We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Official Hotel
US$167
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$151
View deal
Agoda.com
US$147
View deal
PricelineUS$167
eDreamsUS$151
StayForLong
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (538)
Filter reviews
539 results
Traveller rating
127
259
119
21
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
127
259
119
21
13
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 539 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2020

Was a bit hard to find as came off train with luggage. Had to use lifts and finding them to get to the other side of the road was a nightmare. Best to catch a taxi. Hotel was very nice and clean. Supermarket on premises was handy. Fast check in and out. Nicely positioned with buses nearby.

Date of stay: November 2019
2  Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchidHotelSingapore, Marketing Communications Manager at Orchid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2020

Dear Debm7762,

Greetings from Orchid Hotel! We are glad that you had a great stay experience with us. A thumbs-up from you is an encouraging indication to us that we are moving in the right direction. Thank you for taking time out to write a review. My team and I look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
Calista Lee
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2019

Whilst the room was very good and the location is very central for China Town and the Bay Area, the restaurant and pool were not in use due to works being carried out. This was not informed to us when making the booking.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchidHotelSingapore, Marketing Communications Manager at Orchid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2020

Dear 493Sue,

Greetings from Orchid Hotel! We regret to learn that your stay with us was a lacklustre one and that we were not able to make this right for you while you were still staying with us. We have taken note of your feedback and will definitely keep it in mind for future improvements.

Best regards,
Calista Lee
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2019

We stayed for 3 nights prior to boarding a cruise ship, our first visit to Singapore.
We had a Deluxe Double room on the 6th level. The room was spacious, clean, quiet & had a good view toward Chinatown looking over some of the Shophouses of the area.
Hotel was close to a supermarket & shopping centre with many eateries close by.

Staff at the hotel were so helpful & courteous at all times. Special thanks to Sally in reception, Zainudin, Bell Captain & Ariff for their exceptional service at all times.They made our stay very pleasant & relaxed.
The dining room was very good with a good variety of food to choose from as we had most of our meals there. Getting a taxi was no problem whenever we wanted to go out & staff assisted us each time. The Orchid Hotel is situated in the heart of the business area close to most amenities. We would go back there to stay if in Singapore again.

Room tip: Our room on level 6 was clean, spacious & quiet with good views toward Chinatown.
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cosmopolitan764117
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchidHotelSingapore, Marketing Communications Manager at Orchid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2020

Dear Cosmopolitan764117,

Greetings from Orchid Hotel! We are glad that you had a great stay experience with us. Our staff will be elated to know of your compliments and your kind words will certainly motivate them to strive for service excellence. Thank you for sharing your review with us. My team and I will look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,
Calista Lee
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2019

Neighborhood and Singapore often do not go together. Few downtown areas are walkable, but the Orchid Hotel is one of them. We stayed in 3 different hotels during our Singapore visit- this hotel near chinatown, and one in Orchard Rd and one in the Marina Bay area. Even though the other hotels were far more luxurious, this hotel is one I'd revisit over the others. Reasons? Location. Singapore is a beautiful city with modern infrastructure and great sightseeing, however at the end of the day, I prefer staying in a location that had easy walkability and sights that are not found at home.

The Orchid hotel is on Tanjong Pajar, just steps from countless great eateries and bars. Chinatown is a few walkable blocks away, with it's temples and night market and access to everything imaginable. There's a small but managable hawker market and fruit/veg market just across the street, where we spent a few bucks each morning for delicious breakfasts, and Maxwell center is just down the way for endless other local delicacies including the Michelin famous chicken rice. Equidistant the other way is Amoy center, with two stories of more hawker stalls including a curry puff stall that sells pure nirvana. Aside from food though, the well preserved streets (such as AnnSiang) of old chinatown facades lends to an aura of authenticity that urban Singapore sorely lacks.

The hotel itself is perfectly fine. The front desk is polite and helpful, and the facility is clean with comfortable beds. Furnishings are similar to a Courtyard from 10-15 years ago, and amenities such as soap, TP, and towels are metered out carefully. Beds are comfortable, however if you book a two queen bed room and have 3 people you will get charged $50 per night for the third, even if using existing bedding. AC is good. Hotel pool is fine for laps, even if heavily chlorinated. There are large chinese tour groups at the hotel, but really only seen in AM or PM as they are gone touring most of the day. We did not waste $22 pp on the breakfast, as the options elsewhere were plentiful and much less $.

Though the location to the "main" sights was farther, it was just as accessible from this hotel with Grab or taxi as it was from our other hotels. Costs to MBS or Gardens by the Bay were about 6-8 singapore dollars, or less than 2$ via MRT which was located just a block away out the front door.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank washington_wahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchidHotelSingapore, Marketing Communications Manager at Orchid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2020

Dear Washington_wahine,

Greetings from Orchid Hotel! It is our pleasure to know that you had a satisfactory stay experience with us. Our prime location has indeed brought much convenience and eatery options for our guests. We are glad that you had an enjoyable time exploring the area. Thank you for taking time out to share your review with us. My team and I hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Calista Lee
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2019 via mobile

Had 2 nights here before a cruise. Excellent service on arrival and departure with friendly staff. Good location with MRT under the building just across the small park in front of the hotel. Good food options in the MRT food hall and in the streets around the hotel. Supermarket across the street. Walk to Maxwell hawker, Buddha museum & central Chinatown. Room was quiet and everything was clean & well maintained. Wifi was included and worked well. This is an affordable, quiet and convenient hotel with friendly and helpful staff.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank gregandlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchidHotelSingapore, Marketing Communications Manager at Orchid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2019

Dear Gregandlyn,

Greetings from Orchid Hotel! We are glad that you had a great stay experience with us. Our prime location has indeed brought much convenience to our guests and we hope that you had a great time exploring the area! Our staff will be elated to know of your compliments and your kind words will certainly encourage them to strive for service excellence. Thank you for sharing your review with us. We hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Calista Lee
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews