We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$168
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hotel Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mandarin Orchard Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$183
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Changi Airport(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$294
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$278/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$142
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$127
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Avenue Rochester Hotel(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Avenue Changi Hotel(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$106
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Marina Bay Sands(Singapore)
US$648
US$480
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,524)
Filter reviews
1,524 results
Traveller rating
855
426
139
52
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
855
426
139
52
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsglass housebattle boxcolonial buildingorchard roadpremium roombustling cityhigh technespresso machinedhoby ghaut mrtbeautiful hotelcomplimentary drinksclarke quaynational museumboutique hotelevening drinksplaza singapuraquiet location
Filter
Updating list...
282 - 287 of 1,524 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2017

First, I must say that my experience started with walking up levels of stairs to the hotel under the hot sun, which wasn't comfortable as you can imagine. However, I will say that the hotel was worth it!

Hotel Fort Canning looks great the moment you lay eyes on it. After all the building has a lot of history to it. The inside of the hotel is really impressive. At the reception, they sit you down to go through your stay, unlike those chain hotels which usually have standing counters. The customer service representative is very helpful and provides a personal touch.

When I got to my room, there was a cockroach in it. I wasn't alarmed given the spot the hotel is at, with lots of green surrounding it. However, it would be great if room servicing crew had checked to ensure cleanliness. Hotel management swiftly offered to move us to another room. Having seen two rooms, I must say that all the rooms have unique views and comfort to offer.

I must add that management also decorated the room with towel swans on the bed and petals, which were amazing! See my photos!

The rooms have tall ceiling and are very spacious to begin. Each room also comes with a bath, which is great! Not to mention the rooms are very elegantly decorated, adding to the feel-good factor. Facilities like gym and swimming pools are really nice too.

I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to tourists and even locals!

Room Tip: Pick the ones with bathtub and ask for towel swans!
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElxLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HFCManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear ElxLee,

Greetings from Hotel Fort Canning.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and taking the time to share your experience with us.

There are lifts located at the basement car park located at the foot of the hill that takes guests to lobby level. We apologise if this was not better communicated to you.

It was our pleasure delighting you with our rooms which are styled by the award-winning DP Architects with the finest hospitality amenities including Poltrona Frau statement furnishing, Jim Thompson silk finishing, TWG teas, Nespresso machine with pods and signature picture window design feature.

Thank you for your high praise for our team members and we will be sure to share your kind compliments with them.

It has been a privilege having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming your return soon.

At your service we remain.

Best wishes,

Abigail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

A lovely conversion from an old historic building. Rooms comfortable with high ceilings and surrounded by lush greens. Staff were attentive and helpful. Would definitely stay here again!

For best stays, the corner rooms offer a little more space.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank NaniSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HFCManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear NaniSG,

Greetings from Hotel Fort Canning.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and taking the time to share your experience with us.

Our building was originally completed in 1926 as the British Far East Command Headquarters. Today, it has been styled by the award-winning DP Architects into a luxury boutique hotel that embodies the finest hospitality amenities while retaining its original colonial architecture and heritage. We are glad to hear that you had enjoyed your room with its signature picture window design and high ceilings.

Thank you for your kind compliments on our service staff.

We will be sure to convey your compliments to them.

It has been a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming your return soon.

At your service we remain.

Best Regards,

Abigail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

A beautifully outfitted hotel, HFC is an oasis in Singapore. It is tucked away and secluded in the botanical gardens but still walking distance to Orchard Rd and the hub-bub of town.

The staff were attentive friendly and extremely helpful, the rooms although small were lovely with a comfortable bed & pillows (always the bane of my existence when I travel) and the pool pristine.

Loved the complimentary phone that could be used for the duration of the stay including off-site when you are out & about - I have never had this before & all other 5star hotels should take note of this! Breakfast buffet had all you could want. The happy hour free drinks and canapés are a lovely way to end the day or start the evening.

Sadly we only had one night here, but would highly recommend this hotel for solo travelers or couples. If I go back to Singapore I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tania03061964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HFCManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Tania03061964,

Greetings from Hotel Fort Canning.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and taking the time to share your experience with us.

As the only hotel in Singapore to be nestled amongst 18 hectares of lush national parkland in the heart of the city, many of our guests have enjoyed the tranquillity of convenience of our unique location. We are glad to hear that you share their sentiment.

Here at Hotel Fort Canning, we believe it is the little things that count and are glad that the handy device had been useful in your travels.

We are delighted to learn that you had found time to mingle with other guests during Aperitif Hour.

It has been a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming your return soon.

At your service we remain.

Best Regards,

Abigail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Neither a notch above / below Conrads & Shangrilas; the hotel itself is a notch just as the Conrads could be. No woes experienced, like being over-attentive to the guests, nor under-attentive. Tried the buffet breakfasts, surely made for globe trotters. The entire ecosystem of the place including nature & people, ambience & décor, architecture & conduciveness to peace; seemed magically holistic in harmony. The experience is surely unique, given the extreme uniqueness of this one! Would I visit again? Of course & why not! Thanks to the wonderful Canning-ers who made the stay very very hassle-free!!

Room Tip: The upper floors could give a view outside the hotel property as well, which otherwise is perched a little above sea-levels.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnson24x7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HFCManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Dear johnson24x7,

Greetings from Hotel Fort Canning.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and taking the time to share your experience with us.

It was our pleasure delighting you with our rooms which are styled by the award-winning DP Architects with the finest hospitality amenities including Poltrona Frau statement furnishing, Jim Thompson silk finishing, TWG teas, Nespresso machine with pods and signature picture window design feature.

Thank you for your kind compliments on our team members. We will be sure to share it with them.

It has been a pleasure having you at our urban oasis and we look forward to your return soon.

At your service we remain.

Best wishes,

Abigail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Spent two nights here for a special birthday celebration. While it is only a 10 minute walk to Orchard Road, the hotel sits in the middle of Fort Canning park which makes for a very peaceful and quiet stay. The rooms have a wonderful mix of heritage architecture, with all the modern amenities thrown in. The rooms are well maintained and generous. Staff were very obliging, excellent customer service all around.
Bonus:
1. Free drinks and canapés for hotel guests from 6-7pm everyday; and
2. You get a smart phone with your room, free to use while in Singapore, unlimited data and free calls (even international).

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 308ktheh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HFCManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear 308ktheh,

Greetings from Hotel Fort Canning.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and taking the time to share your experience with us.

Originally completed in 1926, our building formerly served as the British Far East Command Headquarters; it is our privilege to share its heritage and history with our valued guest such as yourself.

We are glad to learn that you had enjoyed your room which was styled by the award-winning DP Architects with the finest hospitality amenities.
Thank you for your kind compliments for our team members, I will be sure to share your sentiments with them.

We are delighted to learn that you had found time to mingle with other guests during Aperitif Hour and also made use of the handy phone during your stay.

It has been a pleasure having you at our urban oasis and we look forward to your return soon.

At your service we remain.

Best wishes,

Abigail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews