We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended romantic getaway”
Review of Hotel Fort Canning

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Fort Canning
Ranked #34 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2011

I was reading the reviews of HFC and was contemplating whether or not to celebrate my partner's birthday there. Luckily, I chose it! Totally no regrets.. Excellent getaway (in the heart of Orchard rd but yet totally secluded up on the hill), very nice room with a big garden patio.. Big fluffly bed, large flat screen internet tv, especially the big bathtub right in the middle of the room.. wow..
we went to the pool at nite and we have the whole pool all to ourselves.. it was such a romantic moment relaxing in the pool and gazing at the stars right above us.. simply amazing..
we had stayed in many boutique hotels in singapore, but this is by far the best that we both like.. i will love to be back again to check out the big round water bed in their suite rooms..

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cow1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2011

Dear Cow1331

We are delighted to know that you and your partner had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have had both of you with us.

Your kind words of praise in your encouraging note are very much appreciated. Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your partner back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Yours sincerely
Supriya Ghosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,201 - 1,205 of 1,343 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2011

It was totally different to any other hotel in Singapore located on top of a hill and away from the hustle and bustle but yet within a few minutes of walking to one end of Orchard road coming back to the hotel in the late evening might be more convenient by taxi. Howwever the walk down to Orchard road or Dhoby ghaut station is not too far away about five to ten minutes

The service at the front office was exceptional and very courteous we were ushered to our room which was very nice and comfortable with lovely clean bedlinen having been at the Marriot ,Fairmot, Hilton Etc during my previous stays this room looked far more apprealing and comfortable with boarded floors and free WIFI.
There is also happy hour from 6 to 8pm with canapies and alcoholic and non alcoholic beverages which is nice and simple

overall it was a beautiful small hotel with colonial architecture with great rooms and very friendly staff we enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the city side was better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iroshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2011

Dear Ironshaw

We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have you with us.

Your kind words of praise in your encouraging note are very much appreciated. Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Yours sincerely
Supriya Ghosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

I was on a short holiday in Singapore with my husband, and at the last moment we decided to extend our stay. The hotel we were staying at was full for the extra nights, and so were most of the other hotels we tried (we looked at quite a few!). We stumbled upon Hotel Fort Canning by chance on the internet and decided to give it a try, despite the negative reviews we saw, as at that point we did not have any other option.

From the moment we arrived at the hotel, it became apparent that we would be getting our money’s worth. As an unexpected bonus, we were upgraded to a Premium Luxe room as the hotel was full. The room was great – the décor and design were both tasteful and luxurious; the bed was extremely comfortable and the ‘pillow menu’ was a nice touch! The hotel staff were extremely courteous and helpful throughout our stay. Breakfast at the Glass House was also quite good, and all in all we really enjoyed our time at the hotel.

The only downside would be the walk to/from Orchard road. While it is not far, the route is quite steep and cuts through a parking lot and across the road to Dhoby Ghaut station. Actually, getting to Orchard road is easy as the hotel provides shuttle transport to ION Orchard and Takashimaya SC; the difficult part is getting back (as there is no return shuttle). For shopaholics like us, climbing up the hill back to the hotel was quite hard, especially considering we were laden down with shopping bags! For more senior guests I would recommend just taking a cab.

All in all, I think that the problems mentioned in the earlier reviews have been sorted out. Given the hotel is quite new, I would say that those were probably just teething problems. The hotel is great and certainly worth a visit!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruwani E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2011

Dear Ruwaniebell

We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have you with us.

Your kind words of praise in your encouraging note are very much appreciated. Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Yours sincerely
Supriya Ghosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

I am a frequent traveller to Singapore and have stayed in many hotels in town. Heard about Hotel Fort Canning and decided to give it a go.

Upon check-in I was informed that I was to stay in a premium room.
Check-in was good, with a welcome drink being offered. Nice touch.

The room was well layed out with a large bathroom with rain shower, nice amenities and a large bath tub.
Wireless internet is free and fast. This should be standard in all hotels!

A Nespresso machine is available. I love that as I am a Nespresso fan and dislike staying in hotels without one. Gone should be the days with the terrible instant coffee!

The separate sitting area is nice and well appointed.

I had no issues with the touch panel lighting system or the airconditioning so it seems the previously reported issues may have been sorted.

The pool area is quiet large for an 80 room hotel, giving it a bit of a resort feel.
The bar is good with friendly staff and italian restaurant is simpy excellent.

Breakfast in the glass house is good and again, staff is friendly and helpful.

Throughout the stay, staff has been good.

The location in Singapore is excellent. In the Fort Canning Park, very quiet for a good night sleep, yet in the centre of the city.

I highly recommend this hotel and as a matter of fact, booked my next stay.
(I am NOT a PR firm...) just love good boutique hotels and see through some of the teething issues...

Room Tip: stay in a premium room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2011

Dear Dutchkiwi

We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have you with us.

Your kind words of praise in your encouraging note are very much appreciated. Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Yours sincerely
Supriya Ghosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

"Architect has run amok" review was right! The hotel design is terrible! This has/had the potential to be a great hotel in Fort Canning Park with green surroundings but whomever designed this hotel must have been smoking something.

The hotel has tried to cram too many rooms into too small a space. They could have sacrificed a few rooms to increase the per room size a little bit and made this a great hotel. I shouldn't have to lower the blinds just to avoid watching my wife use the toilet but that is what you have to do. The bathroom takes up the whole window which means you have to choose between daylight and privacy. The blinds aren't that difficult to work out but are a bit of a fiddle.

It is not just the rooms. Try to get a taxi driver to get round the mini-roundabout in the driveway and they can't because it is not quite wide enough for a standard car.

The exit out of the lobby towards the breakfast restaurant has 2 steps that make it difficult to navigate a baby buggy over the steps. A little bit of common sense thinking from the designer, that some customers might have a buggy or even a wheelchair, would have solved the problem.

Even the walk from the main building to the restaurant. There is no real path. You have to dodge the plants to get round the randomly positioned elevator shaft to get to the restaurant.

On the positive side, the gym is very good and breakfast was also good.

It is all such a shame because all the things which are easy to change (service, food, staff, free Wifi) are all excellent. But they are shackled by the problems which will cannot be easily changed. Currently the hotel doesn't work for the prices they charge.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSBHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2011

Dear LSBHK

Thank you for staying at Hotel Fort Canning, and for your feedback on your stay.

From your description of the room, we deduce that it was one of our Deluxe Garden Rooms with the unique design feature of having the bathrooms in the bedroom. This design feature is actually a highlight of Hotel Fort Canning and we have had many positive comments about it. We do have some other rooms for guests who prefer a more traditional layout, and we would have gladly changed your room should you have informed us of your preference.

Being a conservation building we have limitation in changing its structure. Hence, this has led to the development of various sizes of rooms and placement of some of our facilities in another building.

We have also addressed your feedback on difficulty navigating with baby stroller. Please be informed that we have onsite baby stroller ramps that will lead you to the restaurant and lift leading to the main street.

However, we appreciate your compliments on our breakfast, gym facilities as well as your kind words of praise of our service staff. These compliments will be duly conveyed to them.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments. Should your travel plans take you to Singapore again in future, we hope to have another opportunity to be of service to you.

Yours sincerely

Supriya Ghosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 317 in Singapore
2,394 reviews
SO Sofitel Singapore
#27 of 317 in Singapore
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#17 of 317 in Singapore
1,251 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 317 in Singapore
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort Canning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Canning

Address: 11 Canning Walk Hotel Fort Caning, Singapore 178881, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#34 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#36 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $267 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fort Canning 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery of a historical park, the heritage Hotel Fort Canning offers a discreet sanctuary of calm in the vibrant city and an epitome of style and modern comfort in each of its 86 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Fort Canning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Canning Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing