We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yixing Xuan Teahouse

Yixing Xuan Teahouse
Ranked #21 of 502 Shopping in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Few have experienced the ambience and the highly therapeutic effects of the traditional art of Chinese tea making in an authentic Chinese teahouse. In fact, avid Chinese tea drinkers are known to pursue the perfect tea leaf as fervently as connoisseurs of fine wines. At our Tea Workshops, you will learn about: 1. Chinese culture, Arts and the History of Tea 2. Recognising and using the various kinds of tea leaves and equipment 3. Preparing tea the traditional way 4. Tea and its relationship to your health. Come and participate in our tea workshop today!
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2016

I went there with 2 friends. The guy there taught us everything from recognizing tea to how to drink it the chinese way. We then had our lunch served to us with free flow tea. The lunch is always 10$, very accessible and half of it is homemade and its delicious, and the tea lesson is 30$/person (if less than 5 people) which is very very expensive. But both were worth it, and we stayed there 2h30!
I will definitely go back for the food in this lovely place that I miss already!

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank luciemouflette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    14
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Province of Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a nice lesson!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

We visited this shop house following a suggestion of our book guide..we had 1 hour lesson and we were all very curiour about the content..which are the secrets of the tea? What could the lesson teach us on the tea?? Our book guide was so enthusiastic about this place that we decided to visit it..

We had a great experience! 1 hour lesson with tasting and explanations on the kind of teas and their properties..the personnel is really nice and there are different bags of tea (with different properties and price)that can be brought as a present at home to friends which are tea specialist! The price of the products is not low but the taste is different from industrial teas!

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank anna_tris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ITE Tea House visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2016

I am a coffee and wine drinker but this workshop was still very interesting and fun. The teacher was very engaging, knowledgeable and made the workshop very interesting. I would definitely bring my family and friends over to see this workshop when they visit Singapore.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great experience and learnt a lot about tea!!! Awesome workshop conducted by Sharlene”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2016

We are a group of participants from Singapore, USA and Canada. We have so much fun during the tea appreciation workshop. For me personally, I have learnt the right way to brew tea. This teahouse is a great place for gathering with your family and friends while enjoying the tea.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Cass L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“A Unique Tea Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2016

Charlene was our tea workshop teacher, and she was fabulous! Her knowledge of tea was excellent and she entertained us with fun facts. The traditional tea service was a beautiful way to spend a Saturday morning with friends. We would certainly recommend this quaint shop to anyone visiting Singapore! Love my new white tea and special teacup - feel healthier already! Thanks Charlene for a lovely morning.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank Anna-Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yixing Xuan Teahouse also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Yixing Xuan Teahouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing