We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small rooms w/ great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fragrance Hotel - Bugis
Ranked #178 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 4 August 2012

stayed here for 3days2nights, i wasn't really surprised about the room size since i already know how small it was when i booked for it, the buffet breakfast was very satisfying for me, not really near shopping area, you have to do a bit of long walking or take a taxi to go to shopping area.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank r3ch13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

319 - 323 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2012

Good point is the location.........

Bad points are:
Tiny room -couldn't swing a cat in our room. Struggled with our cases.
Room with no window
Bathroom size of a small cupboard- was a wet room so you could poo, shave and shower at the same time!! Without having to move!!
Crappy restaurant!

Disgusting breakfast.....like a school canteen!!!! We went in and walked straight out.

I think we paid far too much for it and we should have been paid o stay there. It is the first room I have ever stayed in that had no window. Awful!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KtMet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We wouldn't have stayed here if not for the location which is diagonally right opposite Bugis Junction.

Room is small and window-less, as expected. I wish the room cleaning service could be more efficient. We went back to hotel around 4pm and the room has not been cleaned.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
5  Thank CheeHong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We booked two rooms for 5 nights because of the location. I booked through the internet special and added comments for rooms with windows due to my asthma. when we got to the hotel we were told that the rooms will not be on the same floor should we want one room with a window. I opted to be on the same floor as my friends instead when they reassured me that the rooms are well ventilated. I ended up in a small humid room with a crack in the wall and black mold on the ceiling. There was a strong smell and the room was definitely not well ventilated. This room was not helpful to my asthma. After leaving our luggage in our rooms, we went down to the lobby to see about WIFI as my friend saw on the board in the lobby that breakfast and WIFI was COMPLIMENTARY. The staff confirmed that it was COMPLIMENTARY. When we asked her for the password, she started telling us the price for 2 hours, 12 hours or 24 hours?!?!? Confused, we pointed at the sign and asked again "Is WIFI COMPLIMENTARY?" She said "yes, but the charge is $ for 2 hours,....". That is NOT complimentary!!

The first night and second night was awful because the humidity in the room and the smell. We also noticed that there was no cable. Eventually, I asked if they have a room with a window to move me in. They confirmed they do have on on the same floor as my friends, so I was happy. But after being moved to the room did I realize what a big mistake it was. The room had a small window but you would never open it because there is construction right across that wakes you up at 7:00am. And worst of all, there was a strong smell of smoke when it was a smokefree room. I would have rather they told me that the room had problems.

Our flight out was late at night and I didn't realize that we didn't actually need the last night I booked because we would be at the airport. So, I asked what the penalty was and the staff confirmed it would be one night's cost to cancel. After discussing with my friends, we all agreed that we were extremely unhappy with the rooms. So, we went next door to Hotel 81 to check the prices and if it was reasonable, we would rather move and pay the one night penalty. Hotel 81's lobby was clean and spacious, the price was comparable and we checked the rooms and they were bigger and CLEAN. So, we went back to Fragrance to try to cancel but the staff this time told us that we booked through the internet and it's NOT refundable. We would have had to forfeit 3 nights if we want to cancel!! I also brought up that the room they moved me in smells strongly of smoke. I believe it was the manager that looked at me, nodded and went back to pretend looking at the computer. No apologies, no effort to resolve our situation. The least they can do is ask why we want to cancel and what they can do to improve our stay. We went back to Hotel 81 to let them know that we can't cancel at Fragrance. The staff at Hotel 81 said it's unusual for there to be such booking conditions.

DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL!! If location is what you are looking for, Hotel 81 is a few doors down and even though I didn't get a chance to stay there, the rooms are bigger and better ventilated. I don't know when it's ever okay to put guests in rooms with mold or strong smell of smoke when it's smokefree!

Room Tip: After seeing three different rooms in this hotel, I've determined there are no good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank travel_explorer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Like the others have said it's all about the location! Bugis MRT is a short walk. Get the tourist pass for the MRT it's worth it. There are many places to eat and shop nearby. Bugis village is where you can buy all your souvenirs cheap. The hotel itself is an attached property so most rooms have no windows. bathroom is very small. The rooms are big enough for two people max.
No free wifi, you do get coupons for free breakfast at the hotel's restaurant. The menu is mostly the same everyday. Choose this hotel for the location not accommodations!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scarlota21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel 81-Bugis
#239 of 317 in Singapore
219 reviews
Hotel Kai
#139 of 317 in Singapore
264 reviews
Summer View Hotel
#112 of 317 in Singapore
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#126 of 317 in Singapore
1,026 reviews
Downtown Core
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#217 of 317 in Singapore
153 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Riverside
#174 of 317 in Singapore
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fragrance Hotel - Bugis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fragrance Hotel - Bugis

Address: 33 Middle Road Fragrance Hotel - Bugis, Singapore 188942, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $93 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fragrance Hotel - Bugis 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fragrance Hotel - Bugis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrance Hotel - Bugis Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing