We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable and reasonably clean”
Review of Wink Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wink Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
South Ockendon, Essex
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable and reasonably clean”
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

I'm travelling for a couple months and although I normally use private rooms I decided to give Wink a try as the cost was so reasonable compared to hotels here and I was only staying for 3 nights.

Easy enough to find, close to Chinatown MRT. In fact, it was a great location for exploring. Clarke Quay, Raffles, Marina Bay and the Gardens by the Bay are all easily reached on foot but if you want to use the MRT it is a great service and inexpensive.

I was in a ten pod mixed dorm but I think only about half were occupied and all male.
My lower level pod was relatively clean, bed was comfortable and the curtain added a good level of privacy. Air conditioning worked ok, just a little noisy. A large security locker under the bed was big enough to take my large holdall. Plus you can only get into your dorm with your security card.

The reception staff were all friendly and helpful.

A certain amount of noise as you'd expect in any hostel but mainly from the security door and the lockers being shut. Otherwise, I slept really well and the other guests were mostly considerate.

They did a free basic breakfast, toast, fruit, tea, coffee etc. I only had the bananas though so can't comment on the rest!

The bathroom upstairs was reasonably clean although some of the toilets could do with some deep cleaning. Nice hot powerful showers and you can rent a towel from them for 2 dollars. The bathroom could get a bit too warm though later in the day.

Overall and especially in terms of value for money in Singapore, if you're happy to stay in a hostel environment then give it a try.

Stayed February 2017, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank killerdwarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    235
    40
    7
    2
See reviews for
32
93
348
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

First off I gave this place a 3 because of the sleep we got. We got a double occupancy pod. Which was super cute and clean. Only problem... we had the top bunk and at night it gets super hot!! So the whole night was very uncomfortable. We talked to our friends that stayed in the single pods and the ones that stayed on the top bunk had the same problem. Also not made for tall people. So if you plan on staying here make sure you get a bottom bunk. For cleanliness I give them a 5! Such a cute hostel! Location I give it a 5! Walking distance to everything.

Stayed January 2017, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tr8lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2017

I stayed at Wink hostel for one night before leaving Singapore. Although the price is quite expensive for the hostel, I really enjoy the stay as the cleanliness, decent facilities, friendly atmosphere and staffs and the location. It is located in the heart of the city, in the Chinatown and very close to the MRT Chinatown station just only 3-5 min walk.

Pros : great location / clean / nice & informative & helpful staffs

Cons : a bit expensive / wifi can be a bit unstable in some spots

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natcharee h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2016

book the whole room of 8 beds as I travel with large group. The beds are clean, the hot shower pressure is also nice especially after a long walk during the day. The location of this hostel is great. Near to MRT station and lots of foods joint.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lia_pn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We stayed in Wink Hostel in October 2016 for over the weekend stay. We took the couple pods. The room, bed was very clean. The room was very cold with 2 air cons.

The shared washrooms were ok.

The complementary breakfast was good, I hope they can add some better coffee.

It's in the heart of Chinatown and very close to Chinatown MRT station.

Very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Channa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel YAN
#55 of 314 in Singapore
374 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#86 of 314 in Singapore
672 reviews
Kampong Glam
The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Chinatown
Adler Luxury Hostel
Adler Luxury Hostel
#6 of 231 in Singapore
601 reviews
Chinatown
Cube Boutique Capsule Hotel
Cube Boutique Capsule Hotel
#16 of 231 in Singapore
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wink Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wink Hostel

Property: Wink Hostel
Address: 8A Mosque Street, Singapore 059488, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 231 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price range (per night): $41 - $350
Hotel Class:2 star — Wink Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a historic shophouse that's nestled in the cultural heart of Singapore, Wink is a premium Pod hostel that offers travellers private sleeping sanctums that are inviting and decked in plush designer finishing. Want to indulge in a little luxury while on a budget? Looking to meet new friends while mixing it up with fellow travellers in a friendly environment? Then Wink is perfect for you! Our secure tap card system grants access to spacious dorms that are air-conditioned, fully carpeted and furnished with cushy couches, perfect for kicking back and just chilling with pals. Ladies dormitories are available and come complete with vanity counters. All dorms have Wi-Fi access. You will find our custom pods come in unique designs with plentiful headroom and side-allowances, presenting you with a comfortable and individualised space that caters to your needs. Every pod is fitted with ambient backlight, sound resistant walls, a cushy backrest, reading LED light, power socket and smartcard access locker located right at the foot. A 6 inch orthopaedic mattress draped in lush soft linen and accompanied by a sumptuous duvet rounds out the experience. Breakfast is served daily in our guest kitchenette that comes fully equipped with cooking hob, microwave oven, grill and refrigerator. Other facilities include showers & toilets, a relaxing café lounge, internet stations, laundry & ironing and 24 hour reception. Centrally located in bustling Chinatown, Wink is mere minutes away from numerous must-see heritage and cultural attractions. Nearby Clarke Quay and the bohemian Club Street also serves up an exciting array of nightlife and dining destinations. With Chinatown's Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station and several bus-stops a short walk away, you will find Wink the perfect location from which to start exploring Singapore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wink Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wink Hotel Singapore
Wink Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing