We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Horrible stay! Fire drill went off twice in one night at 2am!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality
Ranked #34 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Horrible stay! Fire drill went off twice in one night at 2am!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

I decided to stay at this hotel because at the time of booking it was a new hotel with good reviews #22 on tripadvisor. Since then it has obviously plunged in ratings and I am not surprised.

I stayed at many hotels and their standard of service is not what you will get if you paid elsewhere. No welcoming as you enter through the doors or hello. One thing that I did love about the hotel was the location! So close to a MRT stop. Food was not great at the hotel, buffet was roughly $45sgd and seriously not worth it! Not surprised when the restaurant was empty at dinner. Housekeeping was poor, some items had not been stocked up like toiletries.

The worst part of my stay would have to be when a fire evacuation drill went off in the entire hotel at 2am in the morning. There was extremely loud oriental music playing whilst instructions were being announced which in the end we could not hear because of the music. In instances like this everyone reacts to a drill and heads down the stairs, 22 levels! As we got down there everyone was confused as to what was happening. There was no protocol or instructions. I went to the desk to find out what was happening and they had advised it was a false alarm. I would have not known if I didn't go to the desk. The same thing happened later that night or morning which is frustrating if you need to get up early. I will not stay at this hotel ever again!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sushii_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oasia_Hotel_SG, Front Office Manager at Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Sushii_90,

Thank you for your review concerning your recent stay.

First and foremost, please allow us to sincerely apologize that your overall experience in our hotel did not meet your expectations.

We strive to provide a comfortable experience for all our guests and it is regrettable that this was not the case in this instance. Please be assured that we take a serious view of these service lapses and corrective measures will be taken to ensure that there will be no repeat occurrences. We seek your indulgence on this occasion.

We will also review our security procedures accordingly and ensure that clear instructions are passed on to our guests in the event of alarm. We apologize again that this caused you great inconvenience and uncertainty.

We would welcome the opportunity to regain your confidence in us and appreciate if you could contact us directly at the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Douglas Fernandez
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,443
    1,061
    252
    63
    27
See reviews for
528
1,056
179
614
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (659)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

my company book me a hotel in novena where i never heard of oasia hotel. had a stay of 4 nights and was greated by one of the bellman with stylish hair handsome young chap and was directed to the reception. Check in is quite slow and no smile from the reception. Next morning i was really late for my meeting but the funky mohawk bellman rendered his assistance to get me a taxi and he ran all the way out (like a man with a mission) and got me a taxi. the room is great but sound proofing is poor and was awaken @ 3am. my last two nights of my stay The concierge and mohawk Bellman serve me quite well to the place of interest in singapore and i had a very enjoyable tour. Overall no point paying for a good room but bad service but good service give a good stay along the way.

Room Tip: ask for high floor corner look's big to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voncallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indonesia
Level Contributor
278 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

Stay here for 2 nights and overall we like the room since it was new and clean, even though it's rather small. One thing that we didn't like is the housekeeping, they make up the room unprofessionally, they didn't change the towel, the working desk is still messy. The location is quite nice since there is MRT that can help you go to Orchard Rd. Hopefully the management can train the housekeeping better.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ucartech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oasia_Hotel_SG, Front Office Manager at Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Ucartech,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback concerning your stay.

We apologize that our Housekeeping services did not meet your expectation. Please be assured that your observations have been noted in our efforts for continuous improvement and training.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Douglas Fernandez
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

We stay at the Oasia for three days n everyday we felt more n more at home. Firstly the rooms were so clean and everything was new.WE stay in a superior room the amenities were sufficiently comfortable n we love the view with and using the motorize blinds n sheers was awesome .... The Staffs from the Doorman to the housekeeping were very nice. they were very kind in advicing us where to eat n what to see. Esp One person call Encik Shabeer( not sure correct spelling) who guided us every part of our way on MRT , Adviced us on Universal studio, food courts and help in walking all over to get a taxi for us.....REally a nice hardworking staff....the front desk were nice in allowing us to extend our time from 6 to 7pm and also allowed a early check in when we arrived .....1200pm...really a place i will go back to and help speaking about them to my friends.....Keep it up..n Thank you..Gunabalan Gopal.......

Room Tip: Corners room are nice n quiteer......
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Upsetkualalumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunny philippines
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

I was on a business trip for Singapore last Nov. 28 to Dec. 5 and my meetings were in Novena Tower so I decided to book here since it was just beside it.

Pros:
1.) Convenient location - MRT Novena station just a couple minutes of walk and Velocity Mall is just beside it.
2.) Room was nice and comfy
3.) the Bath room was great and the Hot Shower was an awesome stress reliever.

Cons:
1.) For the amount I'm paying, I expected a faster internet speed. The internet was just plain slow.
2.) They have a lot of guests and it gets packed in the restaurant between 7-9am. My problem is I have to call a waiter for them to clean up the tables left behind by the other guests. And after they clean, they don't even bother to ask if you'd like coffee or tea. You have to call them again. This was really awful. I mean Chinatown's food center cleans faster and more efficient than they do.
3.) For the price of over S$300net a night, it was just too expensive for what you're getting. Maybe if it was S$200 it might be a different story.

If this hotel could improve their service, internet speed and lower their prices a bit, I think they'd be a good deal. But for my stay, they scored low for me.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ram_dlsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oasia_Hotel_SG, Front Office Manager at Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Ram_disu,

Thank you for your review concerning your recent stay.

First and foremost, please allow us to sincerely apologize that your overall experience in our hotel did not meet your expectations.

We can certainly empathise with your concerns. Kindly be assured that we are reviewing our service standards and ensuring that proper training are accorded to our staff so that our guests can enjoy an impeccable dining experience.

We will also focus on increasing the speed of our broadband services through our service providers so that our guests will not be inconvenienced by the internet speed. We seek your indulgence in on this occasion.

We thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback and look forward to having the opportunity to host you once again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Douglas Fernandez
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#12 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality

Property: Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality
Address: 8 Sinaran Drive, Singapore 307470, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#18 Family Hotel in Singapore
#19 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#28 Business Hotel in Singapore
#34 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): $171 - $312
Hotel Class:4 star — Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming enclave of the Novena district, Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore is a premier business hotel that offers distinctively elegant accommodations in its 428 guestrooms. Perfect for unwinding or having high-powered business meetings, Oasia's award-winning Club Lounge - The Living Room and its private pool provide Club guests with absolute exclusivity. There is direct basement access to the Novena MRT Station which allows convenient travel to Orchard Road and the Central Business District. Each of the hotel's guestrooms is contemporary furnished with sleek, Asian-inspired designer fittings. Guests at Oasia Hotel Novena also enjoy complimentary WiFi, coffee/tea making facilities and a rain shower in the bathroom with invigorating bath amenities. Facilities include a 24-hour fitness centre, pool and The Marmalade Pantry - a restaurant that is popular for its modern bistro cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore By Far East Hospitality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing