We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heart of Chinatown, easy access to other places” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Porcelain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Porcelain Hotel
Ranked #5 of 77 Singapore B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Heart of Chinatown, easy access to other places”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2017

Had a staycation on the 31st of December for countdown with friends, we chose the most luxury room with white and porcelain as the theme.
The bathtub is more of a open concept, in the same area where the beds were.
I'm satisfied with my stay because of the big area, with beautiful bathtub, mirror and basin.

We were shock when we first open the room because we only saw a sitting area with TV, thats all. There is a staircase up but the entrance was blocked by the main door LOL.

There are many different concepts for this hotel, and they're definitely worth the stay and experience!

As my room was white-themed, I can see stains on the pillow casings etc. This is one minus points. and the tables/walls are white, thus hard to maintain the "cleanliness" of them.

Didn't call for room service.

The location of this hotel is easily accessible by bus/ or train to Chinatown (Purple/blue MRT Lines) Its walking distance from the train station.
Lots of local delights, as it is in Chinatown.
Many shopping malls and also currency exchange places with good rates.

Room Tip: Different rooms for different experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shroomsxz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    283
    291
    101
    66
See reviews for
74
285
149
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

My wife and I decided on a local hotel for staycation. The room cleanliness is 3.5/5. The amenities around is largely catering to Chinese as it is found in Chinatown. Walking distance from Chinatown train station. The bath tub is large. Wifi is strong and good.

The bad thing is the TV quality is poor. Doesn't show all the local channels. As an Indian couple I was disappointed that there was no vasantham channel.

Overall it's a pass!

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohamed Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2017

This hotel is located one street away from Chinatown, so it will be a little less crowded and quieter than usual. The rooms are compact and clean. However, it might be too small for those with families. A couple or a solo traveller would be fine in these conditions.

Room Tip: Higher floors if you still find noise an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2016, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank two5kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2017

I was in this hotel from 2nd to the 8th January, 2017. The location of the hotel is in a very nice place if you love food. This is two streets away from the food street. The best part of this hotel is that it is very conveniently situated and the MRT is like 50 meters from the hotel. The variety of food that you get around here is a delight in itself.
The only thing I did not like about the hotel was that its rooms, they were claustrophobic. The staff is well behaved and courteous plus helpful. Considering the size of the rooms the price seems to be a bit too high.

Room Tip: Travel by MRT from the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SujoyKanjilal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for two weeks and it promises much and delivers little.

My first room was tiny with nowhere to luggage or hang clothes. I was then shown another room and the mattress was on the floor. I was then given a suite for the night which was a large room but quite nice.

The next day I was moved again to a room that was very light and had no curtains. The mattress was so knackered it hurt my back.

My last room was better but still small.

This is relatively cheap and the best price can be achieved using the hotel's own website.

The building interior is tired and looks tatty and could do with a lick of paint if the owners can't afford a refurbishment.

On the positive the staff are friendly, the room cleaning is good and the location in Chinatown is superb.

But the negative outweigh the positive so I won't be back.

Stayed January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel YAN
#49 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#83 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Hotel Boss
#135 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#62 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,204 reviews
Joo Chiat
Champion Hotel
Champion Hotel
#92 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Chinatown
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Porcelain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Porcelain Hotel

Property: The Porcelain Hotel
Address: 48 Mosque Street Porcelain Hotel, Singapore 059526, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Singapore
Price range (per night): $105 - $157
Hotel Class:3 star — The Porcelain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
China has long been endeared as a precious jewel of the east. Infused with a rich history of refinement, it is a cradle of cultural and intellectual civilization rich as gold and precious as porcelain. Just as porcelain is deemed a treasure, China’s undaunting lead to create a new chapter in the new century weaves a priceless tapestry of fine china.A journey so precious, we invite you to be a part of. Here’s wishing you a treasured stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Porcelain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Porcelain Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing