We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good position”
Review of River City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River City Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2016

clean place, helpfully personel, very good position in the city center; free wifi, confortable room but bed are not so long for very high peoples (I'm 186 and I was at limit), only one big shared bathroom and a basic breakfast in the morning.
well organized distribution of the space and u have to let the shoes outside in an apposite place. I have to say that the hostel is on the 3rd floor and the build is with no elevator so if u have a big baggage, it is not easy to arrive at the entrance.

Room Tip: very good position in the center of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmasmmmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and we arrived early as we got an early flight and we were hoping to get to a bed for some rest before heading out to explore the city, however the staff made us feel slightly unwelcome and would not allow us to check in early, which we may of accepted if it was full...however to our surprise when we were finally allowed to check in there was only 2 out of 10 beds being used and this continued to the next day. Another issue was that we went to pack our bags for the next day to leave we brought our shoes in (you have to take your shoes off and leave them outside the hostel) and whilst holding them we were questioned several times why we were doing it, whilst replying that we were simply packing them. Very awkward. And the hostel setup does not allow you to easily mingle with other travellers, don't go here to meet people as you won't. Only plus is great location.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank hwally10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivercityinn, Manager at River City Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Thank you for your feedback. Please note that it is stated clearly in the terms and conditions of your booking that you may drop off your luggage after 7am on your check in day as an added complimentary service which we provide our guests. Should you need a bed to rest upon arrival, a booking for the previous night is required. Check in is from 2-11pm daily as check out is at 12 noon and we need time to clean the room and change the sheets.

It is also stated in the terms and conditions that ," To upkeep the cleanliness of the hostel, no footwear is allowed indoors (except in the toilets). Guest may wear socks if they are not comfortable barefooted." Our staff will provide guests with plastic bags to bag their shoes should they wish to bring their shoes to their dorm for hygiene purpose.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

I spent 10 days at River City Inn. Although I was irritated by the uni-sex showers and toilets at first, I discovered that they were very well maintained and cleaned daily. Staff is very friendly, breakfast (toast, butter, peanut butter, nutella, tea, coffee) is served until 12am, every bed as a little curtain which covers half your bedside and gives you some privacy (something I haven't found in any other hostel in Singapore).

There are lockers, which could technically easily be hacked, but because of the positive environment I was never afraid to leave all my stuff there. Besides, there's always staff at the reception just outside the rooms for 24h/d.

What else? There's a fridge, drinkable/clean water to refill your bottle, luggage storage at the reception, 24h entry with an electronic key, TV (with only one channel), radio, air conditioner, laundry service (with 8 S-Dollars cheaper than other hostels, which usually washed for 12 S-Dollars)...

Over all: I felt safe, comfortable, relaxed and enjoyed a high standard of cleanliness compared to many other hostels in town. I spent time in other Singaporean Hostels as well, but River City Inn is my Number 1 for my next stay in the city.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms don't have windows, mention this at booking if wished. Lower beds have shades...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Seychrisde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Such a good hostel
The reception guy was so nice, we were impressed with his introduction about the hostel
The floor and bathroom were clean but the bed has some dust since I am alleged to dust I could notice from my body.

But overall it was good!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Patlapa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Loved this place and would most definitely stay again. It was super clean and I liked the fact that the dorms had little curtains on the lower bunks so you could have a bit of privacy.

The kitchen facilities were good - you could get water/coffee/tea all day and there was appliances (although we didn't use them). Breakfast was basic but ok - just toast and bananas. This was ok for me but my boyfriend doesn't like bananas so had limited choice. Maybe some cereal would be a nice option.

Wifi didn't always work but I guess this was when so many people were trying to use it at once.

These small issues weren't a big deal but maybe worth mentioning.

Other than that I cannot complain. The location was fantastic, so close to China Town and the MRT.

For cat lovers, there is a fantastic cat cafe 5 minute walk away from the Inn which I would really recommend! (Neko No Niwa)

Would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AverageGiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Quarters Hostel
#48 of 240 in Singapore
284 reviews
Fisher BnB
#3 of 240 in Singapore
430 reviews
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#27 of 240 in Singapore
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Betel Box Hostel
Betel Box Hostel
#20 of 240 in Singapore
250 reviews
Chinatown
Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River City Inn

Address: 33C Hongkong Street, Singapore 059672, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 240 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $27 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — River City Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River City Inn is a family-owned and operated hostel. As travellers ourselves, we know that affordability should never compromise hospitality. Everything you need to provide a comfortable stay are available: Free Wi-Fi, Clean Sheets, Good Breakfast, Air-Conditioning, and more!But at River City Inn, we aim to offer something more. After you have explored the winding streets of Singapore, experienced the different cultures, delighted your taste buds and worn your shoes under the sweltering heat, we want to welcome you back. We want to offer you a place to unwind, write your journal, talk to other travelers and share stories. We aim not only to provide a bed for the night, but a space for the exchange of ideas, inspirations, personal reflections and growth. Because that is what traveling is about.Terms & Conditions:• All rates are inclusive of taxes• Check in time: 2pm to 11pm. Please note that we DO NOT accept check-in after 11pm. Please respect our check in time after 2pm as we have to adhere to our cleaning schedule (12pm to 2pm) to upkeep the cleanliness of the hostel. Our reception operates from 7am to 11pm.• Check out time: 12pm• If you have an early flight, you may check in early(after 7am on the check in date)and use our facilities or you can leave your bags with us whilst you head out to explore the city.• Likewise, if you have a late flight or bus to catch on the day of your checkout, you may leave your bags with us at no additional cost.• To keep our prices low, we accept cash only for payment.• To upkeep the environment of a backpackers hostel, we do not accommodate children below the age of 5. Children aged between 5 and 11 years can be accommodated in private rooms only, and not in dormitories. Children aged 12 and over can be accommodated either in private rooms or in the dormitories.• Due to our limited capacity at our Inn, we do not accept Singaporeans/returning locals/PR/Foreigners holding work permits. Please contact us before booking whenever in doubt.• Please note that we are located on the 4th floor of a heritage shophouse without a lift.• To upkeep the cleanliness of the hostel, no footwear is allowed indoors (except in the toilets). Guest may wear socks if they are not comfortable barefooted.• We do not accept big groups above 8pax. Please contact us for clarification.•Please note that not all our rooms or dorms have windows. If you need to stay in a room with windows, please check with us before booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your River City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River City Hotel Singapore
River City Inn Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing