We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting and staff. Food not so much”
Review of Taratata Brasserie

Taratata Brasserie
Ranked #527 of 14,047 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: European, French, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Area/City Area
Description: Embodying traditional French classic fare, Taratata Brasserie is located within Singapore's CBD in the historical Chinatown. At the helm is Chef and owner Bertrand Raguin from Loire with with well over 30 years of experience in traditional French classic fare, eagerly awaiting to take you on a culinary journey through bringing the best of regional French classics with wholesome, homemade sauces and centuries old recipes to the unrelenting dining crowd in Singapore. At the front of house is Restaurant Manager & Sommelier, Kevin Gueugnon from Dijon, Burgundy. Kevin's amiable disposition with his in-depth knowledge and experience shares his passion for his cultural food and wine heritage. 2-course lunch starts at S$38 per person and includes choice of Foie Gras, French Onion Soup, Escargot, Goat Cheese Salad, Angus Ribeye, Duck Confit, Salmon, Chocolate Lava and Crème Brulèe. A seasonal 4-Course Dinner at S$75 per person is also available daily, along with daily à la carte menu.
Reviewed 23 November 2018

Our evening started off very well and since this restaurant had decent reviews and awards I thought it would be a solid choice.
ENTREE - The onion soup and Rabbit terrine were lovely
MAIN- My two friends ordered the steak medium rare (obviously not a standard in France) However in international French restaurants they should know. Their steaks were closer to Bleu than even Saignant! and one friend couldn't even chew it. The friendly waiter took them back and promptly returned with them with the chef clearly just re-cooking the originals.
Given the price, a proper chef would not simply slap your steak back on the grill! double cooking a steak just makes it tougher. We were told 'Oh its because the Chef is cooking the French way'...
I had the Beef tartare which was ok, but more like 'fillet Americano' you get in Belgium where its almost a paste with everything mixed in... I miss the hand cut fillet, egg yolk on top and separate condiments, but this international version seems common now.
overall, great entree's and wine. Friendly and attentive service, but I've seen better quality food from restaurants half the price.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tomjG6121WP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2018

we were disappointed with the food. we read so much good reviews, hence we decided to make our way down to try the food. well, the food was quite ok, not exceptionally delicious specially for the amount paid - the french onion soup had so much cheese that we were eating more cheese than the onions. the shrimp dish was a huge disappointment! just a few shrimp around the bowl. the serving grace was the service. the staff were attentive and friendly. but definitely won't be back again.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amelia_Mei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Small restaurant with a great French Brasserie feel. Our group of 6 got a terrific little table in the corner. The menu is classic French, superbly delivered. We ordered the $75++ set menu (which seemed to cover a significant number of the dishes on the a'la carte menu). Between 6 of us we covered most of the choices: both soups were great; the rabbit and frog leg entrees were enjoyed, the prawn bouquet was good - but seriously old school; the lamb, duck, and beef mains were all enjoyed; as were the crème brulee and chocolate lava.The service was attentive, but not overpowering, nice touch for the chef to come out at the end of the night.The wine list is good, albeit limited - although it is a small restaurant. Like everywhere in Singapore it is pricey. Only a couple of $100(ish) options, and then jumped up into the $200+. We found White and Red in our price range - and all were good wines.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

Overall, a great place to eat. Food is excellent. Pointers to make it an excellent rating, is to have a full menu especially on a weekend. This is twice we went and they don't have various dishes on the menu. Another point to improve on is the serving portion of the Rabbit terrine. As this is quite a heavy dish, a smaller/thinner portion would make the dish more appetizing.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Thank 117teckt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

Came for dinner with my girlfriend to celebrate her birthday. We ordered the 4 course set dinner at $75++ per person. I had French Onion Soup which was significantly more flavourful than my friend's Crab Bisque. I also enjoyed my Foie Gras more than her Smoked Salmon with white asparagus. We ordered 1 serving of 3 kinds of cheese. The camembert was tasty, the Brillat Savarin tasting like yogurt was also nice but our favourite was the Roquefort. It was the best blue cheese I've ever tasted! Not pungent, it was full bodied, creamy and flavourful. I could eat it without the accompanying cracker, savouring it slowly in my mouth. All 3 are French soft cheeses. For mains, we had Tenderloin and Rack of Lamb. We were already pretty full after the cheese so had a hard time finishing the main courses. The beef was better than the lamb. We had Chocolate Lava for dessert. It was good but we would have appreciated it better if we weren't so full. The set was value for money. Wine pairing available at $65 per pax for every dish. It's really hard to find parking here and it's not accessible via train either. But I'll still go back again. The food's satisfying.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank joycehocf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taratata Brasserie also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Taratata Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing