We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Ranked #14 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife for eight nights several years ago and happy to return, again for eight nights, this time. The hotel is located on the marina which has spectacular views at night. Our room was on the 15th floor, so no street noise. On entry, the hotel looks somewhat austere and maintains that impression when walking within the cavernous interior. Reception and concierge staff are most welcoming and helpful. The rooms are very well equipped and maintained. Our bed pillows were too soft, and quickly replaced by Housekeeping. There is a very large swimming pool with some private areas and plenty of lounge space My wife stayed in the pool longer than I and had irritated eyes for several hours after. Possibly too many chemicals. There are several quite good restaurants within the hotel. The Buffet breakfast at Melt costs $50 pp so make the most of it. You are a short walk from Promenade and City Hall MRT stations, and we had no trouble getting a taxi from front of house when necessary. If you want soft drinks or alcohol, a 7-11 is located within the adjoining mall. Mini bar prices are silly. If returning to Singapore, we would seriously consider staying at MO once more.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess L, Hotel Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear Mandarin Oriental Guest

Thank you for your wonderful praises and a ringing endorsement of our day to day efforts. It certainly makes our day to hear that you relished in the magnificent view of the Marina Bay from the comfort of our well-appointed room furnished with the finest amenities. We are elated that our intuitive colleagues ensured your requests were promptly attended to, and that you relished in the culinary excellence at Melt Café. Your commendations will certainly be conveyed to the team as it is comments like yours that inspire them to strive harder to delight our guests in all aspects. It is also great to note that the strategic location has given you much convenience when exploring the city. Please allow us to share that our pricing for mini bar is competitive amongst other luxury hotels. However, we shall bear your comment in mind when we next review our pricing structure.

We look forward to warmly welcoming you back to the Lion city.

Yours sincerely
Jess Lam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,776)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

416 - 420 of 5,776 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Great hotel to stay in when visiting Singapore for business or pleasure. Terrific views out towards Marina Bay Sands and the breakfast is one of the best going around. More than happy to stay again. Very friendly staff.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank MickeyH3535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess L, Hotel Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear Mandarin Oriental Guest

Thank you for your positive review. We are glad that you revelled in the hotel’s strategic location as well as the breathtaking view of the Marina Bay. Your commendations on our gourmet excellence and friendly colleagues are also truly appreciated.

We warmly welcome you back for another excellent stay.

Yours sincerely
Jess Lam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

This is apparently the only hotel in the chain of 20 shaped like the fan logo, makes it an interesting shape to operate a 5star hotel in - generally these guys do it very well.

Great location, close to most things and easy walk to Marina Bay Shoppes and the Gardens by the Bay

Staff are excellent with a can and will do attitude concierge team are particularly good.

Was slightly puzzled to have a house keeping card under the door at 8.30 but everything is easy to contact and give them access to the room

The lack of somewhere to sit if you are not lucky enough to have access to the club lounge is a downer.

Have separately reviewed the Axis Lounge and the Cafe one very good and one not so.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess L, Hotel Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear Mandarin Oriental Guest

Thank you for your positive review. We are glad that the hotel’s strategic location provided you with convenience to various popular attractions and shopping venues. It is also heartwarming to note that you were rendered exceptional hospitality, and that our housekeeping team was able to promptly assist with your requests. I look forward to sharing your compliments with my team as I am confident they will be thrilled to know that their efforts in delivering memorable guest experiences have been duly recognised.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful garden city.

Yours sincerely
Jess Lam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017

As a regular user of this hotel for the past decade, I thought a review was warranted for fellow travellers.
One of the key advantage of this hotel is its location.
You can a great view of the Marina, which also happens to be a nice run for those who need to exercise (app. 4km per loop). It has direct access to the highway to the airport, and it is a 5mn taxi ride to the CBD area if you are in town for meetings.
The pool deck is expansive and profit from sun exposure throughout the day, so if you are in for recharging your batteries, you won't be disappointed !
The rooms are nice, albeit getting old, the TV system could be improved too.
Service is great throughout although I would recommend taking care of your own taxi as the proliferation of app has incentivised drivers not to be there when you need them the most (be aware of peak hours). Staff turnover is a bit of an issue for those repeat customers who like to have their habits be noticed and enjoy not repeating their preferences every time they come.
Check out is not automated either so make sure to keep some time to be able to do it.

Last but not least, the Spa is very nice, and for those who are looking for the best, I would recommend Nantiwa, who does miracles with manicure and pedicure and is extremely kind.
Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveltips2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess L, Hotel Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear Mandarin Oriental Guest

Thank you for your lavish praises. We are indeed fortunate to be strategically located in the heart of Marina Bay that rewards many guests like yourself, convenience to various attractions and entertainment venues. It certainly makes our day to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed yourself at the stylish outdoor pool and our well-appointed room. We are also delighted that you experienced the legendary hospitality which we are known for, and that Nantiwa from the award-winning spa contributed to making your stay a memorable and exceptional one. Kindly be assured that your feedback with regards to the room and TV system will be kept in mind for future consideration on any development plans.

We look forward to your continued support and patronage.

Yours sincerely
Jess Lam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017

We were on the 21st floor with the most amazing views of the marina - perfect for the nightly light show. Our room was exceptionally well fitted out. Loved the welcome refreshment of Jasmine tea in a padded wicker basket waiting in the room on arrival.The Hotel is very conveniently placed for shopping and sight-seeing. Staff were without exception professional, polite, helpful and a pleasure to deal with at all times. We also had access to the Club Lounge with excellent refreshments at breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner time.

We had an excellent meal in the Melt restaurant and probably the best Oriental meal ever for brunch in the Cherry Garden Restaurant. Both restaurants highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess L, Hotel Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear Mandarin Oriental Guest

Thank you for your glowing review. We are thrilled to note that your experience with us have exceeded all expectations. I am pleased to hear that you have relished in the breathtaking view of the Marina Bay from the floor to ceiling windows in our well-appointed room. Likewise, it brings us joy to know that you found the proximity of the hotel to nearby attractions and shopping malls highly convenient. Your wonderful compliments on the gourmet excellence at the Oriental Club Lounge and genuine service provided throughout your stay are also truly appreciated and will certainly be shared with the team to encourage them to strive for service excellence in all that we do.

We welcome you back for another fantastic stay with us.

Yours sincerely
Jess Lam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#40 of 317 in Singapore
23,162 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 317 in Singapore
7,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
#11 of 317 in Singapore
5,122 reviews
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Address: 5 Raffles Ave | Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#6 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#7 Business Hotel in Singapore
#10 Family Hotel in Singapore
#14 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $396 - $689 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore is one of the world's foremost luxury hotels. It is the only hotel in the city that has been awarded Five Star status for both accommodation and spa in the prestigious Forbes Travel Guide for six consecutive years (2012 to 2017). This award-winning property has a prime location, close to the financial hub with easy access to luxury boutiques and entertainment venues, and minutes away from Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre. The hotel features an impressive atrium lobby with 527 rooms and suites. There is a premium Oriental Club Lounge, an indulgent and intimate spa, extensive meeting and banqueting facilities, five renowned restaurants and two lounges overlooking the spectacular Marina Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Oriental Hotel Singapore
Oriental Singapore
Singapore Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing