We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Unique Tea Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yixing Xuan Teahouse

Yixing Xuan Teahouse
Ranked #21 of 502 Shopping in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Few have experienced the ambience and the highly therapeutic effects of the traditional art of Chinese tea making in an authentic Chinese teahouse. In fact, avid Chinese tea drinkers are known to pursue the perfect tea leaf as fervently as connoisseurs of fine wines. At our Tea Workshops, you will learn about: 1. Chinese culture, Arts and the History of Tea 2. Recognising and using the various kinds of tea leaves and equipment 3. Preparing tea the traditional way 4. Tea and its relationship to your health. Come and participate in our tea workshop today!
1 review
“A Unique Tea Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2016

Charlene was our tea workshop teacher, and she was fabulous! Her knowledge of tea was excellent and she entertained us with fun facts. The traditional tea service was a beautiful way to spend a Saturday morning with friends. We would certainly recommend this quaint shop to anyone visiting Singapore! Love my new white tea and special teacup - feel healthier already! Thanks Charlene for a lovely morning.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank Anna-Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    14
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Morawa, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Elegance & Charm In a Big City.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

Took my Mum on a weeks holiday to Singapore. After a few days of hawkers markets, busy MRT,shopping and late nights.Yixing Xuan Teahouse provides a lovely change of pace, Charlene was the great, plenty of fun facts and tasty treats to be had.Its safe too say,I'll never add milk to my tea again.
Yixing Xuan Teahouse is definitely
a one amongst the zeros.
Thanks once again Charlene and regards to your father,Vincent.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank SunburntPlums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Enlightening and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2016

My friend and I had so much fun during the tea appreciation! Charlene was very friendly and a wonderful teacher as she covered the basics of tea with us. We tried white tea, green tea and oolong tea, were taught how to differentiate the various tea, and also how to brew a good cup of tea. Charlene answered a lot of questions and doubts we had regarding tea, and she was patient throughout (thank you :P). After awhile it didn't feel like we were having a tea workshop, but drinking tea with a new acquaintance. It was fantastic!

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
2 Thank soupbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Team building: a very pleasant afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2016

Me and 3 of my colleagues attended the tea appreciation course. Honestly, I did not expect much as I could not see much fun in the tea. Well... I was terribly wrong.

Charlene is amazing and she really knows how to make people excited about tea. We had tons of questions which were all answered, had learned the entire process from tea growing, tea picking all the way into tea varieties and tea brewing. It completely changed my perception on how I view tea now (almost a tea snob)

The place is really cozy and as it is a family business it almost feels like you came for a visit (especially if you order food too - it is YUM!).

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
3 Thank Zala P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
methven
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tea Appreciation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2016

My individual tea appreciation workshop lasted more than three hours as Charlene covered all the information she had about tea and answered all my questions. We communicated so well about our mutual love of our I left the shop with many products to add to my collection. Her knowledge of course is far superior to mine. This is the one year anniversary of my visit and it is still very clear in my mind and I often think about returning there. Hopefully I will soon.

Visited February 2015
Helpful?
6 Thank bettsy60_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharleneSingapore, Manager at Yixing Xuan Teahouse, responded to this review, 16 January 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review. It means so much to us. Please drop us an email if you ever have any questions and we would so love to see you again. We wish you and your family the best of health and every happiness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yixing Xuan Teahouse also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Yixing Xuan Teahouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing