We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to everything I want to do in Singapore yet away from the hustle and bustle.”
Review of Hotel Fort Canning

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fort Canning
Ranked #34 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Highlands, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Convenient to everything I want to do in Singapore yet away from the hustle and bustle.”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This place charms before you even see it. As your taxi turns up into Fort Canning Park, you know you are in for a treat. Overlooking the city, it is removed from it, yet walking instance downhill to many major attractions. The rooms are futuristic and it's 2 restaurants and two pools are unique as well. Yet the price is well below some ofthe over rated stars of Singapore.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddiemf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Freddiemf,

It is gratifying to know that you are able to reach out for what you need to do conveniently during your recent stay with us.

Hotel Fort Canning is the first hotel in Singapore that introduces VDA intelligent hotel system which integrates lighting, air-conditioning, curtain, internet, entertainment and mood controls; all in one touch-screen panel. You don’t have to leave the bed at all to get some of these jobs done right at your fingertips.

We are flattered by your kind compliments and will continue to strive even better for our guests.

We look forward welcoming you and your partner back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Kind Regards,

Jasmin Faruk
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    635
    359
    109
    43
    45
See reviews for
139
589
66
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Hotel was in good location, clean, well managed and the included breakfast was terriffic. Enjoyed morning runs in the gardens surrounding hotel and felt very safe. It was a little confusing for the cab driver to find, but I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYork5family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear NewYork5family,

Thank you very much for taking time to write this review.

We are glad that Hotel Fort Canning is your preferred choice of accommodation. Your kind words of praise to the hotel are very much appreciated and we are happy to know that your gastronomic experience with our breakfast buffet selections was filled with satisfaction.

We will continue and take every effort to increase and create awareness among the taxi drivers to familiarise with our unique location.

Once again, thank you very much for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning.

Kind Regards,
Jasmin Faruk
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I stayed here recently as my usual choices were booked out (conferences in town).

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It has been renovated to a very high standard and the rooms unique and are ultra modern.

The only downside is that you must take a cab and there aren't always cabs waiting at the hotel. This is the tradeoff for staying in the middle of an inner city park, which is peaceful.

I was a little dissappointed by a few things in my room that required maintenance - the door handles on most room doors seemed broken - they aren't used because of the lock system used but this looked shabby. There were some other minor defects in the room also.

Breakfast wasn't wonderful, but was adequate.

Amenities were of a high standard and the TWG tea was a good touch. If my usual favourites weren't available, I wouldn't have a problem staying here again.

Room Tip: Had a premium room - anything smaller would be too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PPW-BNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear PPW-BNE,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your recent stay experience with us.

Your kind words of praises to the hotel are very much appreciated.

We have reviewed the concerns that you have highlighted and it have since been emphasized to the involved department for improvement to be made.

We will continue and take every effort to increase and create awareness among the taxi drivers to familiarise with our unique location.

Once again, thank you very much for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning.

Kind Regards,
Jasmin Faruk
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This hotel opened almost 2years ago. I stayed there few months after they opened & then again quite recently. Nothing has changed. Taxi drivers still get lost & drive around in circles trying to get there. There is no one to welcome you at the driveway. It's ok. I may not be important. But at least someone to assist me with the luggages? Where is the service?
Only 1 Front Office staff & she is busy on the phone with another couple waiting to be assisted.
After a long long wait finally on the way to my room. I remembered the first time i stayed there i was assisted with my luggages & even walked to my room. This time nothing was even offered. It's ok. Like i said, i may not be important. On the way to the room the corridors were littered with dried up glasses of wines, pizza boxes & even worst!!! Left over food!!! Absolutely Disgusting!!! There was even a bad smell when i passed by one left over food tray outside a room. My room door handle was exactly the same as the first time. Hanging loose & may drop off anytime. It's either the same room if not all the door handle are all broken. Nice room like the last time but not clean. Stains on the sheets. Ball of dust behind room door & under the writing desk. Very surprised they still have not fixed the mirror for shaving in the bathroom & still no ironing board in the room(very basic for a 5* hotel) & it takes forever when you order one BUT i have no choice! Good that they fixed the heater(no warm water the last time)
Breakfast:C'mon you can do better for $300++ per night! No quality!!! Low quality!!! Street food in some cities are of better quality! Very disappointed! Finally check out & it takes forever! No one helps or even offers luggages assistance AGAIN!!! Thought my frustrations will be over soon & head to the driveway & no taxis!!! I have to "book one" & wait for another 10mins for one!!! FYI: I'm a very patient person & don't usually demand anything BUT these are very basic service a 5* star hotel would provide OR these are a few very basic expection anyone would have if they are paying $300++ per night. If you can't provide the very basic. You should revaluate your star ratings & stop giving your guests like me false hopes. I'm sure anyother guests will agree to this. Hope to see improvements in future. Thank-you.

Room Tip: Deluxe room with city view works for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patientsgtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Dear patientsgtraveller,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience that you had experience during your recent stay with us.

We take great care to ensure that important matters such as these are properly managed. On this occasion we have clearly not succeeded in meeting to your expectations.

We have also addressed your feedbacks to the various departments concerned for immediate improvement to be made.

We hope that these incidents do not mar your memories with us. Once again, thank you for your valuable comments. Should your travel plans take you to Singapore again in future, we hope to have another opportunity to be of service to you.

Kind Regards,
Jasmin Faruk
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We have stayed in this hotel 3 times and the last being in early January '12. Each time we have always find it a unique & satisfying experience. Although it's in a colonial building, the deco & fittings are state of the art. Free wi-fi is throughout the premises & the rooms are ipad friendly. Even the TV in the room can surf the net. Complimentary espresso is provided in the room & the lobby for in-house guests.
The last time we stayed in the Premium Luxe room, and found the design of the room is special. The bed is in the center of the room, it only faces the TV. Table & wardrobe are 'hidden' behind the high headboard. When I slept, my husband could still work on the laptop without disrupting me. The bed & pillows are really comfortable too. The room has a separate living room with TV to watch different programs or cater to visitor - well thought out.
Although the location is not in the busy shopping belt, the serene atmosphere suits us. It has a well maintained gym, not too far from our room. Breakfast is healthy with nice spread as we try not to over-indulge. The Glass House serves excellent local & western delights on their menu. Italian fare at the Garto Pardo Restaurant is absolutely superb.
Yes, we look forward to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Jun W

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience with us. We are glad that Hotel Fort Canning is your preferred choice of accommodation. We are flattered by your kind compliments and will make every effort to serve our guests even better.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your partner back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Kind Regards,
Jasmin Faruk
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
1.1 km away
Naumi Hotel
Naumi Hotel
#16 of 312 in Singapore
2,196 reviews
1.8 km away
SO Sofitel Singapore
SO Sofitel Singapore
#28 of 312 in Singapore
1,598 reviews
0.5 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Fairmont Singapore
Fairmont Singapore
#15 of 312 in Singapore
5,848 reviews
1.1 km away
PARKROYAL on Pickering
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#20 of 312 in Singapore
2,815 reviews
0.6 km away
Grand Park City Hall
Grand Park City Hall
#47 of 312 in Singapore
2,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort Canning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Canning

Property: Hotel Fort Canning
Address: 11 Canning Walk Hotel Fort Caning, Singapore 178881, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#34 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#36 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): $272 - $504
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fort Canning 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery of a historical park, the heritage Hotel Fort Canning offers a discreet sanctuary of calm in the vibrant city and an epitome of style and modern comfort in each of its 86 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Fort Canning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Canning Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing