We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Trixie V
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines

Nice, chill vibe

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Sept 2017
My friend and i stayed 2 nights late last year and I've been meaning to drop in and give a kudos to the staff. We really enjoyed our stay. Coffee was excellent, food was nice, the beds were comfortable, and the amenities adequate. We especially enjoyed the rooftop lounge area at night as it allowed us to socialize and meet like minded travelers. Will definitely choose this hostel again when I go back to SG.
Date of stay: December 2016
Room Tip: try not to use the toilets/showers that lead to the rooftop. there are cleaner ones in another...
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
S$210
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    S$238
  • Vio.com
    S$169
  • Expedia.com
    S$236
0.7 km from The Green Kiwi Backpacker Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
S$151
S$119
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    S$134
  • Expedia.com
    S$120
  • Vio.com
    S$119
0.7 km from The Green Kiwi Backpacker Hostel
Pool
Restaurant
S$123
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    S$120
  • Vio.com
    S$119
  • Agoda.com
    S$131
2.0 km from The Green Kiwi Backpacker Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
Facade
S$119
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    S$119
  • KLOOK
    S$97
  • Vio.com
    S$119
1.0 km from The Green Kiwi Backpacker Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
S$148
  • Expedia.com
    S$139
  • Vio.com
    S$137
  • Hotels.com
    S$145
1.9 km from The Green Kiwi Backpacker Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
S$167
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
    S$158
  • Agoda.com
    S$127
  • Vio.com
    S$159
3.4 km from The Green Kiwi Backpacker Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
S$273
  • Hotels.com
    S$273
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$256
  • Expedia.com
    S$273
15.0 km from The Green Kiwi Backpacker Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
Facade
S$146
  • Expedia.com
    S$135
  • Agoda.com
    S$132
  • Vio.com
    S$137
4.0 km from The Green Kiwi Backpacker Hostel
Pool
Restaurant
View more hotels in Singapore
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
169
155
39
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
169
155
39
15
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 386 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2017

This hostel is simply OK, although we booked to stay here as the reviews were good but this hostel has now combined with Rucksack Inn @lavendar and it seems to be a completely different place. It is hard if you came from a different asian city and were paying much less for much more, and so I want to be fair as it is Singapore; it's an expensive city! The hostel provides free bread and jams in the morning, which is always a bonus. I didn't have to wait for a shower as there were plenty and they were reasonably clean. Some of the staff were friendly and helpful, and the older lady was always lovely to all the guests. Downside is that you have to take your shoes off in the whole property, even though the floor is sometimes dirty and often wet from either the mop being slapped around or from people's wet shower feet. The toilets on our side of the building were grim; they were often soaking wet (remember the no shoes thing) and for the first few days, the showers were cold and we had to go round to the other side of the property to use those showers. To be fair, these were much nicer and the did not smell so much. The bins all smelled like ashtrays (because I guess that's where they were emptied) including the one in our room. The sinks smelled of eggy/poo every time you ran them. It seemed like there were some long term guests there and the hostel didn't seem to be like a usual place where you would meet lots of people and end up hanging out with them. Our room was on the hallway leading to the rooftop, which meant that we were woken up by people who talked at normal volume when walking back in, even at 2 in the morning (not the hostel's fault though as they did have signs up). I personally would not stay here again. Wifi was an issue and the woman on reception told me there was a problem with it.

Room tip: Ask for a room on the other side to the roof garden and they looked much nicer. No couple rooms there though.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 June 2017

Was here with My friends 4nights! Coosy beds and includes brake fast! You have the bus's top outside so it's easy to go in to the city! The service was good and they could answer all of our questions !

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matildaj_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

I stayed here as a single traveller. It has now merged with rucksack inn.

It does not have a backpacker atmosphere at all! I was in a 10 bed room and at least 3 of the other guests were living here - one had been for 3 years... And the other two worked at the hostel. Asked to turn the air con down and one of the long term guests said no. Obviously if it's your home then that's how it works (!)
The rest of the room were 40+
Weird layout to the hostel, lots of corridors, made it all feel very separate. Not good for meeting people.
Breakfast is ok, beds ok, bathrooms a bit dirty. Good to have computers to use.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank HannahWebb57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 May 2017

First time to travel solo, great place to start. The amenities are not lacking-- the all you can eat breakfast of toast and jams is filling for a long morning of walking around in they city. It's such a relaxed place, and the people in the same room (all-female room) were quite friendly. Maybe I'm just overly sensitive but the music playing in the common room is quite loud though. Showers are great, always kept clean. Beds are comfy and clean.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

I have stayed here like 7 times so far in the past two years. Sadly, hygiene wise it's only getting worse. Last time around the toilet's situation was beyond description. This is the side from where people go upstairs so on many evenings a lot of drunk travellers end up using it and sort of messing up. Anyhow, the rooms are alright. Certain beds may not have wifi reception. No lockers in the room, so you have to put your stuff under the bed. Smaller lockers available near the reception. The staff is alright. The filipinas were nice and friendly. Location is a bit of a walk to places, yet in comparison to many it's quite nice. I stay here again and again for the sake of fruits that they offer during breakfast. It's just a nice change to usual bread and spread only breakfast in most hostels around. Which explains the few bucks extra they charge (in comparison). Also, the coffee is the best i've had in any hostel. You're allowed one free espresso with ur breakfast and it's just perfect. The house keeping is efficient on some days. Did find a whole of dust and trash under the bunk. Also, plenty of long term travellers/workers staying here. Dorm literally never leave the room. Kinda strange! Anyhow, so with breakfast being one of the major reasons, i wouldn't say much about anything else. Oh and the rooftop is nice for socialising and beers (which are cheaper than other places). I'd hope and wish for the place to get cleaner.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank SinghGaurav
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews