We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful days” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel So Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel So Singapore
Ranked #29 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed with the family March 2-6 in three rooms. The experience was outstanding , starting at check-in until check-out. The team did everything to help and make our stay a special one. The interior design is wonderful, watch out for the small details.The overwhelming design by KL is fascinating. If one would really want to find something to comment on, placing a second big suitcase in the room is not easy and when breakfast is very crowded, the wait for coffee and so can be a little unpleasant. But this is really complaining on highest level. Go on like this, we would be back any time.

Stayed March 2017
Helpful?
Thank 8888traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoPiotr, General Manager at Sofitel So Singapore, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear 8888traveller,

Thank you for sharing your review on us to TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you have appreciated our attention to detail and signature touches from our signature designer, Karl Lagerfeld. Your appreciation and recognition given to us is truly heartwarming and the team is very delighted to know that you had an outstanding experience with us. However, I have noted your feedback about the breakfast being busy during meal period. Rest assured that head of department concern will implement improve measures to address this issue.

We look forward to welcome you back for another SO Magnifique stay with us.

SO Kind Regards,

Piotr Kupiec
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    815
    380
    140
    70
    20
See reviews for
192
623
99
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
kilwinning
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Situated in the Banking area the Sofitel So is a lovely boutique hotel which is a 15 minute walk to the Marina Bay, the street food market is right on your doorstep and Chinatown and Little India are a short taxi ride away. The hotel itself has lovely rooms and an infinity pool on the rooftop, Singapore is a lovely place to visit and is spotlessly clean and very safe, prices are a bit on the steep side and drinks can be very expensive especially in the upmarket bars.

Room Tip: Upgrade to King Superior Room for more space if your doing more than 1 night, standard room is lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoPiotr, General Manager at Sofitel So Singapore, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear gordon l,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience in So Sofitel Singapore to the TripAdvisor community. One of our commitments is to provide a good and memorable accommodation to our guests through the facilities and the services we provide. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with our lovely and clean guestroom and like our hotel location being near to many City's best attraction. Thank you for highlighting our HI-SO Rooftop Pool & Bar where our guests can relax and have a enjoy at a beach club in a cosmopolitan rooftop bar setting.

We look forward to welcome you back for another SO Magnifique stay with us.

So Kind Regards,

Piotr Kupiec
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

After trying the Carlton City and Hyatt my search for a smaller charming hotel came to and end with this gem.
Attentive and polite Staff and an excellent breakfast.
Good room facilities once you get above the basic rooms and novel touches like the hands in the bathroom!

Stayed March 2017, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoPiotr, General Manager at Sofitel So Singapore, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Martin H,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience following your recent stay at SO Sofitel Singapore and I am very glad for sharing it to TripAdvisor community. I’m pleased to hear that you appreciated our attention to detail and signature touches from our signature designer, Karl Lagerfeld. Your appreciation to our ambassadors is greatly appreciated, I have shared your commendation to entire team and I am certain that this would leave smiles in their faces.

We look forward to welcome you back for another SO Magnifique stay with us.

So Kind Regards,

Piotr Kupiec
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The So Sofitel was so nice - the hotel is small by Singapore standards and is a welcome oasis. It is beautifully presented and the studio room that I had was magnificent. It was large with plenty of light and plush furnishings. The bathroom was similar with marble and glass everywhere. Impeccably clean. The service for such a 5 star establishment was a little on the disappointing side with some staff lacking interest and/or flexibility. There were a few exceptions to this however the overall impression was a little soured by this inconsistency.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank brettbedson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoPiotr, General Manager at Sofitel So Singapore, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear brettbedson,

Thank you for sharing your review on us to TripAdvisor. Learning that you have an overall great experience during your stay truly inspires us. I am pleased that you mentioned how beautiful and magnificent our guestrooms are. At SO Sofitel, we are known in providing superior service to our guests and my apology if this was not the case for you. Allow me to assure you that this will be addressed right away internally to ensure that we provide the top notch service to our guests.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of better service to you in the future.

SO Kind Regards,

Piotr Kupiec
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiong Bahru, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Reception service had been wonderful all along, and this time lived up to expectations and surpassed it. Asked for a 12pm check-in online, but room was still not available when we reached almost at 1pm. No issues since official check-in is 2/3pm. Reception was quick to sit us down and offered us tea while we wait, and that's extra brownie points.

Once in the room, there's a slight odour at the doorway which didn't bother us much. The room is still in good condition and no sign of aging thus far. However, upon settling down, we discovered used pieces of tissue hiding under the duvet on the bed!

A quick call to the hotline yielded a housekeeping staff to our room after.......15++ minutes. Funny thing was there's a housekeeping storage room just outside our door and always have seen staff coming and leaving. She asked if I needed a change of a set of linen and I proceeded to tell her what I found.

"Oh, is it?" was her reply. Was really tempted to retort, No la no la I just called to get someone to come up for a chat. I can only gather after this, that housekeeping department is really shorthanded, or cannot be bothered. Linen finally got changed another 10 minutes later.

Breakfast has evolved slightly; it's signature jams and spreads are no more, with only standard honey, nutella, PB and butter remaining, a disappointment from the heady days of interesting mixes of different ingredients in their spreads to complement their excellent breads. Service, however, had improved greatly, and the rude wait staff experience a year ago had all but disappeared. Dinner at the Xperience restaurant is a vastly different creature now, where food is concerned. Dishes are done to impress the tastebuds, where the cod fish and lamb neck we ordered were pretty delightful, pity the cod was overcooked a little. The desserts we had stood out; Yuzu popsicle was a melange of fun and taste with the melty meringue and yuzu fillings, dipped with cream cheese compote, if there ever was such a thing. We had seconds!

A side note about the wait staff though, would be that hygiene standards can be improved further. Case in point: A staff member was coughing really badly, but was still doing the rounds and as a guest, it made me very uncomfortable, although I understand the demands of her job. Supervisor should advise her to stay home to rest probably, or wear a mask at least.

This review was also sent to the GM(supposedly) via a survey done at the end of my stay, however, it seems like the pertinent points were not adequately addressed, and I received what seemed to be a stock, standard response, with no mention of the absolutely disgusting find of used tissue on a "freshly-made" bed.

I received some mention about how I was not pleased with some housekeeping issues but was happy with reception etc., .......these can also be traced to the grading I had taken time to give in the survey, but the actual feedback points were not addressed. I hope the hotel take up these hygiene issues seriously in future.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wOoDpEkEr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoPiotr, General Manager at Sofitel So Singapore, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear wOoDpEkEr,

Thank you SO much for your feedback and for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. Rest assured that your feedback has been reviewed and we have taken necessary measures to address the points you have mentioned. My sincerest apologies if my initial response had seemed like a standard reply without sharing more details that you would have liked to receive and please allow us to address some of your concerns.

After the initial survey you have sent, I have taken the time to share your feedback with the Housekeeping Manager and rest assured that meticulous checks before the room attendants released the rooms to the guest has been emphasized. Likewise, we are taking hygiene standard very seriously and we will continuously work with our F&B team on more coaching to prevent similar incident in future. As for the quality of food we served at Xperience Restaurant, our Chef has taken note of your feedback and will strive to enhance the overall food quality for the restaurant.

Thank you for your continuous patronage and I am sorry if you felt that our services fell short of your expectations. We can only hope that you will provide us another opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Piotr Kupiec
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.2 km away
The Westin Singapore
The Westin Singapore
#38 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
2.1 km away
InterContinental Singapore
InterContinental Singapore
#8 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.3 km away
AMOY by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
PARKROYAL on Pickering
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#18 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,570 reviews
1.8 km away
Naumi Hotel
Naumi Hotel
#19 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,034 reviews
1.6 km away
Fairmont Singapore
Fairmont Singapore
#17 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel So Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel So Singapore

Property: Sofitel So Singapore
Address: 35 Robinson Road Sofitel So Singapore, Singapore 068876, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#29 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): $266 - $529
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel So Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Sofitel So Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel So Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing