We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If We Weren't Already Full To Begin With...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Andre

Restaurant Andre
Ranked #4 of 10,424 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant ANDRE is an eponymous 30 seats restaurant in Singapore recently ranked #38 World’s Best Restaurant by Restaurant Magazine as well as Best Restaurant in Singapore. Taiwanese - born Chef Andre Chiang developed a culinary principle based on how our capacity to taste food is influenced by our memory banks, including the personal experiences we acquire over time. Octaphilosophy – Unique, Texture, Memory, Pure, Terroir, Salt, South and Artisan represent the eight elements reflecting his roots in south of France. Chef Andre believes only on the freshest of seasonal produce and collaborates with the best artisans in the world. Crafting celebrated creations combining Mediterranean accents and French techniques, Chef André draw inspiration from the myriad selection of products he uses to design his menu every day.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If We Weren't Already Full To Begin With...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

the experience dining at Restaurant Andre would've been better and this couldve been a 5-star instead. There is no doubt that the food that was created by Chef Andre was phenomenal, I especially liked the edible charcoal! The foie gras chawanmushi (Chef Andre's signature dish) was a little overwhelming...

Other than that, excellent appetizers & desserts. Would go back once again, with an empty stomach this time. Haha.

  • Visited March 2017
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 20maytan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    51
    22
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The food and service is amazing... they serve a set menu and bookings are months in advance. Everything is well thought out, from the furniture (my table is sanded by hand regularly by Andre himself) to the service. The tables are well set apart on two floors. The food is imaginative - think chocolate + garlic served as 'dirt' with mini carrots 'growing' and a tiny rake! My fave. The tastes are well balanced too. The bill will be ... but it is the experience that makes it so special. On your return you get a different menu, no repeats! The restaurant is in a nice heritage building, right next to where Singapore's founding father Lee Kuan Yew had his legal practice on returning from his law studies in England!

  • Visited September 2016
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank susan1819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wow! Excellent from start to finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is hard to pick my favorite, but I have to admit I was a sucker for the garlic chocolate soil (you heard it right). They wanted to take my plate away since it's mostly for decoration though certainly edible, and I wanted to finish every little grain! Every dish was a masterpiece in style, appearance and certainly taste! Expensive, but oh so worth it if you enjoy fine dining!

  • Visited August 2016
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A2Z_California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Find Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went there to celebrate my birthday! Octaphilosophy was a culinary extravaganza from start to finish - where food meets art. A true sensory experience. Polite and knowledgable wait staff. Meeting Andre and his lovely wife was icing on the cake!

  • Visited February 2017
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mytwocents2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Best restaurant ever ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went to this restaurant for the most special experience in our honeymoon, somehow we missed the reservation and they kindly managed to have us the next day. We were lucky because we had dinner in the chef atelier and we definitively were really surprised by the food and they way it is presented and served we have not seen anything like that before and we had the best dinning experience in our honeymoon, we recommend it a 100%, thanks for everything!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Andre also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Restaurant Andre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing