We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first hostel!”
Review of River City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
River City Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I was staying in a hostel for the first time and was apprehensive about how it will turn out to be. And, it turned out to be superb! As a journalist, I have slept in various places ranging from premium hotels (Sheraton, Leela, Taj) to hard benches in bus stations! :) The River City Inn was a very pleasant experience.
The common area is very clean and inviting. The rooms and bathrooms are very neat and well-maintained. Breakfast is basic, but you can always buy something and pop it in the fridge (I bought yoghurt and fruit). It is a hop, skip and jump from Clarke Quay MRT station and Chinatown is quite close. I'll surely recommend it to all friends and I do intend to go back with my wife.
Special thanks to Jackie, Nicolas, Henry and the rest of the staff. The only downside is the absence of a lift, but it is a heritage building and there is nothing the management can do about it

Room Tip: The six-bed room is more private, but has no windows. I moved to the bigger dorm, eventually.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mathewtgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

538 - 542 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

Perfect hostel, the cleanest i've had on my trip. Very well organised, friendly staff, free internet and breakfast. Absolutely recommendable.

Room Tip: 26 bed dorm is totally okay, if there is not a snoring guy underneath u :-) Every bed has its own li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bechhold_christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

i live there for 3 night , first night i feel this hostel so bad,Staff Fussy and not friendly. I don't like them. Every Half an hour,They will walk in my room CLOSE and OPEN air conditioner. --* I could not sleep all night.This hostel Staff friendly and take care so good have 2 people, 1 young man 1 young women. Other than that. the room in this hostel so clean very much. It near central shopping mall and Riverside point too.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ipaoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I enjoyed staying in this hotel. It's clean and pretty. The service was very friendly. I'm comletely satisfied and I'm looking forward to stay there in future trips.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. You can choose whichever you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dastan_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Good position is the biggest advantage of the inn. It's neat and safe. Staff are very helpful with warm hearts. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marsyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fisher BnB
#2 of 244 in Singapore
435 reviews
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#31 of 244 in Singapore
510 reviews
Joo Chiat
Betel Box Hostel
Betel Box Hostel
#23 of 244 in Singapore
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Chinatown
Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown
Rucksack Inn @ Lavender
#17 of 244 in Singapore
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River City Inn

Address: 33C Hongkong Street, Singapore 059672, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 244 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $26 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — River City Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River City Inn is a family-owned and operated hostel. As travellers ourselves, we know that affordability should never compromise hospitality. Everything you need to provide a comfortable stay are available: Free Wi-Fi, Clean Sheets, Good Breakfast, Air-Conditioning, and more!But at River City Inn, we aim to offer something more. After you have explored the winding streets of Singapore, experienced the different cultures, delighted your taste buds and worn your shoes under the sweltering heat, we want to welcome you back. We want to offer you a place to unwind, write your journal, talk to other travelers and share stories. We aim not only to provide a bed for the night, but a space for the exchange of ideas, inspirations, personal reflections and growth. Because that is what traveling is about.Terms & Conditions:• All rates are inclusive of taxes• Check in time: 2pm to 11pm. Please note that we DO NOT accept check-in after 11pm. Please respect our check in time after 2pm as we have to adhere to our cleaning schedule (12pm to 2pm) to upkeep the cleanliness of the hostel. Our reception operates from 7am to 11pm.• Check out time: 12pm• If you have an early flight, you may check in early(after 7am on the check in date)and use our facilities or you can leave your bags with us whilst you head out to explore the city.• Likewise, if you have a late flight or bus to catch on the day of your checkout, you may leave your bags with us at no additional cost.• To keep our prices low, we accept cash only for payment.• To upkeep the environment of a backpackers hostel, we do not accommodate children below the age of 5. Children aged between 5 and 11 years can be accommodated in private rooms only, and not in dormitories. Children aged 12 and over can be accommodated either in private rooms or in the dormitories.• Due to our limited capacity at our Inn, we do not accept Singaporeans/returning locals/PR/Foreigners holding work permits. Please contact us before booking whenever in doubt.• Please note that we are located on the 4th floor of a heritage shophouse without a lift.• To upkeep the cleanliness of the hostel, no footwear is allowed indoors (except in the toilets). Guest may wear socks if they are not comfortable barefooted.• We do not accept big groups above 8pax. Please contact us for clarification.•Please note that not all our rooms or dorms have windows. If you need to stay in a room with windows, please check with us before booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your River City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River City Hotel Singapore
River City Inn Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing