We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Japanese in Singapore - complete dining experience!”
Review of Shinji by Kanesaka

Shinji by Kanesaka
Ranked #186 of 10,681 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$60 - US$360
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown Core
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best Japanese in Singapore - complete dining experience!”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This has got to be my favorite Japanese restaurant in Singapore!
I have eaten there about 5 times in 2011 (3 times for lunch, twice for dinner) and have never been disappointed - the service and quality of the food is always consistently mind-blowing.

Run jointly by Joni Ong & Oishi-san, hospitality is at its very best, with Oishi-san's Japanese take on hospitality and Joni's candid, unaffected & warm demeanour.
My family and I have always felt very much welcome there.

Counter seating - and usually packed over lunch hours - be sure to make a reservation in advance! Some would complain of the lack of privacy since it's a rather communal seating arrangement, but I myself have found it to be quite an experience in itself, and extremely authentic. :)

If it's your first time there, be sure to
1. Make a reservation
2. Ask for Oishi-san to serve you
3. Opt for the basic set for lunch (I always go for the 9 pc set, being petite and constantly on a diet, I can barely finish the 7th piece - or the slightly more premium one, when my paycheck's come in)
4. Make sure you have 2-3 hours, with someone you deeply care about so you can slowly enjoy each dish, banter with the sushi chef and drink some sake with your loved one.


The sushi melts in your mouth, is so fresh you half expect the fish slices to perform a little musical and dance around on its rice ball.
<3<3<3 worth every penny. (even though it's a hell of a lot of pennies you're paying!)

For lunch I tend to get away with paying $150-200 per head while for dinner it's about $350-400 with Sake, per head.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ge0rgeous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    43
    12
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“The Ultimate sushi experience”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This is a pricey place, so do not gow if 300S$++ per person will make you feel unconfortable. But if you can afford it and if you want to experience something extraordinery make sure to visit Shinji.
The two hours I have spend there count among the most exciting and amusing time I have ever experieced during dinner.
Can't wait to return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichalZ77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Again and again”
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Never disappointed.
Been here several times, service check. Food double check. Ambience check.
What more can I ask for?:)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not sure if it is worth”
Reviewed 10 December 2011

I visited shinji on mid November. It has nice authentic decor with beautiful wooden counter. We order omakase. Entire experience was ok but I just simply felt painful when I paid the bill (nearly $600). Of course with this price it should be good quality but I ususally concern the cost performance and it makes me feel not worth for it. As I mentioned it was ok. Food is good, Service honestly so so, ambience very good. I believe this price range should show something special and wow theguest. Just it doesn't make me feel happy after the meal like everybody commented and make me feel to come back. If I am rich, it doesn't matter but I rather recommend to go to Japan and have same quality in more reasonable price even pay for the air ticket.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank David19860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Omakase the way I like it”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Omakase roughly translates to "chef's recommendation". @ Shinji, you get to choose the chef you want to serve you. The sashimi is always fresh...and sometimes, the chef will share a joke with you. (I particularly find one chef really cute! :) )

My fave at Shinji is the uni (sea urchin) which can be served in so many ways...whatever the chef deems the best way to serve it. Sometimes, it's in season and you'll have a range of choices.

There are different omakase sets to choose from and I usually go for the $250 set menu (excluding taxes and service charge). The lunch set starts from $75. I have yet to try the dinner omakase set.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank reneyapbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shinji by Kanesaka also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Shinji by Kanesaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing