We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not central, shabby and dated, nice brekky”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Kam Leng Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kam Leng Hotel
Ranked #215 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not central, shabby and dated, nice brekky”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2016

Hotel is pretty much far away from the centre of SG but if your’e prepared to catch a bus or transit every day then it’s fine (and Singapore travel passes are cheap).
The hotel itself looks extremely poorly maintained and is the kind of place I would’ve stayed in as a student. The bedding wasn’t entirely clean and the staff not too worried about it. Talking of which, the lady on front of desk seemed to have a big chip on her shoulder and tried to refuse us breakfast HALF AN HOUR BEFORE breakfast was due to end. After getting to the point os asking for the manager and showing her our booking, she finally relented and let us have breakfast.
Breakfast itself was lovely as it was prepared on demand and the “bar section” you eat it in has a nice ambience.
Even if you include the lovely breakfast, bearing in mind you’re not in the centre of town and taking the overall shabby condition of the rooms and rude receptionist into account, I wouldn’t stay here more than 1 day if pushed.

Room Tip: Don't stay here more than 1 day
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zchal66 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    193
    132
    43
    36
See reviews for
44
200
61
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2016

If you like vintage chinese theme, I would like to recommend this one. A famous noodle stall located near the hotel, also the bus station. But the MRT station a little bit far away, maybe almost 1 kilometer.

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

It is a huge generous room. But lightings are all in yellow color. Find it difficult for me to read.
The indication to rooms is not very clear.. too small to visual. In general, for those who lookout for huge space and affordable rate.

Stayed October 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jms3 p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

We were staying there only for one night before to get to Malaysia the next day. The hotel room was tiny, we were struggling to move into the room. I would not recommend this hotel if you stay more than one night. Bed covers and pillow were clean and the bed was comfortable and the conditioning was working perfectly. Staff were cheerful and nice.

Stayed October 2015, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nassim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2016

I stayed at the Kam Leng hotel twice in 2012. It was in a good location, a small hotel with nice décor. Sadly the hotel has fallen into disrepair and I hope the management takes notice before it obtains more poor ratings. I booked six nights with my husband in Sept 2016, an Executive suite, very disappointed. The room are dirty and damp, the walls need painting, glass windows repaired and carpet is musty. Some of the front desk staff are helpful, others disinterested in guests. I was looking forward to the coffee shop that was being built in 2012, but it was not worth it. Poor service for breakfast, them becomes a bar during the night. As others mentioned, there is a lack of shelves and luggage space in the room and bathroom. The bathroom fan stays on all night. Currently there is major building in the area, so it is not a quiet place. During our visit the on-street room rates dropped from $149. per night to $69. per night. The hotel is also being used as a brothel. Would not recommend the Kam Leng hotel until some improvement, there are much better medium priced accommodation in the area.

Room Tip: back room, back street view with windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#122 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis
#173 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Arton Boutique Hotel
#147 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#124 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Little India
Mayo Inn
Mayo Inn
#180 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Hotel 81 - Elegance
#212 of 306 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kam Leng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kam Leng Hotel

Property: Kam Leng Hotel
Address: 383 Jalan Besar Kam Leng Hotel, Singapore 209001, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Price range (per night): $68 - $107
Hotel Class:3 star — Kam Leng Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kam Leng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kam Leng Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing