We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location, big rooms, large bathrooms”
Review of Furama City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Furama City Centre
Ranked #298 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Having stayed in more than 5-6 hotels in Singapore, this package came to me as a delight. No cramped rooms, no need to find place to put your luggage and best thing much bigger bathrooms with bathtub as a cherry on the topping.

Rooms are pretty bigger at 32 sqm (superior). It has a large size window but since I was on 7th floor, could not enjoy the city view. Advise that one should look for higher floors.

Room carpets are worn out and management should seriously think of replacing them as they seem to be eye sore in mid of luxurious environment.

Bathrooms have got a bath tub and complete with all amenities.

Amenities in room includes, iron with ironing board, tea/ coffee maker, mini bar but to my surprise with a CTV (no LCD)

Check in, check out was smooth. Could not enjoy the restaurant & bar as I was there only for a day but yes, they do serve buffet but it is expensive.

Internet is per machine and is very very expensive. God knows why internet in hotels are so expensive in Singapore when infact it is very cheap if one wants to get it in home

Good value for money spent (if breakfast was included in the rate, I would have marked it as 5)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Rakesh37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,033 - 2,037 of 2,700 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2011

The hotel location is great. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and spacious. The hotel definitely exceeded my expectations. A must go

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank kasturee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

I have stayed here at least twice. The hotel is centrally located and recently renovated. The rooms are confortable and well appointed but a lot of rooms don't have any windows. The most outstanding thing about this hotel is the food. The last time I stayed here the food although looking very appealing and lavish but taste wise was litterally aweful. After going through the mainly singaporean-chinese main courses and not finding anything good to taste I zeroed in on the ice-cream section thinking that atleast should taste the standard; but lo behold even the ice-cream tasted bland. I was shocked to find such an aweful buffet.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shalinder123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

My friend and I stayed here over the easter break, arriving quite early in the morning. The check in time was 2pm, but the staff told us to come back around 12ish and theyd endeavour to have our room ready early and look after our bags in the meantime. We got back to the hotel before 12pm and the room was ready, we really appreciated being able to get in our room those couple of hrs early and have a quick snooze before heading out for the afternoon/evening.

We chose the hotel due to the price and the location. Right next to the Chinatown MRT, Chinatown and a reasonable walk to Clarke Quay was really handy. And for the price, we got a very clean room, the two single beds that we'd requested and a reasonable view. Alothough clean, the rooms were getting a bit dated and tired.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and a power adaptor was available at reception on request.

The only real drawback for me was the gym, a couple of peices of equipment tucked away in a dingy little room.

I would stay at the Furama again for a short stay and would recommend it to people travelling on a budget, pretty good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janey85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Checked in for 4 nights as we had to cut our Japan trip short due to the 9.0.

The lobby is quite beautiful and well laid out. The room was nice, the bed very comfy - we slept like a dream. The room felt a little sparse though for the size.

All extras at this hotel though are a major rip-off. The washer and dryer are SGD8 each, and we had to get a refund on the dryer and send our clothes to the internal laundry as it took 1 hour to reduce clothes from wet to damp.

Also, they are capitalizing on business travellers with corporate credit cards as the internet access is a rip-off.

Service was okay nothing great.

Location was pretty good, close the ChinaTown MRT or a solid walk into Raffles and Clarke Quay etc area.

Some very cheap food options nearby if you like to gamble with marginal food cleanliness places. SGD1.60 Hainanese Chicken Rice!

The pool was fairly cr@ppy!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 7TroopCutCopyPaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Furama RiverFront
#97 of 319 in Singapore
2,578 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#66 of 319 in Singapore
3,944 reviews
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
#123 of 319 in Singapore
4,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsett Singapore
#89 of 319 in Singapore
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furama City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama City Centre

Address: 60 Eu Tong Sen Street, Singapore 059804, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Singapore
#55 Family Hotel in Singapore
#64 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#118 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $179 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Furama City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ASEAN Green Hotel and BCA Green Mark Platinum Award (Existing Buildings) winner, Furama City Centre is centrally located in Chinatown, in the Central Business District (CBD) and at the fringe of Shenton Way. This exquisite 445-room business hotel is equipped with wireless broadband connection and function rooms that can seat up to 750 guests. With a range of accommodation choices, guests are assured of a comfortable stay with its 24-hour room service, an in-house F&B outlet - Tiffany Cafe & Restaurant – that serves food from a Malay kitchen, and a Lobby Lounge with an extensive wine and snacks list. Retail, dining, attractions and entertainment are easily accessible within walking distance. Chinatown MRT station is a short 5-minute walk via a sheltered link bridge, whilst the Singapore Changi Airport is a mere 20-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Furama City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Hotel Singapore
Furama City Centre Singapore
Furama City Centre Hotel Singapore
Furama Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing