We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended: Atmosphere, Location, People, Comfort”
Review of River City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River City Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2016

I spent 10 days at River City Inn. Although I was irritated by the uni-sex showers and toilets at first, I discovered that they were very well maintained and cleaned daily. Staff is very friendly, breakfast (toast, butter, peanut butter, nutella, tea, coffee) is served until 12am, every bed as a little curtain which covers half your bedside and gives you some privacy (something I haven't found in any other hostel in Singapore).

There are lockers, which could technically easily be hacked, but because of the positive environment I was never afraid to leave all my stuff there. Besides, there's always staff at the reception just outside the rooms for 24h/d.

What else? There's a fridge, drinkable/clean water to refill your bottle, luggage storage at the reception, 24h entry with an electronic key, TV (with only one channel), radio, air conditioner, laundry service (with 8 S-Dollars cheaper than other hostels, which usually washed for 12 S-Dollars)...

Over all: I felt safe, comfortable, relaxed and enjoyed a high standard of cleanliness compared to many other hostels in town. I spent time in other Singaporean Hostels as well, but River City Inn is my Number 1 for my next stay in the city.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms don't have windows, mention this at booking if wished. Lower beds have shades...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Seychrisde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 31 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Such a good hostel
The reception guy was so nice, we were impressed with his introduction about the hostel
The floor and bathroom were clean but the bed has some dust since I am alleged to dust I could notice from my body.

But overall it was good!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Patlapa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Loved this place and would most definitely stay again. It was super clean and I liked the fact that the dorms had little curtains on the lower bunks so you could have a bit of privacy.

The kitchen facilities were good - you could get water/coffee/tea all day and there was appliances (although we didn't use them). Breakfast was basic but ok - just toast and bananas. This was ok for me but my boyfriend doesn't like bananas so had limited choice. Maybe some cereal would be a nice option.

Wifi didn't always work but I guess this was when so many people were trying to use it at once.

These small issues weren't a big deal but maybe worth mentioning.

Other than that I cannot complain. The location was fantastic, so close to China Town and the MRT.

For cat lovers, there is a fantastic cat cafe 5 minute walk away from the Inn which I would really recommend! (Neko No Niwa)

Would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AverageGiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Perfect location and Kind people.The room is wide.Even though it's without window,but air in the room is clear and fresh.The housekeeper make me feel at ease and always give me a hand.:))) I really have a good memory when I stayed there.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kawi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

If you're looking for friendly and helpful staff, a central location to all attractions, a good nights sleep and free breakfast then this is the place for you. This hostel has a friendly atmosphere and is in walking distance to the main places to see. It's also very close to several MRT stations for the days when you want to venture out a bit further. I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone travelling alone or with friends.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Emily0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Quarters Hostel
#48 of 240 in Singapore
285 reviews
Fisher BnB
#3 of 240 in Singapore
430 reviews
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#27 of 240 in Singapore
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Betel Box Hostel
Betel Box Hostel
#20 of 240 in Singapore
250 reviews
Chinatown
Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River City Inn

Address: 33C Hongkong Street, Singapore 059672, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 240 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $27 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — River City Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River City Inn is a family-owned and operated hostel. As travellers ourselves, we know that affordability should never compromise hospitality. Everything you need to provide a comfortable stay are available: Free Wi-Fi, Clean Sheets, Good Breakfast, Air-Conditioning, and more!But at River City Inn, we aim to offer something more. After you have explored the winding streets of Singapore, experienced the different cultures, delighted your taste buds and worn your shoes under the sweltering heat, we want to welcome you back. We want to offer you a place to unwind, write your journal, talk to other travelers and share stories. We aim not only to provide a bed for the night, but a space for the exchange of ideas, inspirations, personal reflections and growth. Because that is what traveling is about.Terms & Conditions:• All rates are inclusive of taxes• Check in time: 2pm to 11pm. Please note that we DO NOT accept check-in after 11pm. Please respect our check in time after 2pm as we have to adhere to our cleaning schedule (12pm to 2pm) to upkeep the cleanliness of the hostel. Our reception operates from 7am to 11pm.• Check out time: 12pm• If you have an early flight, you may check in early(after 7am on the check in date)and use our facilities or you can leave your bags with us whilst you head out to explore the city.• Likewise, if you have a late flight or bus to catch on the day of your checkout, you may leave your bags with us at no additional cost.• To keep our prices low, we accept cash only for payment.• To upkeep the environment of a backpackers hostel, we do not accommodate children below the age of 5. Children aged between 5 and 11 years can be accommodated in private rooms only, and not in dormitories. Children aged 12 and over can be accommodated either in private rooms or in the dormitories.• Due to our limited capacity at our Inn, we do not accept Singaporeans/returning locals/PR/Foreigners holding work permits. Please contact us before booking whenever in doubt.• Please note that we are located on the 4th floor of a heritage shophouse without a lift.• To upkeep the cleanliness of the hostel, no footwear is allowed indoors (except in the toilets). Guest may wear socks if they are not comfortable barefooted.• We do not accept big groups above 8pax. Please contact us for clarification.•Please note that not all our rooms or dorms have windows. If you need to stay in a room with windows, please check with us before booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your River City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River City Hotel Singapore
River City Inn Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing