We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sticky bedsheets and horrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Kam Leng Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kam Leng Hotel
Ranked #215 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Sticky bedsheets and horrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed for one night on 31 Dec 2016. when we reached the room, we realised that the bedsheets and pillow cases were sticky so we called the reception and they sent a housekeeper to attend to our complaint. When she came, she was extremely rude and insisted that the sheets were fresh and said that we will need to wait for 20mins for her to change both the bedsheets and pillow cases. The changed sheets were so much better. We're not accusing her or the hotel of giving used sheets but her defensive attitude and customer service could have been better.

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank unmaksed14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    193
    132
    43
    36
See reviews for
44
200
61
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bang Tao Beach, Thailand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2016

Probably the best value in town but it wears thin after a few nights. First night we were at the front of the hotel and the stree noise and local construction was deafeining. The bed was tired and the air con was noisy. We moved to another room and all of those things were a bit better but still not much. Bearly a 3 star but it is in a really quaint part of town and transport from here is very easy. Lots of great local eateries around but a bit of a trip to get to any shopping or main attractions. That is were the convenient access to bus and train (or Uber) comes in handy. Don't stay too long and the unique and quaint feel starts to rub off and give way to a sore back and not enough sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2016

My room wasn't ready when I arrived at 10.30am to check-in at Kam Leng Hotel. The young man at Reception offered an upgrade at a certain price. I declined and went out and returned at 1pm to get the Cabin room I booked.

It was on the ground floor and first impressions were not positive. No wardrobe, but there was a very high shelf and rack to hang clothes. It was so high I couldn't reach the bath towels on top of it. Amenities were not in the best condition, with scuff marks, paint chipped off furniture and everything seemed a little run down. The room safe had a low battery warning message, and the mini fridge could have been cleaned a little better.

The bathroom seemed to be a disability access room with grab bars over the toilet. The tiles were showing signs of extensive mould and it wasn't a pleasant room at all. There were wall-mounted dispensers of shampoo and body wash but no soap for the bathroom basin.

The bed was extremely soft and comfortable and I slept well both nights. The room air-conditioning was very cool and I wasn't disturbed by any outside noise. I only paid Au$62.40 a night (Sgd$65.30) and was glad I hadn't paid any more than that for the room I got. I'm trying out quite a few smaller budget hotels in Singapore for my regular visits, but I won't be returning to Kam Leng.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avanti_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 days and 2 nights last nov5 to 7. Advantage was just in front of this hotel is a bus stop. And has a lot of food resto near the place. Bugis street is also near from the place. The hotel is really good and cheap although they have small rooms. But over all was awesome! I can recommend this to my other friends too :) the front desks are also helpful.

Stayed October 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jeve Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

location is about 8mins walk from lavender mrt and 6 mins walk from city square mall station and mustafa center...

Pros: 1. 7-11 infront
2. 24 hour restaurant (cheap) right across the street (sumptous restaurant)
3. bus station right infront of the hotel (bus 857) that takes you to the city center
4. no breakfast but at < 70 usd per night , no rooms for complaints
5. front desk staff are all helpful
6. bottled water is refilled everyday
7. big rooms with big toilet can accomodate 2 adults and 2 small kids (my personal account)...

cons:
1.room clean up: SO, SO..
the guy who is assigned on sundays to clean up DOESNT clean up the room and only changes the towel, even if u put the "please clean up room sign"... while the buss girl/ woman is more courteous and industrious..

this is my second time in kam leng and will come back again... i hope they will improve in the room clean up department though...

Stayed October 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#122 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis
#173 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Arton Boutique Hotel
#147 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#124 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Little India
Mayo Inn
Mayo Inn
#180 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Hotel 81 - Elegance
#212 of 306 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kam Leng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kam Leng Hotel

Property: Kam Leng Hotel
Address: 383 Jalan Besar Kam Leng Hotel, Singapore 209001, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Price range (per night): $68 - $107
Hotel Class:3 star — Kam Leng Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kam Leng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kam Leng Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing