We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in class for Cooking Schools in Singapore”

Palate Sensations Cooking School Day Classes
Book In Advance
More Info
US$116.69*
and up
Private Singapore Cooking Experience with Optional Market Visit
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Palate Sensations is a leading life style cooking school offering intimate and fun experiences for cooking classes, corporate team building, private dining and parties in Singapore.
Reviewed 21 March 2017

I am a return student at Palate Sensations and highly recommend the cooking classes. I recently took the two day intensive on Kueh with chef Loh Shi Erh and Dimsum pastries with Lynette Foo. Both sessions were excellent.

The facilities are well equipped, scrupulously clean and the instructors knowledgeable & well organized. I particularly like the level of professionalism displayed by the staff and expected of the students. This is not edutainment demo cooking - quality ingredients are on hand but they have to measured, weighed, prepared, cooked & presented by the students (with no wash-up! ;-)

Palate Sensations offers a diverse range of cooking classes and cuisines. Learning how to make kueh and dimsum is normally only available through aunties or professional chef schools. Since I had neither (auntie nor chef school), this was excellent way to learn and a great alternative to the one-item-at-a-time options available to the casual student. The school also offers corporate team building events, parties and longer, multi-week cooking series. I've not attended but they look well organized.

My classes were ideal class sizes - three/four - which is enough for everyone to be hands on and sufficient so that the instructor could answer any questions.

I've been to a lot of cooking classes, from home kitchens to Le Cordon Bleu. I can honestly say that Palate Sensations is one of the best.

I highly recommend.

Thank SandyL86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalateSensations, Owner at Palate Sensations Cooking School Day Classes, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Hello hello! Thanks so much for coming and it was great having you in the classes.. Remember, add all the water in the dough!

Happy cooking and baking!

Lynette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"learning how"
in 4 reviews
"cooking class"
in 8 reviews
"market visit"
in 2 reviews
"private class"
in 2 reviews
"instructor"
in 9 reviews
"equipment"
in 4 reviews
"series"
in 3 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

I have been here before to do cooking classes and returned for a second recently. The classes are well planned and hands on, very enjoyable. Easy to get to from Boena Vista MRT station.

Thank ScooterOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2016

Well organized cooking class, ideal for team building session and for having a lot of fun!
We cooked a 4-stories menu and had a really lazy night there!
Our chef from Spain was really good in keeping us at work and let us having an enjoyable evening.

Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2015

My boyfriend and I attended the cupcake class on 19 Dec. There were a total of 4 students on that day. In summary, we did not enjoy the class and felt cheated due to the following reasons:

1) Mode of teaching

- No proper introduction by the teacher of her culinary qualifications/ professional baking experiences.

- We were each given a piece of paper with the recipe for 24 cupcakes and therefore we thought that we would each make 24 cupcakes. However, the teacher told us that the 24 cupcakes were for all 4 students and she would like us to make more so that she could give some cupcakes to the bosses.

- We did not have individual sets of baking materials and ingredients. Instead, ingredients for 30 or so cupcakes were placed in the middle of the kitchen island and the teacher called names to perform certain roles. For example, the teacher would say "XXX would you like to sift the flour?". Meanwhile, the remaining 3 students watched on together with the teacher.

2) Inefficiency and hiccups

- We were told to scoop the batter into the cupcake paper cups. There were 4 of us but only 2 scoops were available. As a result, we had to take turns and the whole process took longer than necessary.

- While waiting for the cupcakes to be ready, we were suppose to make vanilla buttercream frosting as part of the recipe. The plan was for us to chose 6 cupcakes each and decorate them with the vanilla buttercream frosting. However, the teacher was unable to make the buttercream even after 2 attempts. As a result, she had to make whipped cream instead. Worse still, the first batch of whipped cream was not enough for the 4 of us and we had to wait again for her to make more whipped cream.

- When we registered for the class, it was clearly stated on the website that the course kit for us to take home would include the following:

"Your course kit, worth $25, will include the following to take home:
• Wilton 11” spatula
• Piping tips 2D, 1M, Round
• Piping bags
• Coupler
• Cupcake box"

However, we did not receive the round piping tip, piping bags and coupler. The teacher could not find enough new round piping tips and hence all 4 of us did not get it. My boyfriend and I asked for the coupler at the end of the class and the teacher shared that she did not prepare them because we would not need it for the class. For the piping bags, we used 1 each for piping the whipped cream. I was not sure if we could take the unused ones home but I did not bother to ask.

Overall, I felt that the $320 we paid for 2 person was not well spent at all and I would not recommend anyone to attend the class.

Thank Ong F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalateSensations, Owner at Palate Sensations Cooking School Day Classes, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2015

Dear Ms Ong

Thank you for your feedback. We take all feedback very seriously at Palate Sensations. I am terribly sorry to hear of your disappointing experience with your class. I have spoken to the chef and have discussed at length all the issues you have mentioned here. We have taken the feedback on board and we will change the way the class is conducted in future to ensure that this does not happen again.

We strive for excellence in the way our classes are conducted and with the chefs we work with so we really appreciate that you have taken the time to highlight this to us.

I have written to Jonathan to let him know that we dont feel it is appropriate to accept money when our clients feel that we have missed the mark. In this case, we have clearly done so. I have told Jonathan that we would like to give you a full refund for the class. A very small gesture that will no doubt not change your negative experience but I hope will at least not put you out of pocket.

Please let us know through email to us if we can proceed with the refund.

Regards

Lynette Foo
Owner
Palate Sensations Cooking School

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2015 via mobile

I took my team to Palate Sensations for a team building cook-out. Instead what we got was an overly aggressive Spanish chef who was doing her best to get us out of the kitchen as quickly as possible, and a very disinterested business manager. Zero team building elements, limited wine options (despite what they say on their site). Definitely won't be going back, and certainly wouldn't recommend them for a corporate team building evening.

1  Thank Thomo_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalateSensations, Owner at Palate Sensations Cooking School Day Classes, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2015

Thank you for your review. We take feedback very seriously at Palate Sensations. We strive for excellence here with all our classes and with all our teaching staff. Unfortunately, I will have to agree with you about Chef Ruth. She does sometimes come across as overly aggressive even though in reality, she is not a Gordon Ramsey but more of a Nigella Lawson. Her Galician (Spanish) accent comes out quite harsh. She has held countless corporate team building events at Palate Sensations and your feedback is not the first to highlight this. I do apologise for this. We have taken steps to ensure that she doesnt come across like this in the future. We also apologise if she seemed to rush you all through the class as that is also not the intention. We have also taken steps to ensure this does not happen in the future.

I have spoken to our Business Manager about her attitude. Again, it seems like I am apologising all the time but her attitude is certainly not like this.

I am sorry to hear that your experience is disappointing at Palate Sensations. We have taken a hard look at ourselves and have made sure moving forward that we communicate with our clients in a more mindful way to ensure they all leave with a positive impression and a positive experience. Thank you for highlighting this. We hope that you and your team will return to Palate Sensations for another event so that we can have a chance to show you a positive experience.

Lynette Foo
Owner
Palate Sensations Cooking School

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palate Sensations Cooking School Day Classes also viewed

 

Been to Palate Sensations Cooking School Day Classes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing