or 5 star standards:

-The check-in and check-out areas are sometimes crowded and disorganized (as would be expected with the number of guest rooms in the hotel)
-Room service and porter service can take a very long time and personal requests made by guests can become lost or confused
-Standard rooms are very basic - not what one would expect at this price point.
-Internet service is pricey (although free wi-fi is common across most public sites in the city)

Overall, while the views are stunning and it's an experience in itself to visit the hotel, it does not provide good value for money. Some travellers might be better served by staying elsewhere and obtaining a day pass to access the SkyPark facilities.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KMReviewer1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George_Roe, Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Thank you for your review. We regret to hear about the challenges you encountered with our service touch points which may have marred your otherwise pleasant stay with us.

We are continuously reviewing our check-in processes for improvement. It is our intention to open up more lanes as well as to allocate more Team Members to be on duty during check-in peak hours. We aim to continually improve our service standards to provide our guests with a warm and comfortable stay.

We are glad that you enjoyed the views and we hope to welcome you back to Marina Bay Sands in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We had a "Sands Sky Club" room, including complimentary access to Sky Park infinity pool & observation deck, Shuttle bus from airport and breakfast.
The room was perfect, clean and well maintained. The view was to the marina bay.

Ratings:
Shuttle bus:
- If you have time, take it. Arriving in Terminal 3: it took us ONE HOUR to get to the hotel (via Terminal 2, Terminal 1, Budget Terminal and finally Marina Bay Sand). Next time we take a Taxi :-)

Directions to check-in at drop off:
- challenging - as there are no clear signs which way you have to take to find the check in or main lobby - and having your luggage with you.....

Staff:
- Very friendly

Rooms:
- perfect, clean and well maintained

Roof pool:
- early in the morning (6-8 am) - not so crowded
- the rest of the day - lots of people. It's not for swimming - only for relaxing and enjoy the gorgeous view to down-town.
- showers?? there are - but no one takes a shower ;-)

Restaurants (57th floor - breakfast and afternoon tea):
- service perfect
- food great
- but as everywhere - inside always quite cold

Other restaurants in the shopping area:
- quality is OK - but be aware that the price is a bit higher than normal

Summary:
- Perfect place to stay for 2 or 3 nights.

Room Tip: - Club room - Bay view (west)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

High in price, low in service. Architecture impressive. Worth a look at. Stayed there for 2 days. Arrived by shuttle from airport about 7:30am. No-one available to assist with baggage. Sent to Tower 3 to check in. Could only find booking for 1 night. Sent us to Tower 1 to get help and they too couldn't find the booking so sent us across the way where they told us to go reprint the voucher as they couldn't match up the Travelocity number with anything. Printed out exactly the same thing as I had earlier given them and they somehow found the booking. They advised us that we could use a hospitality room for 2 hours to freshen up as check in is only 3pm. Gave us a room number and a key. Got to room and the key wouldn't open door. Back down we went, changed the key and then upon entering found 4 women in the room changing. Back down to front desk where the manager told us that it is a shared room. This was not told to us to begin with. There were dirty towels on the floor of the bathroom and all towels had been used and he said that they will come and clean within the hour. Gave that a miss. Went for breakfast which was superb. Have to say the best breakfast that I have had at any hotel @ $42.00 per person. The rooms were very comfortable. The hotel is like a railway station. The pool is very busy and noisy. The views are spectacular. 2nd day our keys to the room were inactive, guess it had something to do with the 2nd nights accommodation that they initially couldn't find but a nuisance when you come home tired and want to get to bed and you have to go back downstairs to get the keys reactivated. Breakfast 2nd day requested a cuppacino but was told that the coffee machine was broken. Asked if they could get a coffee from the other restaurant and told no I could only have regular coffee. Not again and I wouldn't recommend it either. Next time I will go to the Capella on Sentosa where the price and the service match one another.

Room Tip: I wouldn't go back so nothing that I can recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ilana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George_Roe, Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. We regret to hear about the challenges you experienced upon arrival and we apologize for the inconveniences caused with regards to locating your booking in our system.

Service remains top priority at Marina Bay Sands and we are are continuously reviewing our systems, processes and training to improve our service levels and touch points.

We note your feedback regarding your experience during breakfast on the second day. We should have exercised flexibility in accommodating your needs on the spot and we apologize for that.

We are happy to hear that the quality of our breakfast exceeded your expectations. We value your patronage and hope that you will allow us another opportunity to welcome you to Marina Bay Sands to regain your confidence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I was excited to see what the big hullabaloo was about but there were several things that really detract from the 5-star rating of this hotel.

Check-in:
It was a zoo. I have never been to a 5-star hotel where I had to stand and wait in a line to check in. Offering a few guests a free glass of champagne certainly did not make up for this. The huge, high-ceilinged expanse of the lobby and the crowds of people passing through made me feel like I was in a crowded mall on a weekend. It was stressful and no one properly directed us as to how we would get to our suite. Directions were necessary because there is more than one tower and different elevator banks. Because the hotel was crowded we were upgraded from a lower level suite to one of the best suites which was close to the presidential suite.

The suite was AMAZING. Luxurious, spacious, fantastic view - albeit marred by construction. We had our own gym in the suite. The decor and furnishings were top class. Computerized lighting, drapes etc. However, service was a problem. Calls to the concierge/front desk/housekeeping were routed to a call centre. This was extremely annoying especially since we were on hold for a long time. Even though the suites were supposed to have our own concierge calls were all routed to the same call centre and were in a queue. We requested bottled water because the room was not serviced and that took almost an hour to arrive.

Suite guests are also entitled to breakfast served in a special restaurant on the skydeck - Sky on 57. I have never been to a 5-star hotel restaurant where I had to wait 20 mins for a table. And this was supposed to be a special 'perk' of staying in a suite. I'm sure both the food and the service would have been better had we simply dined at the Club restaurant as we had the previous evening and the food was great. The breakfast menu was extremely limited and the buffet sparse.

Because the skydeck is open to the public and really isn't all that huge, it was extremely crowded. The infinity pool while great for photo ops to get the Singapore skyline in the background is quite narrow and was very crowded. Quite an annoyance for guests to have to share the facilities with the general public.

The best thing about this hotel is the rooms and the location. Service needs work. The availability of so many restaurants is also good but we didn't dine at any of them.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank expatrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George_Roe, Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us here and we regret to hear that our service delivery did not meet your expectations during your stay earlier this year. We have taken note of your feedback regarding the delay in our service touch points, namely our Call Centre, Room Service and at one of our restaurants, and we will be sure to share your comments with the relevant Department Heads for their review.

We also understand that the infinity pool is a popular choice for hotel guests to wind down and relax, however, we remain mindful that Marina Bay Sands – as Singapore’s new tourist icon – needs to be accessible to the general public too. As a result, over the weekends, Sands SkyPark ticketholders are not able to view the Pool and the Gardens area.

Please rest assured that we are continuously implementing measures to improve our hotel guests' experience and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to Marina Bay Sands in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 317 in Singapore
7,881 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Orchard Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
#11 of 317 in Singapore
5,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Bay Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bay Sands

Address: 10 Bayfront Avenue, Singapore 018956, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#23 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#26 Family Hotel in Singapore
#30 Business Hotel in Singapore
#40 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $477 - $1,079 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Marina Bay Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 2560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along Marina Bay waterfront with 3 cascading hotel towers, 2,560 rooms, extraordinary Sands Sky Park, floating crystal pavilions, lotus-inspired ArtScience Museum, The Shoppes, Celebrity Chef Restaurants, Theatres and hottest nightclubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marina Bay Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Bay Sands Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay Sands Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing