We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Rooms! Warm Stay with Friendly Staff”
Review of Hotel Fort Canning

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Fort Canning
Ranked #35 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2017

My wife and I had a delightful stay at Hotel Fort Canning after our wedding celebration. The staff at the hotel were warm and extremely hospitable. They had made special arrangements for us in the room by decorating it with rose petals. The rooms were clean and very new. I appreciated the updated technology used for lighting. It was most wonderful to have a bath tub in the room! Special thanks to the staff at the hotel for a memorable stay.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the deluxe garden room - it has a outdoor area for chilling out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SPU27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HFCManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear SPU27,

Greetings from Hotel Fort Canning and congratulations on your recent nuptial.

We are glad to learn that our team members had been able to delight you so and made your stay extra memorable.

It was a pleasure to have been able to delight you with our rooms which were styled by the award-winning DP Architects to embody the finest hospitality amenities and the heritage of our building and location.

It has been a privilege having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming your return soon.

At your service we remain.

Best wishes,

Abigail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 116 of 1,344 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2017

First, I must say that my experience started with walking up levels of stairs to the hotel under the hot sun, which wasn't comfortable as you can imagine. However, I will say that the hotel was worth it!

Hotel Fort Canning looks great the moment you lay eyes on it. After all the building has a lot of history to it. The inside of the hotel is really impressive. At the reception, they sit you down to go through your stay, unlike those chain hotels which usually have standing counters. The customer service representative is very helpful and provides a personal touch.

When I got to my room, there was a cockroach in it. I wasn't alarmed given the spot the hotel is at, with lots of green surrounding it. However, it would be great if room servicing crew had checked to ensure cleanliness. Hotel management swiftly offered to move us to another room. Having seen two rooms, I must say that all the rooms have unique views and comfort to offer.

I must add that management also decorated the room with towel swans on the bed and petals, which were amazing! See my photos!

The rooms have tall ceiling and are very spacious to begin. Each room also comes with a bath, which is great! Not to mention the rooms are very elegantly decorated, adding to the feel-good factor. Facilities like gym and swimming pools are really nice too.

I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to tourists and even locals!

Room Tip: Pick the ones with bathtub and ask for towel swans!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElxLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HFCManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear ElxLee,

Greetings from Hotel Fort Canning.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and taking the time to share your experience with us.

There are lifts located at the basement car park located at the foot of the hill that takes guests to lobby level. We apologise if this was not better communicated to you.

It was our pleasure delighting you with our rooms which are styled by the award-winning DP Architects with the finest hospitality amenities including Poltrona Frau statement furnishing, Jim Thompson silk finishing, TWG teas, Nespresso machine with pods and signature picture window design feature.

Thank you for your high praise for our team members and we will be sure to share your kind compliments with them.

It has been a privilege having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming your return soon.

At your service we remain.

Best wishes,

Abigail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

A lovely conversion from an old historic building. Rooms comfortable with high ceilings and surrounded by lush greens. Staff were attentive and helpful. Would definitely stay here again!

For best stays, the corner rooms offer a little more space.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank NaniSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HFCManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear NaniSG,

Greetings from Hotel Fort Canning.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and taking the time to share your experience with us.

Our building was originally completed in 1926 as the British Far East Command Headquarters. Today, it has been styled by the award-winning DP Architects into a luxury boutique hotel that embodies the finest hospitality amenities while retaining its original colonial architecture and heritage. We are glad to hear that you had enjoyed your room with its signature picture window design and high ceilings.

Thank you for your kind compliments on our service staff.

We will be sure to convey your compliments to them.

It has been a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming your return soon.

At your service we remain.

Best Regards,

Abigail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

A beautifully outfitted hotel, HFC is an oasis in Singapore. It is tucked away and secluded in the botanical gardens but still walking distance to Orchard Rd and the hub-bub of town.

The staff were attentive friendly and extremely helpful, the rooms although small were lovely with a comfortable bed & pillows (always the bane of my existence when I travel) and the pool pristine.

Loved the complimentary phone that could be used for the duration of the stay including off-site when you are out & about - I have never had this before & all other 5star hotels should take note of this! Breakfast buffet had all you could want. The happy hour free drinks and canapés are a lovely way to end the day or start the evening.

Sadly we only had one night here, but would highly recommend this hotel for solo travelers or couples. If I go back to Singapore I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tania03061964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HFCManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Tania03061964,

Greetings from Hotel Fort Canning.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and taking the time to share your experience with us.

As the only hotel in Singapore to be nestled amongst 18 hectares of lush national parkland in the heart of the city, many of our guests have enjoyed the tranquillity of convenience of our unique location. We are glad to hear that you share their sentiment.

Here at Hotel Fort Canning, we believe it is the little things that count and are glad that the handy device had been useful in your travels.

We are delighted to learn that you had found time to mingle with other guests during Aperitif Hour.

It has been a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming your return soon.

At your service we remain.

Best Regards,

Abigail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Neither a notch above / below Conrads & Shangrilas; the hotel itself is a notch just as the Conrads could be. No woes experienced, like being over-attentive to the guests, nor under-attentive. Tried the buffet breakfasts, surely made for globe trotters. The entire ecosystem of the place including nature & people, ambience & décor, architecture & conduciveness to peace; seemed magically holistic in harmony. The experience is surely unique, given the extreme uniqueness of this one! Would I visit again? Of course & why not! Thanks to the wonderful Canning-ers who made the stay very very hassle-free!!

Room Tip: The upper floors could give a view outside the hotel property as well, which otherwise is perched a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnson24x7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HFCManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Dear johnson24x7,

Greetings from Hotel Fort Canning.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and taking the time to share your experience with us.

It was our pleasure delighting you with our rooms which are styled by the award-winning DP Architects with the finest hospitality amenities including Poltrona Frau statement furnishing, Jim Thompson silk finishing, TWG teas, Nespresso machine with pods and signature picture window design feature.

Thank you for your kind compliments on our team members. We will be sure to share it with them.

It has been a pleasure having you at our urban oasis and we look forward to your return soon.

At your service we remain.

Best wishes,

Abigail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 317 in Singapore
2,397 reviews
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#16 of 317 in Singapore
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SO Sofitel Singapore
#27 of 317 in Singapore
1,784 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 317 in Singapore
1,301 reviews
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#24 of 317 in Singapore
3,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort Canning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Canning

Address: 11 Canning Walk Hotel Fort Caning, Singapore 178881, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#35 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#36 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $267 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fort Canning 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery of a historical park, the heritage Hotel Fort Canning offers a discreet sanctuary of calm in the vibrant city and an epitome of style and modern comfort in each of its 86 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fort Canning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Canning Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing