We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Save
Singapore Group History & Culture Tour:River Cruise, Hawker Dinner & Tea Tasting
36

Book in advance
from
US$121.63
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Tea Chapter
from US$121.63
More Info
from US$218.06
More Info
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
189
24
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
189
24
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chinese tea tea appreciation tea set queen elizabeth ii wide selection of tea tea place great place to gather with friends tea pouring tea tasting nice ambience dim sum rich history different varieties must visit place cassia demonstration fund
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2015 via mobile

Definitely a Great Place though transparent is a little troublesome. Food and tea are awesome. Recommend for tourist. There's Air-con too. Will visit when I have time again!

Date of experience: October 2015
2  Thank WNBNDNMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 November 2015

This was all about ceremonial tea drinking and tea appreciation. First we took off our shoes and went up to the third floor. There were stools for some of us, but many had to sit on the floor, not something we are accustomed to or in physical condition for. The tables were set with all the equipment which was explained to us in detail. There were fragrance cups and tasting cups, procedures for cleansing, heating, brewing, pouring and drinking the tea. We had two varieties of tea and several cups of each. First use the fragrance cup to smell the tea and then pour it into the tasting cup. Then roll the fragrance cup between your hands and smell the empty cup. Drink the tea from the tasting cup in three sips. By the end I certainly appreciated the tea and enjoyed both varieties. In the weeks since I have been more aware of the qualities of the tea I drink. It was fun and informative, and would only have been better if we could have understood more of what the tea master was saying.

Date of experience: October 2015
1  Thank Jeanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 November 2015

We got a very good explanation on the various teas and a demonstration of how to properly brew the tea. Then, we were given the opportunity to brew the teas according to the way we had just learned. Best part was the explanation and history of tea.

You must remove your shoes before entering, but there are little cubbies for your shoes.

Date of experience: October 2015
1  Thank mdcwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 November 2015 via mobile

The queen went here and I can see why. It's well run and a great place to relax from it all. Just choose your tea and they will show you how to make the perfect cuppa. Would go again to chill out. Loved it. The even have different seats and tables for different styles like Japan, China and Korean.

Date of experience: September 2015
1  Thank Ace28065
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 October 2015

I was looking for a tea house to visit in Singapore and decided to visit Tea Chapter based on the good reviews. The tea house is located a short walk from the Chinatown MRT and was easy to find. It was such a relaxing and peaceful experience that we ended up visiting twice. The first time we decided upon the "Queen Room" which is noted for Queen Elizabeth II having taken tea there on her visit here, so we had the Imperial Golden Cassia tea, the same as the Queen. The female staff member showed us how the teapot and tea worked, and we then enjoyed a pleasant hour or two sipping tea. Tea Chapter charges a fee based on the table type you select, and the Queen Room is $10, you then pay for the tea on top of this, which is on average around $20-$25. The Queen Room offered privacy as there were screening sheets between the tables. The only downside was that there is construction work occurring directly outside (which is obviously outside of the venue's control) but it was not jarringly loud. The second time we went we decided on the Korean table, which was also a lovely experience, with the table and seating on the floor. It also offered an intimate experience, as while there were 3-4 tables in the room, there was panelling to separate the tables and so still give a relaxing and open feel. This time we had the Jasmine Pearls, which was lovely along with the pork buns, also lovely. We used the entire tea pot full of water this time. The service from the older gentleman with the big smile was also wonderful. This tea house is on the expensive side, but the experience, ambience and peaceful setting in a traditional style house was exceptional and gave me a new appreciation for fine tea. I recommend trying the Korean table, as this was my favourite overall There is also a retail shop on the ground floor with tea and tea sets available for purchase. I also got some tea to take home with me and will enjoy it again.

Date of experience: September 2015
3  Thank kezzzo193
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews