We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool design for a boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Porcelain Hotel
Ranked #6 of 80 Singapore B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 February 2017

I would've given this a 3.5 star if that were an option, because the experience here was definitely above average but below very good. For a boutique hotel (this is NOT a bed and breakfast, not sure why it's categorized as such), Porcelain definitely had a very unique and interesting flavor. I especially like the understated yet elegant decorations that is a mixture of the orient and that of the modern. Now, the rooms are very small (I'm talking about making a turn in the same spot and you almost run into the opposite wall from that motion alone) and as with the way it is with just about every hotel in Singapore, the prices are high for the space you get. It's important to note that to optimize space and revenue, quite a number of the rooms in the hotel does NOT have windows! If you want to make sure you manage to get up during day time, be sure to turn on the dimmer / night light they have in the ceiling - which btw, was actually of a pretty cool design. In conclusion, if all you're looking for are a convenient place to stay and one that has an interesting design (and not rundown or shady-looking like the neighboring Hotel 81) but do not care for space allocation, flair, or service, then this hotel is the one for you.

Room Tip: Get the room with windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Immortalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 62 of 870 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2017

When I stay for holidays I'm usually in a chirpy mood. And it doesn't take much to make me happy.

Service was barely existent, if you call it service at all. It was not rude, but probably bordering on it, if you are nitpicky. From the first greeting, which was not much of a greeting, to the end of my stay I did not feel like a valued guest.

I get that staff are not obliged to treat guests like emperors or the President, but is eye contact and some smiles too much to ask? Every touchpoint was curt and minimal. Instructions/information points were brief and to the point, without much emotion. It's as if you are ordering takeout from a busy restaurant.

I was asked for my ID, had my name verified, and was passed a piece of paper with wifi instructions and checkout timings informed. That was it.

The suite room was spacious for a boutique and well priced though.

Bathing amenities were limited - the basic soap and shampoo, towels, and a bathtub in the room.

Aircon was slightly noisy, TV had lack of channels, and the quality was not too good.

Room felt like it needed more maintenance. Other than that it's probably quite hard to find a room this size, with a bathtub, at this price, in such a location.

I have mixed feelings about this place, but you might want to give it a try and see if you can make it work.

Room Tip: Choose the suite if you can, prices are basically normal room rates, and you get more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j4ke_ooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Had a staycation on the 31st of December for countdown with friends, we chose the most luxury room with white and porcelain as the theme.
The bathtub is more of a open concept, in the same area where the beds were.
I'm satisfied with my stay because of the big area, with beautiful bathtub, mirror and basin.

We were shock when we first open the room because we only saw a sitting area with TV, thats all. There is a staircase up but the entrance was blocked by the main door LOL.

There are many different concepts for this hotel, and they're definitely worth the stay and experience!

As my room was white-themed, I can see stains on the pillow casings etc. This is one minus points. and the tables/walls are white, thus hard to maintain the "cleanliness" of them.

Didn't call for room service.

The location of this hotel is easily accessible by bus/ or train to Chinatown (Purple/blue MRT Lines) Its walking distance from the train station.
Lots of local delights, as it is in Chinatown.
Many shopping malls and also currency exchange places with good rates.

Room Tip: Different rooms for different experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shroomsxz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

My wife and I decided on a local hotel for staycation. The room cleanliness is 3.5/5. The amenities around is largely catering to Chinese as it is found in Chinatown. Walking distance from Chinatown train station. The bath tub is large. Wifi is strong and good.

The bad thing is the TV quality is poor. Doesn't show all the local channels. As an Indian couple I was disappointed that there was no vasantham channel.

Overall it's a pass!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mohamed Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

This hotel is located one street away from Chinatown, so it will be a little less crowded and quieter than usual. The rooms are compact and clean. However, it might be too small for those with families. A couple or a solo traveller would be fine in these conditions.

Room Tip: Higher floors if you still find noise an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank two5kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#89 of 317 in Singapore
691 reviews
Hotel G Singapore
#68 of 317 in Singapore
1,170 reviews
Naumi Liora
#103 of 317 in Singapore
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel YAN
#58 of 317 in Singapore
452 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#64 of 317 in Singapore
1,599 reviews
Chinatown
The Southbridge Hotel
The Southbridge Hotel
#2 of 80 in Singapore
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Porcelain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Porcelain Hotel

Address: 48 Mosque Street Porcelain Hotel, Singapore 059526, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Singapore
Price Range: $104 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Porcelain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
China has long been endeared as a precious jewel of the east. Infused with a rich history of refinement, it is a cradle of cultural and intellectual civilization rich as gold and precious as porcelain. Just as porcelain is deemed a treasure, China’s undaunting lead to create a new chapter in the new century weaves a priceless tapestry of fine china.A journey so precious, we invite you to be a part of. Here’s wishing you a treasured stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Porcelain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Porcelain Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing