We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food. Truly a 2 Michelin star restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurant Andre

Restaurant Andre
Ranked #4 of 10,524 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant ANDRE is an eponymous 30 seats restaurant in Singapore recently ranked #38 World’s Best Restaurant by Restaurant Magazine as well as Best Restaurant in Singapore. Taiwanese - born Chef Andre Chiang developed a culinary principle based on how our capacity to taste food is influenced by our memory banks, including the personal experiences we acquire over time. Octaphilosophy – Unique, Texture, Memory, Pure, Terroir, Salt, South and Artisan represent the eight elements reflecting his roots in south of France. Chef Andre believes only on the freshest of seasonal produce and collaborates with the best artisans in the world. Crafting celebrated creations combining Mediterranean accents and French techniques, Chef André draw inspiration from the myriad selection of products he uses to design his menu every day.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best food. Truly a 2 Michelin star restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Deservingly a 2 Michelin star restaurant, from the concept to the execution with excellent wine recommendations from the in-house sommelier. Worth the reservation waitlist.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Freebird J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    52
    23
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“michelin star & Asia No.2”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

woo super amazing meals ...
what a pleasant surprises in between courses
xceptional service with very dish beautifully crafted and presented as a work of art. The philosophical menu is based on Chef Andre's “Octaphilosophy” theme of eight dishes, representing Pure, Salt, Artisan, South, Texture, Unique, Memory and Terrior. An Innovative Michelin Stars dinning experience and truly deserving of its No.14 on the World's 50 Best Restaurants list.

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mandhirajdhillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Our experience at Restaurant Andre felt truly special and unlike anything else. Andre's Octaphilosophy takes such an interesting perspective on cuisine, and by the end of the meal you genuinely feel as if you gotten to know Andre Chiang himself. Each dish is overwhelming personal, and tells a story that is authentic to the restaurant's brand. The staff is incredibly friendly, impeccable with their timing, and there is a sense of levity and humor that they bring to the experience which is often lost in the world of fine dining. Andre's wife, 'Pam', was a joy during the entire experience and really made us smile. We were also incredibly impressed with the sommelier, who offered and interesting story behind each glass, which again is an unfortunate rarity in dining. Restaurant Andre is worth every dollar.

  • Visited April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mwmax54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exceptional works of art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The experience and food is all wonderfully crafted. The staff is amazing, very attentive, and you can tell there is a lot of love that goes into the food. My wife and I ate here as the "finale" to a 2 month trip through SE Asia, and it was a great way to end a wonderful adventure.

The dishes are all unique, and all presented beautifully. It is well deserving of its spot as one of the best restaurants in the world. The staff have all been well trained, and you can tell they really know about what they are serving. Andre is very involved in the restaurant, and while we were dining he came out to say hello. His wife also works there. After you finish your meal, they take you down by the kitchen so you can see all the staff that went into preparing the dinner, and it was very nice being able to thank all of them in person.

One small caveat/warning - This is a very seafood heavy restaurant. If you are a true foodie and eat everything, then great. However, people should be prepared for a large number of seafood dishes.

  • Visited August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheTravellingKings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delightful and delicious meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Husband and I went here for our 5 year anniversary dinner. I was expecting big things from Restaurant Andre given its reputation, and it really didn't disappoint. I have been lucky enough to eat at a number of award-winning restaurants around the world, and currently Andre is at the top spot.

What made it so great?

The atmosphere is wonderful. It's tucked away near Chinatown in an old shophouse but inside is very elegant. There are very few tables and it feels intimate but not stuffy or informal. The decor has some very whimsical touches - I loved the sheep stool handbag stands for example. The staff really are excellent too; attentive without being in your face, knowledgeable about the concept and ingredients but don't bore you with all the details; very friendly and happy to chat.

The food was DELICIOUS. Chef Andre has an 8 concept menu, which you have to have (but they take into account tastes and dietary requirements). Each course has a theme and it all connects together with the meal very nicely. I was concerned we would come out of the meal still hungry (as is sometimes the case with fine dining) but there is definitely enough to eat with the amuse-bouche to start and little surprises afterwards. The food is presented really imaginatively, highlights for me included an edible mock up of Singapore's Marina Bay, a beautiful french provencal summer inspired dish and a dish that is made to look like a rock garden. It pleased my eyes and then my taste buds. Yum.

Another element that made it really special was that Restaurant Andre offers a non-alcoholic pairing menu. It was such a pleasure to discover this, as usually if you don't drink alcohol the option is mainly water. But this was so well thought out - and went extremely well. The Sommelier talks you through it like he would with wine.

All in all a wonderful meal and wonderful evening with amazing attention to detail. If you're looking for a special restaurant then highly recommend Restaurant Andre

  • Visited December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Andre also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Restaurant Andre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing